We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Country Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quintessential Country Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Red Lion Inn, located in Stockbridge, Mass. is the quintessential country inn. My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The fire in the main lounge fireplace created a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The harpist was a delight to enjoy as we sipped a glass of wine.

The fireplace in our room continued providing us with the ambiance of an early American inn. The king bed complete with comfortable quilts and a delightfully comfortable mattress provided a superb night's rest.

Dinner in the dining room (as opposed to the Tavern) was relaxed and un-rushed. The service was fine. We began our dining experience with an Equinox Farm Arugula Salad which was fresh and delicious. My wife ordered the Quinoa Pasta with Harvest Vegetables. She would not recommend this as the vegetables left a bit to be desired and the flavor of the Quinoa Pasta can best be described as bland. However, I had the Roast Moulard Duck Breast and cannot find words to describe how tasty it was...prepared to perfection.

Yes, we shall return.

Edie and Dave

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    308
    118
    59
    25
See reviews for
199
496
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you're looking for a laid back getaway, the Red Lion is for you. There are plenty of things to do nearby, but it's a wonderful place to decompress with a book in front of the fire while enjoying a glass of wine. In the summer, the Inn lends itself to people watching from the front porch while, gently rocking in a comfy wicker chair. The pool is great and rarely crowded, where you can also enjoy poolside service. We have returned many times over the past 20 years and enjoy the Inn more with each visit. It really is one of those places that's easy to call "home".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I can't comment on the rooms at the Inn because we didn't stay there. I can only comment on our dining experience. On a two-day visit to the Berkshires, my wife and I had dinner at the Red Lion. I'm sorry to say that it was not very good. My wife's duck breast was quite bland and my beef stew was only average. The dining room itself is very nice with the charm of a large inn. We also liked our waitress, who seemed knowledgeable with her warm smile. But the food could've been much better, especially in this caliber of a hotel. So, when I say "please find another chef", I'm not being sarcastic. I truly mean it. The inn itself is so charming and stately. It's only proper that the food match the stature of the inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gymrat375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedLionInn, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I have been pondering this guest review with disappointment and dismay. We certainly failed to delight our guests on this occasion. I feel very badly about that, especially because our kitchen is in top form right now. In the 40-plus years I’ve been involved with the inn, it’s never been better. Our chef, Brian Alberg is considered one of the best in the Berkshires. He’s is part of our local farm community, raising much of the pork we serve at his Bacon on the Side Farm. Even the hot dogs in the Lions Den are homemade. He has won many awards and accolades. It is highly unusual for Brian and his kitchen-mates to put out a bland or average meal. That said, when it does happen we’re grateful for honest feedback like we received from this guest. There is always room for improvement. I’d welcome the chance to speak personally with “Gymrat” to learn more about his experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We decided to break up a business trip travelling from Providence RI to Ithaca NY by stopping at the Red Lion Inn at Stockbridge. This proved to be an inspired decision.

The Red Lion Inn was a beautiful establish that just creaked with history. The quality of the food served in the restaurant was outstanding, while the rooms were full of charm while containing modern en suite facilities.

An additional benefit lies in the town itself, which is packed full of historic houses and shops. I took several hours just walking round, and also made my way to the Norman Rockwell museum just a couple of miles further away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHPORT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Returning here after many years was a pleasant surprise. Somehow, at great expense and effort for sure, Red Lion has retained the feel of a revolutionary era inn where stagecoaches probably stopped with most of the amenities travelers look for today.

But don't expect Four Seasons type comfort in your bedroom. The bathrooms particulalry remind us of what they were like in the fifties when we were growing up. Sinks with no room for shaving gear. Shower/tubs which are a challenge to enter and exit. Make sure to pull those shower curtains tight.

But the condition and upkeep of all rooms were right up to snuff. The staff universally were cordial and responsive. The fireplace in the main lobby was consistently burning. The fall decorations of huge pumpkin and squash at the foot of the front steps were world class.

Easy parking out back. Convenient eating places down the street for breakfast, if you wanted to eat out. Art work of Norman Rockwell everywhere. Well done.

Room Tip: We chose two beds for comfort and flexibility. Worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARTLEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
428 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staying at the Red Lion Inn has been on my bucket list since I first saw it as a child in the 1950s. At age 66, I finally got the chance to spend a night, experience the "Lion's Den Pub", and enjoy an elegant breakfast in the historic dining room. I will go back in a heart beat! This historic gem has it all, and if you are anywhere in the Berkshires or the Albany, NY, area, then by all means go here. Well appointed rooms, exquisite antiques throughout, a cozy living room with fire place, and fine dining make this a destination if you want to surround yourself in historic elegance. Book early if it's in the height of the season (Tanglewood and fall foliage come to mind). We'll probably go back again and again whenever the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose rooms with private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wow. I don't really know where to start. On a recent trip to New England, Boston and Washington - this was our favourite stay.
I must admit, when you first walk in we weren't sure what to expect but we weren't disappointed. The traditional old fashioned style, charm and attention to detail was just delightful. We had the pleasure of sitting by the fire in reception with other guests and Mrs Fitzpatrick and friends one afternoon which lovely to hear some of the history of the place first hand.
The breakfasts are gorgeous. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Simon the cat makes regular appearances around the Inn and adds to the family run feel of the place too.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing