We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solitude and Peace”

Saint Joseph's Abbey
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solitude and Peace”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A beautiful view on any day, but expecially in fall and winter, the Abbey offers quiet walks, a visitor's chapel where several services are held during the day, and a gift shop that offers everything one needs to maintain their spirituality. They also offer foodstuffs such as their world famous jams and jellies, fudge, and other treats from other Trappist Monasteries. I enjoy driving up the hill and surveying the beauty which is spread before me. Fantastic for the spirt.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank losttherace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

There wasn't much to see at the top near the Abby Church. One can only view the interior from the visitor's pews on the side of the alter. The estate was very peaceful as it was far away from the highway. We purchased jam at the gift shop down at the entrance on the highway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and serenity”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

St. Joseph's Abbey is a wonderful place for a respite from a busy life. I love to come here and listen to the monks' chant, spend time in quiet prayer in the chapel, enjoy the beautiful views, and visit the gift shop where I never fail to find a book - or seven - to inspire my spiritual studies. The jams and jellies made by the monks are excellent gifts or for personal use. I hope someday to join one of the retreats held at the Abbey, but in the meantime will keep visiting every chance I have.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Love4Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinebaug, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I will be back”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Relaxing, restful, spiritual place with gorgeous views. It is a beautiful place for a retreat by yourself or with others.

Helpful?
9 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredibly Beautiful St. Joseph's Abbey”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

St. Joseph's Abbey is a campus of incredibly beautiful buildings and church with meticulously manicured grounds. I was disappointed that the only viewing of the church was through a blocked off visitor room at the front of the church. All other buildings were locked and unaccessible. I must remember that this is the home and vocation of dedicated men to the church and respect their privacy. The restrictions will make for a quick 10-15 minute stroll around the property, which is still worth the visit. The property would make for an incredible wedding location (however, I have no idea if this is allowed or could be arranged).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Joseph's Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Saint Joseph's Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing