We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
foxboro, ma
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel is lovely, with a gorgeous pool, and a wonderful fitness center. We stayed for two nights for my son's wedding in CT, and the room was spacious, with two queen size beds, and everything was spotless.
The staff, to a person, was courteous, friendly and helpful, and I think all the guests were pleased with the accommodations. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it. We also hosted the rehearsal dinner at the hotel, and were assured that all would go smoothly. In the course of the evening, there were a few glitches that were not major, and the staff quickly jumped in to remedy the situation. Lisa C., in particular, is professional, helpful, and was willing to do whatever it took to make the evening a success. The glitches were that the dining room was somewhat short-staffed. However, overall, the evening was a great success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleygFoxboro_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    75
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
99
91
12
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friendly staff, great gym, pool and sauna opens at 5am. Nice grounds.Room was clean, large,comfortable and well decorated. Mattress, although not a dream bed, was very comfortable. Attractive clean carpeting, high scale entrance, gorgeous original marble foyers and staircases, cozy nooks for relaxing.Food from the very nice lounge was fine, but nothing great. Even though the location is a little removed it only took 7 easy minutes drive through a small town by car to get to Sturbridge Village where my conference was.. unbeatable at $110 a night. Happy the Conference Hotel I was suppose to stay at was overbooked as this was far superior at a lower price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent structure for meetings and conferences; the auditorium and conference rooms were very nice, with many services and facilities (computer facility with printers).
The restaurant was very nice, with good quality food; the rooms were large, very nice and extremely comfortable. The personnel was extremely kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I do not usually write reviews, but just had to for the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center. It is one of the best hotels hands down that we've ever stayed in for a family vacation, including small towns and large cities alike. Stayed here for 2 weekend nights while visiting Sturbridge Village, a pleasant 10 minute drive away. First of all, the history of this building is intriguing and the architecture inside and out is quite beautiful and warrants mentioning. Wonderfully preserved vintage and modern blended perfectly together. Marketed as a business conference center, which it is in every sense of the word, it is versatile enough to accommodate families perfectly with its large guest rooms, spacious and peaceful treed grounds, and especially superb athletic center and indoor swimming pool. This is more than just exercise and work out equipment--the racket ball courts and large gymnasium with balls, mats and basketball hoop, along with the very large and beautifully constructed pool with spacious deck (beach balls and noodles provided!) and hot tub will amuse bored teens as well energetic toddlers. Although we did not use it, there is availability of a steam room as well. All equipment and accessories are supplied free of charge. All of these facilities are impeccably clean and well maintained, as are the guest rooms, lobby, lounge and outside areas. Every time we went to our car there was someone cleaning windows! The most amazing feature of this place is the price--it was SIGNIFICANTLY less per night, less than any of the standard chain hotels in nearby Sturbridge, and offers so much more. They do offer a breakfast menu, but we chose to eat dinner in the lounge area (Shades) not once but twice, which offered a delicious light and varied menu, from appetizers to soup and salads to sandwich options (including with seafood), as well as the typical children's options, and even had 2 full sized billiard tables to use while waiting for your meal (my 12 year old loved that feature). There also was a full bar with wonderful drinks and wine. Eat and drink at tables, the bar, or lounge on sofas with coffee tables-your choice. It was extremely comfortable and relaxing open concept dining. Or you can choose to call to order and "take out" to your room. The rooms offered very comfortable and supportive mattresses (ours was 2 queen sized), high quality decor, large computer desk with all the connections, perfect free WiFi connection, flat screen tv, DVD player, fridge, and a super comfy huge easy chair with ottoman and extra side table. Roomy and spotless tiled and granite bathroom with all the necessities.
Needless to say, the place thought of everything, and I would not hesitate to stay again at this very friendly, well appointed and accommodating oasis in the midst of the quaint New England countryside when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in a corner room (303-quiet and private) with 1 very large corner window looking outside thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mother55NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Southbridge Hotel for 6 nights whilst attending the Brimfield Antique Fair and are so glad we decided to stay here instead of Sturbridge. The hotel was very good value and you could not fault the facilities. The room was large and very clean, coffee maker and fridge and a really comfy bed. We had drinks in the evening in the bar and the lady behind the bar was very friendly and asked how our day had been every evening. The pool was a nice treat after the antique fair and there was an outside patio area and lovely well maintained grounds to have a walk in the evening. There was a complimentary breakfast one day whilst we were there. Food in the lounge was good value but do try Jim's Flying Diner which is nearby the puddings are delicious.and huge!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castine, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Truly a fabulous surprise from the moment we drove in until the end of our stay. This is the only place I will stay in the future if within 40 miles! It would also be a perfect business retreat setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerak40563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatie, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and it was a very nice hotel! The room was large and spacious and had two queen beds. The staff were friendly and hospitable, and even let us tour the athletic center after it closed. The pool was fairly large and the health center included many pieces of equipment and recreational areas. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
588 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#13 of 14 in Sturbridge
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing