We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Restaurant in a Special Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Once Upon a Table

Once Upon a Table
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Special Restaurant in a Special Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Recently took a trip to the Berkshires in western Massachusetts to see a Tanglewood performance. Made reservations for 6:30 p.m. on a Friday evening when there were performances around. Appreciated the thoughtfulness of the waitress in asking us if we were going to an event that evening. Once Upon a Table is small and down one of the many alleys in town, but right in the center of town. The tables are quite close together; in fact, close enough to hear others conversation. The highlight of it all is the quality of the food and way it is cooked. We started with escargot pie and shared this wonderful appetizer. The crust - perfect; the escargot - plentiful; and the sauce - pleading for more. We both chose fish dishes: I had the swordfish- done to perfection with a lovely sauce and my husband had the haddock which he also really enjoyed. No room for dessert, but would highly recommend this charming restaurant with a great menu. We experienced wonderful service with a waitress who often checked on how we were doing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    150
    50
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice selections, enjoyable atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Four of us had lunch there. We each picked something different, 2 from the specials list and 2 from the standard menus. None of us were disappointed in the quality and quantity of the food (it was not huge portions for a change).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyPH417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lunch when visiting Stockbridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Conveniently located in the heart of Stockbridge, this small restaurant offers a varied menu. You may have to wait for a table, so try to get there either before or after the mid-day crush.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food/terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Food is AMAZING, service was horrible. I walked in to a chaotic mess. The staff were snapping at each other and no one helped me even after I got my food. I could have walked out without even paying! The waiter that took my credit card was frustrated and you could easily tell that he was not happy with the staff. As a first time experience, I don't think I would ever go back. The service at McDonalds is better than this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Once Upon a Table, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you had experienced what you refer to as "terrible service", i would like to point out that my restaurant, like all small businesses, is staffed with human beings - who have bad days and yes, make mistakes. We take tremendous pride in our service - always have, always will; and a quick perusal of the hundreds of reviews that we've had will show that this is one of two or perhaps three reviews that denigrate our service- and that 's out of literally hundreds of reviews. i'm going to assume that this was your first visit to our restaurant - i'm quite confident that all of our regular and repeat customers know this to be an aberration - i'm sorry you caught us on a chaotic day as you characterized it, i can promise you that we will continue to strive to offer service that matches the high caliber of our food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a tasty, last-minute lunch out on the patio-alley. One of the few places in Stockbridge where you can do that.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Once Upon a Table also viewed

 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Lee, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Once Upon a Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing