We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some People Really Know and Do Hospitality!!!”
Review of Amerscot House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amerscot House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Stow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Some People Really Know and Do Hospitality!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an old, meaning 1700's old house converted into a B and B. We stayed in an upstairs bedroom, climbing a very narrow and steep flight of stairs that turned three times getting up. The accommodations were wonderful. Very comfortable, decorated exceptionally well. The linens were of high quality. There was complementary wine, beer, soda and water, even snacks any time you wanted. The breakfasts were made to order and there was so much food, you couldn't possibly finish it all.

But that wasn't what touched me the most, it was the hospitality of Viki and Andy. They were great and made us feel very welcome. This is a five star bed and breakfast.

Only down side, it's a long way from the Boston airport.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room in the place, unless you have trouble climbing a set of steep s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night before and night of our wedding. The owners, Vicki and Andy, did everything possible to personalize our stay and help make everything easy. It was absolutely the best stay anywhere we've ever had. The house and grounds are beautiful and the service was so friendly and honestly happy for us and our event. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethjohnson524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orleans, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at The Amerscot House Inn. My wife and I had the Gibson room on the first floor and loved the spacious room, comfortable king size bed and a modern bathroom with double sinks. The Inn is beautifully furnished and is complemented by a wood burning fireplace that Andy manages very well. The sitting room is delightful with comfortable seating and décor appropriate to the early times of the Inn. We enjoyed terrific breakfasts that Viki prepared. Her scrambled eggs are wonderful. Viki procures the eggs from a local farmer and they are fresh and organic. The fresh fruit that she serves is from Idlylwild Farms in Acton, a great local source for fresh produce. We enjoyed our view from our breakfast table overlooking the spacious land behind the Inn.
Andy and Viki Carter own the Inn and could not be more pleasant and accommodating. Snacks are available around the clock and complimentary wine and beer, in addition to soft drinks, are accessible at all times. We have recommended this Inn to our friends who are coming to Boston. You will enjoy it here -- an historic country inn close to historic Lexington and Concord.

Room Tip: The Gibson Room is a great choice since it is on the ground floor and close to the parlor room and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at The Amerscot Inn twice. The building is beautiful!! Decorated with such perfect attention to detail, every little nook and cranny has something delightful to look at. The owner/operators are wonderful; so welcoming and helpful! Breakfast was so good that we joke about hoping to find Miss Vicky in our kitchen on weekends. We would recommend this place to anyone; in fact we recommend staying here even if you live steps away. It's a "get away" even if you live next door!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHandymansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Quite simply the best B&B we have ever encountered. We loved it. Viki's attention to detail throughout is exemplary, as are her efforts to make your stay memorable. We had the Gibson room on the ground floor, which is extremely comfortable and well-equipped. Do you prefer a firm pillow or a soft pillow? No problem - both are there! Blankets or a duvet? You choose once again!
The guest sitting room is delightful - newspapers, magazines, books, dvds, complimentary snacks, wine, beer, juice - the list goes on. There is plenty of advice on hand regarding things to see and do, as well as restaurant reviews. And talking about food, the breakfasts are delicious and gargantuan - once again, with an array of dishes (with locally sourced ingredients) from which to choose. The menu comes with the weather forecast each day, so no need to check on your mobile - Viki has already done it! If you are looking for an intimate B&B experience, but with all of (if not more than) the luxurious touches of a 5 star hotel, you will not beat Amerscot House Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnybach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Amerscot House for 1 night at the end of our honeymoon. This is one of the loveliest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The room was extremely spacious, comfortable and beautifully presented. Vicky was welcoming and extremely helpful and the common areas made a wonderful space to play board games, read and relax. The breakfast was generous and delicious and we felt thoroughly looked after and that we had enjoyed a wonderful treat in staying there. We would love to have stayed longer and would absolutely recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone in the area who fancies treating themselves. A fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: The Gibson room has a wonderful double shower and is very generous on space and comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Amerscot House Inn, in Stow, MA, is one of the loveliest B&B's we've ever stayed at. We were amazed at the cleanliness, amenities, and lovely grounds. The proprietors were very accomodating and served a bigger-than-life breakfast each morning that included daily laminated menus! It was worth the extra money to be pampered in such a way and will gladly recommend this B&B to anyone who is thinking of visiting the Boston area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreciousWeasels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow
7.8 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Boxborough (I-495 Exit 28)
6.0 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston-Marlboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerscot House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerscot House Inn

Property: Amerscot House Inn
Address: 61 W Acton Rd, Stow, MA 01775-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Stow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1734 and located in Stow, MA, our traditional Inn is situated on three idyllic acres. Located 26 miles from Boston, we offer four bedrooms with private baths and modern amenities. Our rooms have king or queen beds, 700-count Egyptian cotton sheets, down-filled duvets & pillows. The blend of antiques and modern comfort, cable TV/DVD players, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We serve a full English breakfast daily using organic and local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing