We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of The Red Maple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Maple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had heard great things about the Red Maple Inn, so decided to stop there for a night on our way to Boston. Wished we could have stayed longer once we got there! The Cottage was cozy, comfortable, and lovely, and the main house beautifully appointed. Breakfast could not have been better in any way. Had a delightful chat with innkeeper John, a gracious and kind host, who rounded out a very pleasant experience. Do plan ahead! The Inn was fully occupied; no longer a secret getaway!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Manager at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you, Judy, you are too kind. Do come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for The Red Maple Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights and felt very catered to. Malida went above and beyond, her breakfast was
Fantastic. We stayed in the Rose Room and the bed was very comfortable.We would definitely
Return. March 2013. Donna and Tony

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you Donna and Tony. Melida has been with us since we bought the Inn ten years ago and she is a gem! So glad you had a wonderful stay, come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I just want to tell everyone how wonderful the The Red Maple Inn is and Malida is just awesome. We recently stayed for one night this past February, 2013 and she went above and beyond for us and her breakfast is just awesome. I strongely suggest if you are looking for a nice little getaway this is the place to go. Malida makes you feel like family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you! And thank you for singling out our Innkeeper, Melida, for special praise. When John and I are away we always know the Inn, and our guests, are in good hands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

most friendly innkeeper merlina is the best host and cook.Treated me like royalty! Beds are soft and comfortable beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served on high quality china and was outstanding.
It was a great quiet place for the solitude I was seeking.

Room Tip: rose room quiet side room
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

So glad you found the quiet getaway you were looking for, and that our Innkeeper took such good care of you. Come back again, anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Escape from NYC led us to the Red Maple Inn for the weekend. The hosts are accommodating - we got in pretty late and they left us our key with thorough instructions by the check in bar. Place is fine overall - nothing to rave about, but nothing terrible either. it's pretty average, I'd say. I'd give it three stars, except, I do agree - the breakfast was delicious. We didn't have dinner here, do we can't speak for that. Now for some pros and cons:

The breakfast is grand and delicious. The host are very welcoming and nice. We enjoyed their company.

As we stayed in the duck room, there were lots of duck decor. It is pretty.

The walls are paper thin. The weekend that I was there, there was a family vacation in process and at least three rooms were occupied the group. They were pretty loud and we heard everything. We slept in the Duck Room which is towards the street and we also heard all major trucks/trailors. They do have the individually wrapped ear plugs, but we didn't use them.

As advertised, they do have a 1000+ DVD collection, but most movies are from the 90's and before. As a 80's baby, I didn't recognize too much of them. The television in the room is also super small - smaller than most computer monitors. It has to be below 20" - it's the TV's that most mom's had in the kitchen, again, in the 90's. We had few laughs over the boasted DVD collection and the itty bitty TV that seemed just miniscule from our vantage point on the bed.

The room doesn't have slippers as i forgot to take slippers and ended up walking around in socks. That would've been appreciated. They do have bath robes though.

The area is perfect for an escape to do absolutely nothing. There are few good restaurants that we took advantage of, but there isn't much to do in the area. We asked the coffee shop lady and she pretty much said there is a town with a big mall with a yankee candle. The cool site was the abbey nearby with delicious jam. There is also a pretty big walmart about 15 minutes of it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the duck room and we heard the street pretty clearly. Maybe avoid that?
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jihea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent a night while visiting our son at a near-by college. We were impressed by the sheer number of furnishings and artifacts that decorated every space in the inn. But don't let the decorations put you off. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirius2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I don't know how anyone could give this upscale resteraunt and upscale inn a bad review. Just ask and it is there. For example we tapped timidly late on the door for plates for pizza and were given Fine China! Hands Down THE BEST PLACE I EVER STAYED!

Far superior than the best of the best. Just ask and you get a second helping of a salad worth more than $20 itself. Food was so inexpensive for the quality On a scale of 0-5 an outstanding 9.

-Mike

Room Tip: Any room you can get is great. I personally prefer the second floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank md9068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
10.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
432 reviews
10.8 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 5 in Auburn
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
19.0 mi away
Westborough Inn
Westborough Inn
#3 of 9 in Westborough
204 reviews
12.1 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Maple Inn

Address: 217 Main St, Spencer, MA 01562-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Spencer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range: £88 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2007 Yankee Magazine "Editors' Choice", 2006 Boston Globe "Each time you enter a room you're dazzled anew by the charmingly over-the-top decor." The Red Maple Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built circa 1780, features six deluxe guest accommodations, decorator touches, luxurious bedding, private bathrooms, air-conditioning, color cable television with DVD players, 1000+ title DVD Library and complimentary Wi-Fi. Gourmet breakfast, Wine Cellar and Fine Dining. Cooking classes and Classic Film classes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing