We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since 1999”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sodom Mountain Campground
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Since 1999”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We camped as a family and a couple and always enjoyed the site we chose. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. The pool is clean, playground, and mini zoo also. A quiet and fun place to camp. The bathroom and showers are clean and lite up at night. We feel like family when we plan to stay either two days, 6 weekends in a row or a month. The store at the campground is very helpful if you don't feel like leaving the campground.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bear125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As a young couple on a road trip from Canada for summer vacation, we tented at Sodom Mountain Campground for two nights as it was conveniently located near one of our stops along the way, Six Flags New England. We didn't really know what to expect but were delightfully surprised. Upon booking we discovered that the campground offers a reduced price on tickets to Six Flags to individuals staying at the campground which saved us a lot of money and was a very nice and unexpected bonus! The lady that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. She provided us with written directions to Six Flags and also to Hartford, CT which we were heading to after our stay without us even asking. The campground itself was quite large and we really liked the site that we had, site 80. We noticed that many sites were just off the road, however ours was set a little further back from the road with a short walking path leading into the site which allowed for a little more privacy. The bathroom facilities were small and slightly outdated but well kept nonetheless and satisfied all one really needs when camping. The pool was small but nice and very well maintained. The only slight downfall that we encountered was that the wifi was only accessible very near to the office which was a bit inconvenient for us as we were planning our trip as we went so we had to sit in our car in front of the office in order to connect to the internet - not a huge deal though. We had a great stay here and would definitely recommend to others and return if we are ever in the area again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Owner and office staff very friendly and helpful even with the problems with our new camper lol our sight this weekend was 67 A great little campground would stay again for sure and there Sunday breakfast is affordable and delicious

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fried1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not easy to get to. Narrow city streets, low hanging trees, and we followed their directions! Rough dirt and gravel roads, and very narrow. Grass pull thru, not very level, no pad, Bugs galore. Never told ahead of time that there is an additional fee if you use your air conditioning. That was a surprise at check in. Next surprise, NO 50 amp service in the pull thru, only in back ins, and another additional charge for that! Wifi very weak. Just a weird backwoods kind of place. Seedy looking. Would not recommend or return. Take it or leave it attitude just under the surface of this places attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southwick hotels

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to stop at Sodom Mountain for the July 4 weekend with our 36ft RV. As it is outfitted with some equipment and we planned to have visitors as part of an educational tour, we needed a sufficient sized site. They gave site at the end of a field with plenty of room, next to the hiking trail, and it was reasonably priced for a holiday weekend with full hookups. The owner, Michelle, was accommodating and waived the fees for our visitors- considering it was a holiday weekend, we were very appreciative.

Facilities clean, grounds are well kept - very good for families. There was a parade of campers going around the site with decorated golf carts.. overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Would recommend and visit again if in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Should of read the reviews about this crazy lady that owns the place. She's horrible and rude. Kids tried to go to the pool. Then needed an adult, so I went with them, then the kids tried to play with the ball and the crazy lady yelled and said they needed to play with the ball only inside the pool and not in the outside, so the kids tried to get in the pool and play and she said no nevermind the pool is closed. She was very rude about it and she could say the rules in a much nice tone. Do not recommend this campground

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubblegumgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Owner at Sodom Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive for a friendly, SAFE campground experience. I am sorry you did not understand the rules you were given and signed for upon check-in. I'm sure as you travel you will find many campgrounds have rules for adequate reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We were visiting for third time, it is clean not to loud and very convenient, near to a lake and river for kayaking and trails for hiking.
We also love that it is so near to Gran Val scoop to get the best ice cream.
In our last day the owners were giving away Murphy's Doughnuts, what a great surprise.
We are coming back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciltali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, Owner at Sodom Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for spending the Memorial Day Weekend with us! The Mrs. Murphy's Donuts are a Southwick "classic". I'm glad you enjoyed them. Looking forward to seeing you again. Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwick
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
10.7 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
307 reviews
14.2 mi away
White Pines Campsites
White Pines Campsites
#2 of 2 in Barkhamsted
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elm Motel
Elm Motel
#4 of 4 in Westfield
28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sodom Mountain Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sodom Mountain Campground

Property: Sodom Mountain Campground
Address: 233 S Loomis St, Southwick, MA 01077-9715
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southwick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southwick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing