We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$32
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Hungarian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual to suit & tie, Have a beer or 5-courses. Austro-Hungarian, vegan and Local Steaks to fine dining, fireside tables every day of the year inside or out. Historic settting from 1840's with a 200 year copper beech tree. From appetizers to salads and Chateaubriand for two table-side. Viennese desserts, espresso and full bar. Front porch dining with extensive beer and wine list. Easy -off 1-84 and Mass Pike 1-90.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very pricey and limited menu to German foods. Prices are on the high side and portion size is on the small size. You need to order appetizers, main meal and desert not to leave there feeling. Hungry. Dishes are tasty and well presented. Ambiance is wonderful with fireside seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cher480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Southbridge, MA”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

You have to try this European restaurant to believe it. Found this gem which is in a 100+ years old house, beautifully maintained while visiting family in the Southbridge area last Sunday afternoon . There were five in our party, 4 adults and a 9 year old boy. They have a nice children's menu so he also was very happy! The restaurant and Inn is owned by a family with a long experience in good food and lodging. We were served by the owners' daughter in a beautiful Bavarian dress. She was charming, helpful and excellent in her job. The dining rooms are lovingly decorated in various old European styles. The best part, of course, is the delicious choices on the menu including gluten free dinners and desserts. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Das is gut”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We meet friends for lunch halfway between our homes. Usually we meet at the Publik House in Sturbridge but this time decided to meet at the Vienna Restaurant and Historic Inn. What a pleasant surprise. The food was delicious. My husband had the Boar Shank and I had the Weiner Schnitzel. Our friends had the Weiner Schnitzel and Jager Schnitzel. We had appetizers of potato pancakes, Hungarian Goulash soup and Caesar salad. Dessert was Sacher Torte and Mozart(pistachio) Torte. The service was slow but we weren't in a hurry. A lovely afternoon with good friends and good food. We will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Character and Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

As soon as you walk in, the dining area is very intimate and there is character from wall to wall. I had never had German/Austrian dishes before and I was excited to try something new. Everything was very tasty. I really wanted an apple dessert they had, but it was all gone (I guess that means it's tasty!). All the staff was very friendly and they all make you feel very welcomed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A very quaint place with lots of character. The food's not bad either. Make sure you have a lot of time because the service was a bit slow. I think it is only run by a husband & wife team or maybe the snow kept the rest of the help from coming to work. The menu has a large selection of German dishes plus they have a lot of specials. The house salad dressing was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheapasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn also viewed

 

Been to Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing