We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find in a Small Town”

Five Loaves Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find in a Small Town”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Five loaves is a wonderful dining experience.While both the resturant and menu are small there is something for everyone.
The menu does change each week so be sure to check it on line and make a reservation in advance.
On our last visit I had shrimp quenelles that were perfect.Ths salmon and steak also got raves.
The service is professional and friendly. You can also BYOB-what more could you ask?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Artisan Breads”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Every time I'm in the area of Spencer, i love stopping by and picking up such nice, fresh home-made breads. It's difficult making the ride home without tearing the crunchy breads apart. The desserts are outstanding too. It's just something different that you can bring to someone's house for dinner at the last minute, knowing it was made with love.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern VA, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrific small restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here several times with friends when I'm in the area. This place is consistently one of my favorites. The staff is excellent, food is always fresh and will prepared, the menu is always interesting and ordinal. And of course the bread is fantastic! Bring your own bottle along is you like. Menu items change frequently and always include fresh local products. Don't misses the desserts! Located on a side street, the bakery is on one side of the building and the restaurant is on the other side. Treat yourself to a dinner here soon, you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
209 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice servers, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved our server, very attentive. My husband had the Ragu and I had the Chicken Millanaise. My dish was accompanied by 5-6 roasted potato pieces and a good sized piece of breaded chicken, smelling of hot olive oil. The creme brulee desert was wonderful. I believe they must save some of the bakery produce for dinner guests, as the bakery display was almost empty when we arrived for dinner, yet there was a good offering for the dinner guests. Would definitely come again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great local restaurant, quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

local community setting.. very quiet... BYOB... food is outstanding.. been there dozens of times and will keep going back !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Loaves Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Five Loaves Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing