We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Me gusta mucho!”
Review of Mexicali Grill

Mexicali Grill
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Spencer
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Me gusta mucho!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Mexicali is one of our favorites in Spencer. It's our "go to" for a consistently good meal with great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erinmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taco Bell taste”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Its truly Taco Bell taste with Mezcal prices! The portion sizes are not good, Quesadillas for $9.99 and all you get is 6 small triangles and nothing more. 3 soft tacos for $12.99 and rice and beans on the side. You could get full at Taco Bell cheaper to be honest. The deco is cheap and tacky, I guess what you would expect for a low end authentic Mexican restaurant. The Margaritas are good but overpriced and the glass is chuck full of ice. Honestly, I live about 30 seconds away from this place and would drive anywhere else to get Mexican. If they improve their prices and/or portion sizes they would be good, but otherwise don't bother! Overpriced, just okay tasting food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food was great, service could have been better”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The food was excellent especially the fresh guacamole made at the table. The server seemed distracted or overwhelmed and wasn't able to remember our request for water or other things. It's a local's hangout and a hidden gem. I would highly recommend going for the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctgama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I went to the Mexicali Grill . Parking is behind the restaurant . Service was excellent
and the food was brought quickly. My wife had a Mexico City Taco and I had a Mexicali
Enchilada . Both where good but the high light was the Fried ice cream which was
outstanding. Nice touch was salsa and chips to start..
On the whole a good experience .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidkMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
264 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Mexicali Grill in Spencer, Mass. They are now a local chain with two other restaurants in the local area. They have an extensive menu of Mexican fare including seafood items. I've had chimichangas and burritos - both excellent. The corn chips come out freshly cooked and hot with a tasty salsa. They make guacamole dip fresh at your table. Portions are just right. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. Decor southwestern and pleasant. We make it a point to eat Mexican here at least twice in a season when we visit this area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexicali Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing