We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a welcome change”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Stockbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Stockbridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Thomaston Me
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a welcome change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

We found the Inn on our way to new york from Maine.They had a vacancy sign up so we stopped to inquire about a room for the night. We stayed in the Barn.The Innkeepers were so welcoming and gave a us a great price since it was last minute. The room was clean and comfy ,just what we needed after 6 hours of driving.

Wine and cheese hour was great . As was breakfast, and we did ask if we could eat earlier than the posted time and the Innkeepers were fine did not mind at all. We will be back and so will our friends from long island ! They also have a great standard poodle who is a bundle of fun. I just wanted to take her with me.

  • Liked — all our needs were met
  • Disliked — that we could not stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maineman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, Manager at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 25 April 2008
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on offering pleasant accomadations, a good breakfast and hospitality to the weary teaveler at a reasonable price.
Please include a stay at the Inn on your next trip to Maine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    58
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
46
324
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

Found the Inn on the web. The disapointment in our stay began with a chilly reception by the inn keeper. We stayed in the Rockwell Suite, which was attractive but sparsely furnished- it could have used some comfy chairs and another table to make it more inviting. The bedding was very clean but the room wasn't. Dusty furniture, cobwebs, marked walls, and stained carpet. We had a very nice wine and cheese platter, a perk for our off-season travel, but it was left in our room for the duration of our stay- needless to say, crusty cheese isn't a pleasant site when you return to the room. The grounds were not well-maintained- cigarette butts were everywhere and there were no paths to follow to get to the main building, despite the fact that the inn keeper suggested that we use that route to get to the building. We were told that coffee would be available after ~7:30 am but, this only happened on Saturday- none was available on Sunday. The in-room coffee maker was probably a fire-hazzard because it smoked when I turned it on and only worked after I played with the switch and connection.!?! Breakfast was okay but they need to learn how to prepare bacon- it was burned and unattractive- need to attend cooking class 101. Background noise from the Mass Pike could have been ignored if the other aspects of the Inn were more inviting. We won't be returning.

  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, owner/innkeeper at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 25 April 2008
We regret that this guest was dissapointed with their stay. Most guests love the Rockwell Suite. We included a complimentary wine and cheese in their room. We do not normally remove this when the room is freshened unless requested.
We pride ourselves on providing a clean room and a wonderful breakfast to all our guests.

During the beginning of April the grounds are not very appealing. Perhaps this guest should come back in June.

This guest thought they would get a barn suite for the price of a standard room in addition to a free wine and cheese platter.
With this expectation nothing will make one happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, ME
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

From the moment you drive up the driveway and see the front yard filled with sculpture with the columned inn in the background, you know you've found a special place. I just loved the Inn at Stockbridge.

I stayed in the newer barn, in the Norman Rockwell suite. The deep whirlpool tub was just what I needed at the end of the day, along with a gas fireplace to add a sense of relaxation. The king bed was so perfect, and I noticed they had a selection of both hard and soft pillows, which I really appreciated.

Right now there is no wireless access in the barn (they said they're adding it summer 2008), so I used the desk computer in the main inn to check email. That was a huge help.

Annette and her mom, were wonderful hosts. Annette gave me a tour of the grounds. I didn't get to see the pool open, but I can tell it's a really nice setting. I loved the little meditation garden, tucked away with twisted wood benches.

Great tip - try the biscotti in the guest pantry. Yumm.

  • Liked — amenities in the rooms - cream sherry, lovely bath products, TVs
  • Disliked — didn't get to see it in summer, would have liked to see the pool.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, Leonard Schiller at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 1 April 2008
We are pleased that you had a wonderful time at the Inn at Stockbridge. Our goal is to assure a wonderful time for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

From the informative website to the wonderful owners, the Inn, the rooms, the food, this place is truly remarkable. It has such a relaxing atmosphere, friendly, helpful owners, delicious food and such minute detail to the room, we left refreshed and ready to get back to the real world.
We've traveled for years, but can only count on one hand, the number of places like this. In fact, we came home, and booked another long weekend stay at the Inn at Stockbridge.
The Inn was a comfortable atmosphere, you felt at home. Unlike some B & B's, at breakfast, you could chat with other guest, or there was another decorated room, with tables, to just be with your party. Len is a remarkable cook, plenty of food, creative with his breakfast foods, that were always fresh, hot, and ready to eat. Alice helped tremendously, making reservations, sitting down and answering questions on places we were planning to visit. Annette was extremely helpful, along with the night attendent. All in all, the owners, and staff made you feel right at home, with the delightful exception: no cleaning, no worries about food, snacks, drinks, directions, knowledge.
We stayed in two guest cottages, Provence and Kashmir. Wow, so spacious, the room, the bathroom, both comfortable from the bed, coffee maker, whirlpool, gas fireplace, a/c, robes, towels, toiletries, magazines, CD player, TV with videos, and the furnishings, and bedding was simply perfect. We'd recommend this place to everyone. We can't wait to see it in the summer, with winter, it was breathtaking. Pricing was more than reasonable, and you felt comfortable going about your routine, and finding snacks, drinks, tea, coffee, cheese, chocolates to snack on, while lounging in the living rooms, dens, computer or game room.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

My husband i stayed at the Inn at Stockbridge for 2 glorious nights. The inn itself is beautiful, clean and inviting. Our bedroom with a working fireplace offered us just the escape we both craved. Service is attentive without being intrusive and breakfast start the day with a smile.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank robertmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

We enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at this lovely Inn. We had one of the Barn Suites which was truly beautiful. The innkeepers,, Alice & Len, were attentive and friendly yet unobtrusive. So many nice touches....cookies etc available in the Butlers pantry, cheese and wine daily at 5pm and yummy breakfasts. The staff were friendly and very attentive and the housekeeping good. Yes, there is some noise from the road but it wasn't a problem for us...perhaps due to where the Barns are situated in the grounds.I would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful Inn to anyone. ....Expensive? - perhaps, but you get what you pay for.
Jackie Stanbridge (UK)

  • Liked — The Barn Suites
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jackiestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2007

The inn was pleasant but very overpriced. For the price the breakfast could have been more lavished. Inn keepers were snooty not friendly like at most inns.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank tulip90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stockbridge

Property: Inn at Stockbridge
Address: 30 East St, Rt 7 North, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Stockbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful charm and elegance in this 1906 Georgian style mansion secluded on 12 acres in Stockbridge. Relax in any of the 15 individually decorated guest rooms, many with a fireplace and large double whirlpool. Awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and enjoy a homemade breakfast in the formal dining room. Selected as a romantic hideaway by the Discriminating Traveler. There is an additional $40 per night per pet fee, and we would be happy to include a crate in the room for you for no additional charge if you would like one. We also request that you do not leave the pet in the room alone for an extended period of time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Stockbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stockbridge Hotel Stockbridge
Inn Stockbridge
Stockbridge Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing