We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of The Red Maple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Maple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We needed a nice place on the way across Mass. Great gem within reasonable distance of Worcester. This place is a lovely old inn with all the details of old architecture and the new comforts people expect. Breakfast was a lovely, cooked-to-order meal with fantastic coffee and baked goods. The host provided us with great dvd choices and took the trouble to obtain directions for us to get to our next destination. Good restaurants nearby for dinner. We lucked out in finding a choral concert at the church next door.

Room Tip: For family or friends traveling together, there is a suite with two rooms and a bath all set off its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suedarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    12
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast in Spencer, MA. We stayed for one night in May, 2012. The Rose Room was very comfortable, and John our host made us feel right at home. And that breakfast! We'll be looking for more opportunities to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: The Rose Room was very nice. Although we didn't see the other rooms, I'm sure they were jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

"This weekend was a dream for us. A perfect mid-winter getaway. The house was all that the website promised, so lovely and refined. We enjoyed every detail in every way! As for the service and attention, it was excellent service in every way, so professional, personal and accommodating. Thank you so much. P.S. the High Tea was the best!" March 11, 2012

Room Tip: Each room is so unique - but I we fell in love with decor of the street side room - it was very femi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kks1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We often celebrate our anniversary in Florida. This year though we decided to stay close to home we did want to do something special. "Dinner and a movie" at Red Maple Inn sounded interresting. John's history lesson he introduced the evening's movie with was as interresting as watching the old time flick, "The Maltese Falcon". However, the 'gourmmet' dinner was disappointing to say the least. Pasta might have come from Hannifords grocery store, cooked in my own kitchen. Sorry, but that $10.00 a glass wine tasted suspiciously like Riunite Lambrusco. The Peach room was decked out in pretty ruffles and a bed requiring a step ladder in access was not a bed for two adults to sleep comfortably. The ear plugs provided were testiment to constant noise we were subjected to all night. We certainly did not touch those ear plugs. (how many ears have they seen the inside of?)

Room Tip: Do not expect much and you will not be disappointred. Unless you enjoy paying exorbitant prices for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_Gwen_521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We always look for ways to improve the service and accommodations we offer our guests, and we welcome thoughtful reviews, especially when they offer constructive criticism. We wish that this guest had written his/her review when memories of their visit would have been fresher, rather than waiting an entire year to write. Perhaps the review would then not have contained so many inaccurate statements. For instance, the guest might have remembered the cost of our house wine was a reasonable $8.00 a glass, not $10.00, and that we opened and poured from a fresh bottle of California Cabernet Sauvignon, not Riunite Lambrusco, and served in Riedel Crystal glassware. The only sweet wines we have ever served are dessert wines such as Harvey's Bristol Cream, 20-year aged ports, and French Sauterne. The guest is perhaps more familiar Riunite than we are, as former editors of the Wine Gazette.

I do not doubt that the guest is capable of cooking Hanniford pasta at home. We serve only imported Italian pasta, our chef is an honors graduate of culinary school, apprenticed with James Beard, and earned 3-stars from the NY Times for her Hamptons restaurant. We're sorry the guest did not appreciate her food, which by the way is never advertised as "gourmmet" (sic).

The Peach Room is one of our most beautiful and romantic, and most guests especially love its centerpied, the antique canopied four-poster bed. Yes it is higher than most contemporary beds, but that is part of the atmosphere which most guests are seeking, even though some need to use the 6-inch footstool (not a step-ladder as the guest again mis-remembers).

We always tell guests that this room faces the street and if they are light sleepers they should consider booking another room. The guest declined, saying that they particularly wanted the ambiance the Peach Room offers. As is the case in many fine hotels and Inns, we provide earplugs for the comfort of our guests, which are replaced after every use, as well as an electronic noise-canceling device, both of which the guest declined to use. The phrase "You can lead a horse to water..." comes to mind.

As to the review's final shot about exorbitant prices, our room prices are comparable to any upscale accommodations and include a three-course breakfast menu with at least six entrees to choose from which would cost at least $30 plus tip in any restaurant. The "Dinner and a Movie" special included a three-course dinner, an introductory talk about the film by a member of the American Film Institute, and a classic film shown in our private screening room. Following the film there is time for audience comments, questions and discussion. The evening was priced at $30 per person. When Worcester Magazine featured the event they called it "recession-friendly," "an outstanding deal," and "an affordable twist on date night." No mention of "exorbitant prices."

The Bed and Breakfast experience is not for everyone. For some, the charms of an historic home, tastefully decorated with antiques and period furnishings and serving expertly prepared food, cannot compare to a beachfront motel and all-you-can-eat buffets. In matters of taste, there can be no argument.

John Bills, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millis, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A great B&B and true to the name. We stayed in the Rose Room and the attention to detail was incredible. The decorating was quaint and lovely. The room was small but very comfortable, the bed was amazing, with countless pillows! The Inn keepers were patient with our lateness to breakfast, very personable and the food was all homemade and wonderful, made more complete with a lively conversation about the Inn Keepers travels and professional chef experience. The gentleman of the husband/wife team thoroughly researched a route for us to our next destination even though they were on their way out to run errands. The only complaint was the noise from the street. Even though the Rose room is towards the back of the house, I was glad we could keep the window closed from the road noise. Even still, the road traffic was non-stop 24 hrs, although we mostly noticed it at night. I hope that a sound-proof fence could be built. Perhaps the cottage has less noise as it is set back further from the road. In all other aspects a great stay.

Room Tip: Try the cottage as the noise level may be the lowest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I was in Worcester for three nights on business and chose to stay here rather than a hotel/motel. Hotel/motels in the area didn't have great reviews and seemed to be almost the same price.
The Peach room had a very comfortable bed, good-sized bedroom, and enough tables and chairs for me to lay out all my things... The innkeeper was very accommodating and pleasant about my late arrival on the first night and having a flexible breakfast time.
If you are a normal person who has normal expectations of a B&B, you won't go wrong staying here. Specific to the Peach room, if you are a large person, you might find the bathroom too small. And if you have a problem with your bedroom overlooking Main Street, get earplugs, Ambien, or another room. The road noise wasn't bad for this city girl, but others may find it distracting. Lastly, don't rely on the inn's free wireless network. I worked off my 3G device the whole weekend. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Specific to the Peach room, if you are a large person, you might find the bathroom too small. And if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebeee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Maple Inn for a long weekend and to attend a nearby wedding. We were greeted upon arriving and asked to pay the balance of our stay (a little odd, but.....ok). The room was beautiful and John & Shari brought wine out to the backyard and recommended restaurants. Shari is very personable, but I did get a little overwhelmed with the story after story of all the people they know and her wealthy upbringing, etc.
Breakfast was served late for us early risers, and neither of the innkeepers could recommend some area artisans or cute shops to visit in the area - some we found ourselves and, well, for good reason they had trouble making suggestions because there's very little to see or do in the area unless you're visiting for the large semi-annual antiques sale.

Room Tip: If available, take the suite with its own entrance - quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
10.8 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
10.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
413 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
580 reviews
19.0 mi away
Westborough Inn
Westborough Inn
#3 of 9 in Westborough
200 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Worcester Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Maple Inn

Property: The Red Maple Inn
Address: 217 Main St, Spencer, MA 01562-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Spencer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2007 Yankee Magazine "Editors' Choice", 2006 Boston Globe "Each time you enter a room you're dazzled anew by the charmingly over-the-top decor." The Red Maple Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built circa 1780, features six deluxe guest accommodations, decorator touches, luxurious bedding, private bathrooms, air-conditioning, color cable television with DVD players, 1000+ title DVD Library and complimentary Wi-Fi. Gourmet breakfast, Wine Cellar and Fine Dining. Cooking classes and Classic Film classes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing