We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Get-A-Way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Maple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Maple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“50th Get-A-Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Red Maple Inn is a well-appointed old building set in the middle of historic Spencer, MA. Very professionally managed by attentive owners. Our room (Peach) for a two night get-a-way celebration of the 50th anniversary of our first date, faced the street which is the rather busy MA Rt 9. Best to keep the windows closed and run the AC to minimize traffic noise. The room was attractively arranged and had a very comfortable bed. The tidy private bath was a bit cramped but entirely adequate. This was my first acquaintance with a night-before breakfast selection menu, hung on outside of room door. Breakfast selections were tasty and attractive if not sumptuous. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If one is sensitive to street traffic noise ask for a room facing the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
We thank the guests for their recommendation and we were pleased they chose The Red Maple Inn to celebrate their anniversary. We also welcome the opportunity to discuss our practice of "night-before breakfast selection."

Unlike most BandBs in our experience, we do not offer the single "entrée of the day." In our travels we find this "take it or leave it" breakfast to be less than ideal.To be offered an inn's "famous" French toast when you are following a low-carb diet is not very comforting, no matter how justly "famous" it is. We decided long-ago to offer a breakfast menu with several choices so that every guest could find somethng they like. However, in practical terms, the only way a small inn can offer a large menu is to ask guests to pre-order their breakfast.

By asking our guests to pre-order we are able to offer a wide menu of carefully prepared made-to-order selections.

Our breakfast begins with a choice of juices, coffees and teas, fresh-baked muffins, as well as a daily fresh fruit course.

This is followed by a choice of entrées which includes:

Virginia Ham & Vermont Chedder Scramble
Omelet of the Day (Spinach & Feta, Mushrooms & Gruyere, Smoked Salmon & Cream Cheese, etc.)
French Toast of the Day (Blueberry, Banana-Walnut, Pumpkin, etc.)
Oatmeal with Fruit
Inn-Made Granola

In addition, we offer a choice of accompaniments which include fresh-baked Croissants, local Sausage and Roasted Potatoes Provençal.

Of course everyone's idea of a "sumptuous" breakfast varies, but we are extremely proud of the variety, quality and quantity of food we offer our guests, and we are confident that it far exceeds the industry standard. Does it take more time and effort to offer a full menu of breakfast choices? Yes, of course it does. We think our guests deserve it.

Again, thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Had heard great things about the Red Maple Inn, so decided to stop there for a night on our way to Boston. Wished we could have stayed longer once we got there! The Cottage was cozy, comfortable, and lovely, and the main house beautifully appointed. Breakfast could not have been better in any way. Had a delightful chat with innkeeper John, a gracious and kind host, who rounded out a very pleasant experience. Do plan ahead! The Inn was fully occupied; no longer a secret getaway!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Manager at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you, Judy, you are too kind. Do come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights and felt very catered to. Malida went above and beyond, her breakfast was
Fantastic. We stayed in the Rose Room and the bed was very comfortable.We would definitely
Return. March 2013. Donna and Tony

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you Donna and Tony. Melida has been with us since we bought the Inn ten years ago and she is a gem! So glad you had a wonderful stay, come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I just want to tell everyone how wonderful the The Red Maple Inn is and Malida is just awesome. We recently stayed for one night this past February, 2013 and she went above and beyond for us and her breakfast is just awesome. I strongely suggest if you are looking for a nice little getaway this is the place to go. Malida makes you feel like family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kas715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you! And thank you for singling out our Innkeeper, Melida, for special praise. When John and I are away we always know the Inn, and our guests, are in good hands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

most friendly innkeeper merlina is the best host and cook.Treated me like royalty! Beds are soft and comfortable beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served on high quality china and was outstanding.
It was a great quiet place for the solitude I was seeking.

Room Tip: rose room quiet side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redtree, Owner at The Red Maple Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
So glad you found the quiet getaway you were looking for, and that our Innkeeper took such good care of you. Come back again, anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Escape from NYC led us to the Red Maple Inn for the weekend. The hosts are accommodating - we got in pretty late and they left us our key with thorough instructions by the check in bar. Place is fine overall - nothing to rave about, but nothing terrible either. it's pretty average, I'd say. I'd give it three stars, except, I do agree - the breakfast was delicious. We didn't have dinner here, do we can't speak for that. Now for some pros and cons:

The breakfast is grand and delicious. The host are very welcoming and nice. We enjoyed their company.

As we stayed in the duck room, there were lots of duck decor. It is pretty.

The walls are paper thin. The weekend that I was there, there was a family vacation in process and at least three rooms were occupied the group. They were pretty loud and we heard everything. We slept in the Duck Room which is towards the street and we also heard all major trucks/trailors. They do have the individually wrapped ear plugs, but we didn't use them.

As advertised, they do have a 1000+ DVD collection, but most movies are from the 90's and before. As a 80's baby, I didn't recognize too much of them. The television in the room is also super small - smaller than most computer monitors. It has to be below 20" - it's the TV's that most mom's had in the kitchen, again, in the 90's. We had few laughs over the boasted DVD collection and the itty bitty TV that seemed just miniscule from our vantage point on the bed.

The room doesn't have slippers as i forgot to take slippers and ended up walking around in socks. That would've been appreciated. They do have bath robes though.

The area is perfect for an escape to do absolutely nothing. There are few good restaurants that we took advantage of, but there isn't much to do in the area. We asked the coffee shop lady and she pretty much said there is a town with a big mall with a yankee candle. The cool site was the abbey nearby with delicious jam. There is also a pretty big walmart about 15 minutes of it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the duck room and we heard the street pretty clearly. Maybe avoid that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jihea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent a night while visiting our son at a near-by college. We were impressed by the sheer number of furnishings and artifacts that decorated every space in the inn. But don't let the decorations put you off. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirius2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Auburn
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
7.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Worcester Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#2 of 5 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Maple Inn

Property: The Red Maple Inn
Address: 217 Main St, Spencer, MA 01562-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Spencer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2007 Yankee Magazine "Editors' Choice", 2006 Boston Globe "Each time you enter a room you're dazzled anew by the charmingly over-the-top decor." The Red Maple Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built circa 1780, features six deluxe guest accommodations, decorator touches, luxurious bedding, private bathrooms, air-conditioning, color cable television with DVD players, 1000+ title DVD Library and complimentary Wi-Fi. Gourmet breakfast, Wine Cellar and Fine Dining. Cooking classes and Classic Film classes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing