We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Amerscot House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amerscot House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here for four nights in October. The Inn is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is the best ever! Vicki and Andy are so warm and friendly. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have stayed in many B & B's over the years but this is one of the best. The owners seemed to have thought of everything a guest could want. Tastefully decorated, comfortable bed with excellent quality linen, chocolates, tv with hundreds of channels, dvd with a library of titles to choose from, complementary deserts, beverages including wine & beer (we don't drink alcohol). A folder with all of the restaurants in the area was available with driving directions that we could take with us. The breakfast was excellent with a menu of choices. The owners were very friendly and helpful making us feel at home there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forbush Room 2nd floor which was the only one available. Nice room with a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We recently stayed for three nights as part of our honeymoon. What a perfect setting, quiet well kept and very clean. The accommodations were good sized with very comfortable beds. One of the nice touches is that you can choose from a variety of hot or cold breakfasts made to order. Fresh fruit platter was a nice touch. Several different juices, water, beer and wine available to the guests at any time at no extra cost!! The innkeepers were so polite and attentive to any of our requests. We highly recommend you stay a few days and compare to other B&B's. We think you will find it difficult to find one as good as this. Curtis and Carol

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank curtcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This B & B is absolutely perfect. The owners have made sure that everything is first class. Viki greeted us by name and welcomed us as if we were old friends. She makes sure that every detail to make the stay comfortable has been considered...from a complete menu of beverages and snacks always available, chocolates by the bed, robes for bathtime, luxurious sheets and comforters, and a gourmet breakfast, to name a few. We would definitely go back if we lived closer and will recommend this B&B to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

To celebrate our 40th anniversary we took a trip to Maine. Looking for a place to stay on our way there, we stayed at the Amerscot, having discovered this highly-rated B&B on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, it was 1) a great place with charming and incredibly attentive owners, 2) offered accommodations and appointments that were high-end, quite comfortable and welcoming and 3) was accessible to a number of very good restaurants in close proximity.

It ranks as one of the absolute best B&B's we have experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay west of Boston, partly to look at historical sites but also so we could visit relatives, and up popped this highly rated Bed and Breakfast. It looked so good that we booked three nights there to start our three week holiday in New England/Canada before moving up to Vermont for a wedding. We have never been more reluctant to say good bye and move on than when our stay with Viki and Andy came to an all too soon end. Everything that recent reviewers have written is absolutely spot on. My only criticism is that it completely spoiled us for the rest of our trip - everywhere we went was heard our muttering "nice but not a patch on Amerscot". As well as being welcomed into this beautiful house and being provided with absolutely everything we might need to make our stay memorable, we also enjoyed the company of fellow guests. How wonderful to have been able to stay longer - unfortunately other commitments prevented this but we would love to think that we will re visit and pick up where we left off. This is a house for all seasons in an area rich in history and still close enough to Boston to enjoy all that this city has to offer so I can't recommend Amerscot Inn House strongly enough as a base for a sightseeing holiday or just as a peaceful, luxurious "far better than home from home" break for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I love staying at B&Bs whenever we travel and have visited quite a few around the US. The Amerscot House Inn is without a doubt the best B&B we have ever experienced! Viki is a wonderful hostess and gourmet cook. Her sense of style has transformed this delightful historic inn into a perfect getaway. I would recommend staying here, whether you live just down the road or thousands of miles away, whenever you need to rest and feel pampered. We loved the Gibson Room, with its extra large bed, beautiful modern bathroom, and peaceful color palette. From the moment we walked up to the door, Viki made us feel welcome and comfortable. There was a screened-in porch, where my husband enjoyed watching the afternoon storm while drinking a complimentary beverage. The room was so spacious and thoughtfully designed that I regretted having to leave for dinner (as a side note, Gibbet Hill Restaurant in Groton is delicious and a perfect compliment to a stay at the Amerscot House).

Breakfast deserves to be described in further detail. There was a fresh fruit platter with delicious berries, melon, mango, and kiwi; yogurt parfait in individual glass containers; toast with European butter and jam; coffee, tea, and fresh-squeezed orange juice; the best Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine (wow!). And, right outside the window we were treated to a parade of beautiful birds visiting the bird feeders (my first time seeing a bright red cardinal).

Final notes: the prices are extremely reasonable, everything is clean and fresh (I am a little OCD about cleanliness, and I immediately felt comfortable walking around barefoot in our room), there were fresh flowers in our room, a DVD player and more channels than I have ever seen at a B&B or hotel, Gilchrist and Soames toiletries, oversized towels and fluffy robes. If you get a chance, stay at the Amerscot House! You will not find more refined hospitality or a more comfortable home anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amerscot House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerscot House Inn

Address: 61 W Acton Rd, Stow, MA 01775-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Stow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stow
Price Range: £120 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1734 and located in Stow, MA, our traditional Inn is situated on three idyllic acres. Located 26 miles from Boston, we offer four bedrooms with private baths and modern amenities. Our rooms have king or queen beds, 700-count Egyptian cotton sheets, down-filled duvets & pillows. The blend of antiques and modern comfort, cable TV/DVD players, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We serve a full English breakfast daily using organic and local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amerscot House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing