We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my best stayover at a B&B travelling through all 6 New England states.”
Review of Inn at Stockbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Stockbridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was my best stayover at a B&B travelling through all 6 New England states.”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The setting was beautiful in a a large country acreage, and the house mirrored a colonial mansion.
It's appointments offered antique and 18th century style furniture.
The breakfast was sumptious and different each day, while the kitchen staff/waiters served with aplomb.
They are to be commended on their smiley dispositions.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XSATG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    58
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
50
347
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

After rambling in the beautiful Berkshires one recent day, my husband and I found ourselves just a little too far away from home and decided on impulse to stop for the night at the Inn at Stockbridge. What a delighful B & B! From the moment we arrived we were treated as cherished good friends. The thoughtful and caring staff saw to our every need, of which were many, since we hadn't planned to stay away from home that evening. We were graciously escorted to beautifully appointed and romantic accomodations, which included a 6' whirlpool bath, sumptuous his and her bathrobes, and a wonderful gas fireplace to take the chill out of the cool mountain night air.

While we enjoyed a lanquid swim in the heated outdoor pool, the staff at the Inn arranged dinner reservations for us at a very fine local restaurant, and also made certain we had written directions to find the place!

In the morning we were well rested and delighted to wake up to a wonderful gourmet breakfast, served on the Inn's patio and prepared to order by Innkeeper Len Schiller and his staff. We also very much enjoyed meeting Alice Schiller, a lady with real creative vision reflected throughout the Inn from the dramatically decorated rooms and suites to the well maintained gardens and grounds. Alice was very knowledgable about the local cultural and recreational attractions, and gave us great pointers on what to see the next time we visit, which will be very soon!

This was just a delightful experience, and as we drove away from the Inn that day, we really wished we could take the time to stay longer! Very soon we plan to come back and do just that. We just felt wonderfully refreshed and pampered, and very glad we had accidently strayed too far...and had the impulse to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oftentimetourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We chose this property on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and feel it has both pros and cons. Although it lists as a 'B&B' it is not really a B&B in the traditional sense. To me, one of the charms of a B&B is the chance to interact with the owners and learn something about the region. Despite spending three nights here, these owners were conspicuous by their absence, appearing fleetingly at breakfast and not really interacting with the guests at all. On our second day we spent pretty much the whole day here yet we didn't see the owners once. When we did meet Len the following day he seemed to be rather surprised we were staying here. Even when we arrived (at 6.00pm) another person was 'on duty' for a few hours and our overall impression was that the owners were just too busy having a life to be bothered with their B&B. We saw a lot more of the staff who were friendly enough but they were clearly 'staff' and not too informative about the local area.
On the positive side our room was pleasant enough (though small) and the public areas (lounge room, wide verandah, pool) were all very comfortable and attractively furnished.
A major downside of the place is a noisy highway located about 150 metres away which impacts on guests both day and night. It really is quite distracting and there are several other choices in the area if you are seeking peace and quiet. The Applegate Inn (Lee) is a very nice, secluded, alternative.
A final comment is the breakfast setup. Not only is it served VERY late (0830-1000 and one day not until 0900) but is also fairly ordinary. The night before we left I mentioned to the owner that we would be leaving early but there was no offer of an early breakfast and so we snuck out like thieves at 0730 in the morning. Maybe this was just too early and too inconvenient for these people?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
We, Alice & Len Schiller, are thrilled to own, operate and manage the Inn at Stockbridge for 16 years. It is a testimonial to us that we have found a balance between being an innkeeper and our personal life. If we were not able to accomplish we would not have had this longevity. This weekend we had many loyal return guests with whom we have created a wonderful relationship with over the years. They were thrilled to meet our family and new grandson who is now 4 months old as well as our daughters and their husbands. It makes us proud that we have developed this relationship with our loyal following. Perhaps this guest did not appreciate this. Running an Inn sucessfully is about creating a family like environment of friendliness and relaxation, in other words a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed two nights at the end of our New England holiday and had been expecting a wonderful experience, having stayed in four exceptional Inns before arriving in Stockbridge. We were met by one of the Innkeepers and when we indicated we could do with some help with our luggage, she asked "do you need to bring in all your cases", which seemed a slightly unwelcoming response.

Once we had settled in and sampled the wine and cheese, we returned to our room to discover there was a problem in the bathroom but the Innkeeper had already left. My husband eventually found her colleague, Pamela, who was extremely pleasant and said we could not remain in that room. She moved us to the Provence Suite in the garden cottage building.

Maintenance and housekeeping is sadly lacking at this Inn: there was dust and large cobwebs with numerous insects around our entrance door on the porch, which had obviously been there for some time; in the bathroom the light over the shower cubicle didn't work, the wall mounted make-up mirror was nearly falling off so I didn't attempt to use it, the wallpaper was torn in places, there was no plug in the washbasin and the bath took ages to fill. Plenty of complimentary toiletries though.

The air-conditioning unit was old fashioned and noisy. However the bed was large and extremely comfortable and the bathrobes and bed linen were of good quality. There was a coffee machine in the room, which was a nice touch.

The breakfast room and lounges were very pleasant but what a shame where was no air conditioning, making it too warm to spend much time in these communal spaces. There was no bottled water available either in our room or in the guest pantry. When I eventually discovered a fridge in the computer/games room, it was empty and needed defrosting.

The buffet breakfast included fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice and pancakes but only one cereal and on our first morning the bread basket just contained brown sliced bread! (English muffins were there the second morning). It would have been nice to eat outside where it was cooler but there were only 3 tables available.

Alice asked if we had slept well, which we had, and provided an explanation for the problem in our first room which we fully appreciated. She went on to say as we had been given a free upgrade we had "nothing to complain about"! I thought this an unnecessary and somewhat rude comment, but it had the effect of making me hold my tongue about everything else I had encountered. We had not asked for an upgrade and I assume we were given the Provence Suite as nothing else was available in the main house.

In its favour, the gardens and wraparound verandah were lovely and the pool did look inviting. The dog didn't bother us even though we are not doggie people, and the road noise, though evident in the garden, was no problem inside our room.

Unfortunately we didn't feel we had been warmly welcomed into Alice and Len's home which was what we had hoped for in booking this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytourist44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
We are sorry that we did not meet this guests expectations. If there is ever a problem in a room we happily move a guest. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and maintain the highest standards of housekeeping and maintenance. We are in a wooded country setting. We do appreciate that notice was made of our nice amenities which we constantly upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Pleasant surroundings, friendly hosts and wonderful accommodations made our overnight stay relaxing and our travel dollars well-spent . We enjoyed our visit to the Norman Rockwell Museum just a few miles down the road.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was our second visit to the Inn at Stockbridge and we wondered why we hadn't been back sooner. It is a delightful place to stay in the area. Beautiful home, lots of amenities from free Internet, movies, wine and cheese at 5 - with a warm fire in the winter, coffee and cookies in the nook! The beds are not only beautiful but very comfortable. Len and Alice are welcoming as are the rest of the staff. And, the people who stay here seem to be very welcoming too. We have enjoyed our breakfasts sharing with other guests about their activities in the area and recommending restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliceann28, owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this review, 18 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to visit the Inn at Stockbridge again. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the other guests. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction.
We hope that you include us in you plans again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Apple
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

No reservations about giving highest regards to the Inn at Stockbridge. We went in March and did cross country skiing and sight seeing... While this is off season - the inn was full, but it was easy to make reservations - only a week in advance. It is centrally located near Lenox, Stockbridge, Lee and the Berkshires in general.... We stayed in the Madame Butterfly Room which was cute and tastefully decorated. I was weary of theme rooms but it was not over the top at all - very cute and tasteful - So i want to go back and try out the other rooms. Very airy and sunny room, and would stay in this room again as well. - Thanks for a great stay. The Breakfast was great also.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfred9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,020 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
144 reviews
1.5 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
608 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stockbridge

Property: Inn at Stockbridge
Address: 30 East St, Rt 7 North, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Stockbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful charm and elegance in this 1906 Georgian style mansion secluded on 12 acres in Stockbridge. Relax in any of the 15 individually decorated guest rooms, many with a fireplace and large double whirlpool. Awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and enjoy a homemade breakfast in the formal dining room. Selected as a romantic hideaway by the Discriminating Traveler. There is an additional $40 per night per pet fee, and we would be happy to include a crate in the room for you for no additional charge if you would like one. We also request that you do not leave the pet in the room alone for an extended period of time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Stockbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stockbridge Hotel Stockbridge
Inn Stockbridge
Stockbridge Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing