We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Stockbridge-enjoyed this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stockbridge Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Trip to Stockbridge-enjoyed this B&B”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great trip with my parents and husband. The location is perfect for the Norman Rockwell museum. The rooms were large, well decorated and clean. The owners are delightful and very helpful.

Room Tip: The bed in the parlour suite is very high, but the use of steps helped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roses-Cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. The two things we appreciated most were the cleanliness and the quaintness. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom called the Parlour Room. It had everything we could want or need (be warned that there was no TV for those who want one). The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern & well-stocked. The whole house is gorgeous, we could have spent hours looking into all the little nooks & crannies and looking at the books that were everywhere. Breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruits, delicious pastries, omelets made just right. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The hostess, Diane, is a real pip - we loved discussing history, architecture, and local sights with her.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieElamWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townshend, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have put off writing a review because I cannot put my finger on exactly why I was disappointed. We chose this B&B because tripadvisor had it listed as one of their top 10. We stayed just one night in June; a quick get away for our anniversary. The weather was bad; very rainy and windy so we were not able to enjoy the grounds. The building is old with narrow staircases and hallways. Our room was okay but the kingsize bed was actually two beds pushed together and not the most comfortable for us and there was a narrow space at the foot of the beds. Felt a little tight. The bathroom was tiny but we knew this ahead of time. It had everything necessary and some nice extras. The TV was very small and in a strange place; not easy to see from the bed. The sitting area was comfortable however.
When we arrived the owner was very friendly and chatted with us for quite awhile. The next morning she completely ignored us. I think this is what bothered me the most. I realize she was in the kitchen cooking but to totally ignore your guests is not good for business. Breakfast was good and our server pleasant but a word or two from the owner would have been appreciated. I doubt if we'll ever go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
276 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Stockbridge Country Inn not only provided us with a lovely setting, but the knowledgeable Inn Keepers were generous with information, helpful suggestions about sites and local spots to visit as well as restaurant recommendations. We recently had an opportunity to spend time at the Inn. We loved our room which was filled with beautiful antiques, a four poster bed that had wonderful linens, and a bathroom that was stocked with everything a person could possibly need from toothpaste and brushes to make-up remover and high quality hair products.

In the mornings we enjoyed breakfasts, served in a charming four seasons room. Breakfasts started with an assortment of home made breads, muffins, croissants, and scones, and progressed to choices of fruits, then on to egg dishes, pancakes etc. Everything was served on china that seemed to have been perfectly preserved from another century.

Our stay included free passes to the Norman Rockwell museum which is a short distance from the Inn and a long talk with the owner about the history of the area. It is hard to say which was more enjoyable. We will definitely return and bring friends. The place is delightful.

Room Tip: We made a call to the Inn and gave a description of what we wanted out of our stay. They helped us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Stockbridge Country Inn for a long weekend. The Inn is well located, with easy access to main roads to Stockbridge, Lenox and Great Barrington. The house was pleasant, the rooms were nice enough (though without the little extras like upscale soaps and such), and the pool and property were quite nice. Where this B&B fell short were it's breakfasts and, to be perfectly honest, the somewhat brusque nature of the owner.

Breakfasts were unimaginative, a little stingy, and repetitive. And the waitstaff seemed stressed, rushing from one table to another and frequently forgetting things. And while I like a certain amount of conversation with the owner of B&B's, in this case she spent a lot of time at our table, speaking very loudly, and giving opinions on things that we didn't ask for nor agreed with. To be fair, she was helpful when we asked for recommendations about restaurants and to borrow an umbrella. But the breakfast atmosphere was just a little hectic rather than the relaxing start of the day one hopes for at a top B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klondike-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The Innkeepers made us very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. We had helpful advice about the amenities in nearby Stockbridge.elpful at providing

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Stockbridge Country Inn offers a very relaxing B & B experience for travelers looking for somewhere comfortable and comforting to put their feet up after touring the Berkshire sights. The Inn is chock full of antiques and memorabilia that add to its historic charm. Our room, aptly named the Ruffles Room for its white ruffled curtains, was spacious with a queen-sized four poster bed (short folks will need a little boost to get in). The bathroom was well-stocked with an ample supply of fluffy towels and every type of amenity for the most forgetful guest, such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, and mouthwash. The breakfast room that overlooks the garden and swimming pool (!) offers a great start to the day with fresh pastries and multi-course breakfast offerings with at least one daily special. The service staff couldn't be more friendly, attentive, or hard working. Diane and Vernon Reuss, who have owned the Inn for 27 years, are kind and affable hosts who know the area well. The town of Stockbridge with its major attractions such as The Norman Rockwell Museum, Chesteron, and Naumkeag are only moments away from the Inn and others such as The Mount and Tanglewood are close at hand too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria_VASusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Country Inn

Property: Stockbridge Country Inn
Address: 26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stockbridge Country Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Inn to The Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood Museum, 5 minutes to Tanglewood, Central of all major Berkshire attractions, set up high on 4 private and professionally landscaped acres, in-ground swimming pool, bicycle and ski storage, full-service country breakfast, private bath en-suite, fine antiques, comfort at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Stockbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing