We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Dining”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I celebrated her birthday with a wonderful dinner at The Red Lion Inn last night. The main dining room is Victorian in design and one can imagine dining here when the inn was rebuilt in 1897. We have stopped by the inn many times over the years but this was our first time in the main dining room. The food and service were both very good and the sommelier, Dan, and the wine list were superb. We enjoyed a 1998 Comde Valdemarr Rioja which was a bargain at $45.00. My wife had artic char, pink & poached and very fresh, beautifully plated over green vegetables. I has the prime rib with Yorkshire pudding served with fresh green beans and Yukon gold mashed potatoes. Warmed cake, coffee and Remi Martin rounded out a memorable birthday dinner. Our server, Mercedes, was as nice as could be and professional. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    317
    126
    61
    26
See reviews for
206
513
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Love staying in historic properties and The Red Lion Inn did not disappoint! Our suite was lovely with a very large soaking tub and HUGE 2 person shower. The Lincoln Table in the reception area was unique as was the House Cat! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

i loved staying here. i had a daughter/mommy night. we mostly rocked the chairs on the huge porch. the breakfast/brunch was amazing! loved the eggs benedict and of course the turkey sandwich. i love how the floors are uneven and you can tell its been around for a long time. it did have an older crowd.so if your looking for a wild place, i would suggest going elsewhere.
also, i had NO reception on the entire property. so i would not stay here for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rummared78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've stayed at The Red Lion Inn before and really enjoyed it. It's mix of eclectic charm, great restaurant, and comfortable unpretentious atmosphere are great for a nice trip away from the day to day.
I recently booked a room for another weekend stay, but due to some circumstances beyond my control, I've had to re book this trip twice. I felt awful doing it as I know that it's a pain for the hotel to deal with, but the staff has been nothing but gracious, responsive and helpful. There was no guilt or annoyance on their end at all, which I truly appreciated. It made me look even more forward to my upcoming visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It has been almost a year since I last went to the Inn and gave it a bad review. Well my wife made me try it again. Apparently my review and messages to the Inn took notice. We went this Feb. for 2 nights. We were very happy to be contacted beforehand and responded to our concerns and questions. The chef was gracious and made sure we received good, let me correct that to be great food. The host, front desk, waiters and waitresses were fantastic. To be sure you understand these are the usual qualities expected and received at the Inn. We ate all our meals at the Inn and even splurged on a breakfast in bed. I recommend this treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacka101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
It was a pleasure to have you and your wife back with us again. I am glad we were able to restore your faith in us and we look forward to welcoming you to the Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was not sleek and modern, and that was good for it felt like home, or better yet when I would spend the summers at my Grandmothers home. The room had personality and had it's quirks that were natural for a grand old lady.

the staff outstanding. the front desk staff off the chart! The breakfast - the best omelet I had in years. Wish my husband could have been there to enjoy it with.

Room Tip: look for discount on line for the Inn. Got a lower rate on line with a coupon for the same room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woventales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you aren't looking to stay at a traditional B&B but you want something more unique then the Holiday Inn Express down the street, this is a great option. Reasonable prices. Rooms are small, but clean and homey. Clean bathrooms with special bath salts for a little relaxation. I couldn't get the in room thermostat to work with me, so I had to crack the windows and was very hot at night. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
123 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
543 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing