We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from table rock,a cliff overlooking a valley. Nice accessible hiking trails. Only con was nearby gun range...bit nois”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wells State Park

Wells State Park
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Sturbridge
Attraction details
Rutland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great view from table rock,a cliff overlooking a valley. Nice accessible hiking trails. Only con was nearby gun range...bit nois”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great. Hiking trails well marked and mapped. Good day hikes and the table rock trail leads to a stunning cliff side view of the valley below. Stop by BT'S Smokehouse for a great meal afterwards. Free entry to the park this time of year but looks like they charge in busy season.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiredtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great to hike or camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very well maintained state park. Nice camping area, small lake for fishing or paddling and lots of space for hiking. Close to the Mass Pike in central Mass so it is easy to get there but you will think you are "away from it all". Great place to enjoy nature for the day or for several days. Bonus..lake offers good ice fishing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nhudson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Retired couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Dr office visit recommended and was it ever worth checking out. Good scenery and relaxation place just not well marked how to get to it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Looks like a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were in the area & didn't know what Wells State Park was. The woman at the gate told us we could drive through & look around, no charge, which we did. There's hiking trails, a nice lake with a clean beach & lots of camping sites. I imagine there's no hookups which isnt' for me but if that's your thing it looks like the sites were spacious & some had great views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scenic, quiet, affordable - June 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We only stayed here 1 night on our way to Quabbin to go fishing. We were given Site 26, since we were looking for something a little more isolated.
Pros:
It was a great spot, and we had no neighbors to our right or in front of us. Our site was very spacious. It was a very short walk to the bathroom. The bathroom near us had 2 toilets and a free shower. All of it was relatively clean. The staff did a quick drive-by during quiet hours and that was the last we heard of them. They left us alone which was good. Each site has a fire ring and a charcoal grill stand.
Cons:
We could hear cars in the middle of the night sometimes. They were far off as if coming from a local road or the highway. The only site that seemed bad was Site 1 which has a road to the left and right, and no trees in front or the left or right.
Great place that I would certainly visit again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DiscoveryRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wells State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wells State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing