We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible - 5 star!!!!”
Review of Amerscot House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amerscot House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Stow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Incredible - 5 star!!!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I booked this place last minute as a surprise getaway for my husband and I. I was so pleased! From the first contact with the innkeeper I knew it was going to be perfect. The hospitality happened from the booking and continued all the way through. Breakfast was relaxing and so tasty and they thought of everything! Chocolates in the room, snacks, drinks, robes... Ahhh the works!!! It was a wonderful stay and I will recommend this place time and time again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alynickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
101
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Viki and Andy are the perfect hosts. The house is beautifullly restored and maintained, the perfect place from which to explore the colonial sites. Our room was large and comfortable, with all the amenities. The sitting room for guests is filled with helpful local information; a generous supply of snacks is in the fridge. We had breakfast on the screened-in porch and watched the birds at the feeder. Stow is quieter than Concord and Lexington, a lovely location for a quiet get-away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the Amerscot Inn the last night of our 2 1/2 weeks travel around New England. It was by far the best accommodation we had. We appreciated the beautiful house, the comfortable rooms, the fantastic breakfast and the helpfulness and kindness of the innkeepers. We wished, we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Conant Suite is excellent - but the rest is great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immerriesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiCarter, Owner at Amerscot House Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We hope you and your family had a safe trip home to Germany - and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your night here - it was certainly a pleasure meeting you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

In the classical world of Guide Michelin, one star was worth a stop, two a detour, and three a journey. After spending a week at the Amerscott Inn in Stow, we rate it five stars because know it is worth a journey. The Inn is convenient to Concord (12 min), Boston (30 min with traffic risk), or to most 128/495 tech companies.

The Inn was built in 1734, one of the oldest buildings in an area full of old buildings. Today it is a simple four room inn run by Vicky Carter. Vicky is a born innkeeper, fastidious, gracious, and incredibly accommodating. The rooms are wonderful -- we stayed in both the Conant Suite and the Forbush Room -- the two upstairs rooms. Both are great -- elegant bathrooms, air conditioning for July, great beds, DVD players with a nice library downstairs, etc. Both are up an 18th century stairway, which is not for anyone with mobility impairments.

The Inn is on beautiful grounds that are tastefully landscaped and tempting on a summer evening before the bugs come out. The neighborhood is rural, with some traffic. A GPS is helpful in finding the place, since the colonial road makers cared little for grids. Although we jogged the local roads, they are not really meant for pedestrians.

At Amerscott, the day starts with a fantastic breakfast: fruit, nonfat Greek yogurt, fresh banana bread, followed by fresh coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, and eggs from a nearby farm. Brritish, but a long way from bangers and mash. Tip: Vicky has an espresso machine, but doesn't advertise it. Complimentary drinks and snacks are available throughout the day.

Dining choices near the Inn are somewhat limited. Within 10-15 minutes however, there are good restaurants in Maynard (Cast Iron Kitchen was a B-), Not Your Average Joes in Acton (a reliable, go to place), or Chloe's Grill in Hudson (a colorful French Bistro in the former center of US shoe manufacturing, Hudson). Concord also has several good eateries.

Overall, if your travels bring you to the Boston burbs, make an effort to see Ameriscot. It is the top choice on Trip Advisor for good reason.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MTMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiCarter, Owner at Amerscot House Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and fun review. We are so happy that your week here was enjoyable. We try hard to make sure everything is the best it can be and we love it when guests appreciate it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lovely setting, every consideration, comfortable room, helpful and pleasant owners. I was there only for a night, and mainly to work. Appreciated availability of snacks, coffee, tea, etc throughout the day. Also Viki's flexibility in letting me check in a bit early. Breakfast was terrific, wish I could have stayed longer! I've stayed in many b&bs in New England -- this is one of the very best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlyn345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiCarter, Owner at Amerscot House Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed being here for your brief stay and thank you for writing a review. Good luck with everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have been to numerous b&b's...however, Vicky's extra touches, from the directions to restaurants, menu for breakfast, water and coffee in the room, homemade cookies, a vast selection of DVD's and to us, most importantly - did not talk the whole time about utter nonsense about the area. The home is beautifully appointed, on gorgeous grounds, the rooms are more than comfortable, and she uses the best of linens and towels. Truly a place to come back to.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiCarter, Owner at Amerscot House Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks so much for your review...and I am so happy I didn't talk "utter nonsense" to you! Hope you had an easy trip back to the city and thanks again for taking the trouble to let others know about us. Best wishes, Viki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just returned from a lovely getaway at the Amerscot Inn. Appreciated the attention to detail and all the fine "extras" that went above and beyond the typical B&B experience. Access to assorted beverages throughout the stay, snacks, bath salts, fluffy towels, and perhaps the nicest breakfast I have ever had. Loved the higher quality ingredients...and the blueberry scones were just perfection! Look forward to returning again for another relaxing getaway someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiCarter, Owner at Amerscot House Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for writing a review - we so appreciate it. Good luck with eveything and best wishes to all your family. Viki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow
7.8 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
516 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Boxborough (I-495 Exit 28)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
9.1 mi away
Westford Regency Inn
Westford Regency Inn
#3 of 3 in Westford
444 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerscot House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerscot House Inn

Property: Amerscot House Inn
Address: 61 W Acton Rd, Stow, MA 01775-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Stow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1734 and located in Stow, MA, our traditional Inn is situated on three idyllic acres. Located 26 miles from Boston, we offer four bedrooms with private baths and modern amenities. Our rooms have king or queen beds, 700-count Egyptian cotton sheets, down-filled duvets & pillows. The blend of antiques and modern comfort, cable TV/DVD players, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We serve a full English breakfast daily using organic and local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing