We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Hot continental breakfast, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tube and workout room. Our room was nice but the bed was very hard and the shower had water come out both the shower and the facet so the tub filled up.
Next door to Cracker Barrel and down the street from UNO and Applebee's.
We have booked a return stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LpoolDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    120
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
167
130
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Pros - good selection at breakfast and plenty of hot and cold food available. Good location and not much traffic noise despite being close to major roads. Big room and comfortable bed.

Cons - we had a very noisy room next to the ice machine. We were woken up at about 6.30am by people collecting ice and we weren't able to get to sleep until about midnight because of people collecting ice. We are so confused about what guests need so much ice for?!?! Regardless, the ice machine should be relocated so that it isn't right outside the door of a guest room. Second big con is that the whole place smells of chlorine from the pool. Thirdly, the bathroom was dirty and tiles had mould on them. It felt like a public restroom and not the type of room that you would be comfortable walking bare foot into... Just dirty. Finally, the reception was unmanned when we arrived at 4pm and we had to wait around for quite a long time for someone to come and let us check in. Don't know why there wasn't someone at the desk at check in time?? It wasn't hugely inconvenient as we just browsed leaflets and chatted while we waited, but it didn't make us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is NOT near the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bare_spotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CISC, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, location and spacious rooms with comfortable beds. We strive to provide a property that is clean and well-appointed with service that is professional and accommodating. Since our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction, it is disappointing for us that you left the property with any “cons”. I would, however, like to thank you for your candid feedback. We are grateful for the time you spent detailing your experience as it helps us to improve. We welcome the opportunity to avoid any issues that could arise during your stay so please make us aware of any special preferences you might have prior to arrival. We always look at special requests first to ensure that we are assigning rooms located on an upper floor or away from an elevator/ice machine accordingly. As the renovation of all our guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas progresses this winter, I think you will especially enjoy that our pools are now salt water, which eliminates the chlorine odor, and our bathrooms will have brand new tile. Sometimes our commitment to our guests can lead us away from the reception desk as we assist with various needs. I'm so sorry no one was there to greet you! We are disappointed that we didn't provide you with the great stay that you should have experienced. We are confident that we can do better, so I hope you'll come back and see that we are truly committed to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We did not ask for a pet friendly room but got one. We were assured that it had been deep cleaned. It did have a strong odour of something rather strong and a bit like disenfectant but discovered that it was a the masking odour of a electrically powered scent. This place is overpriced. It is pretty ordinary. There were odd noises of something motorized outisde the window. Bathroom is sub-par (for the price).

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a pet friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CISC, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
First and foremost, thank you very much for your honest feedback. We take a great deal of pride in our property, and we are always looking for ways that we can improve. We would love to know how you booked your room originally, so we can double check that the information used to sell our rooms is accurate and as detailed as possible. We want to avoid this situation going forward, where a valued guest is reserved into a room type that doesn't meet their needs or expectations. Our pet-friendly rooms are cleaned differently, using bleach and other harsher chemicals, so we do keep air fresheners in these rooms. We will reevaluate this process and look for other ways to improve the experience without sacrificing the cleanliness. We are renovating all of our rooms including new tile, vanities and granite in the bathrooms, which should bring them up to par. We are very excited, and know that our guests will reap the benefits of this initiative. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback, and we hope you'll give us a second chance to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was my second stay here this year, this is a clean and fairly comfortable hotel. The room temp could be a lot cooler, I really wish the windows opened a little, however I guess for security they cannot. The temperature seemed to lock at around 72 even though the wall controls read lower, really nowhere near cool enough for me. I need to start carrying along my own portable fan. Also, the bed pillows are squares, cushy enough, but I found myself falling off them in the night. Weird. I can only imagine the exponential savings at purchasing pillows that are smaller than standard bed pillows, I must remember to pack my own pillow as well. And I was fortunate enough (not really) to be right near the elevator and the guest laundry, so I was entertained by the sounds of machinery.
I appreciate the Stonyfield yogurt at breakfast, and the fresh fruit variety.

Room Tip: If on the third floor, ask for a room away from the elevator because that is also where the laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeInTheGoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We've been to this Hotel a few times now and have always been pleased.The hotel is centally located in Sturbridge ma. and close to almost everything.
clean comfortable rooms , nice pool/jacuzzi area and a Complimentary breakfast make for a great stay.
being a retired military personnel I really appreciate that they offer a special Government rate for government employees/military personnel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KABBANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend In Sturbridge. Four families traveled together and we were given rooms near each other, as promised. The rooms are a good size and very clean, and the staff was extremely friendly. The kids had a blast at the pool and hot tub, and the parents enjoyed the outdoor patio. Breakfast was basic-- cereal, waffles, the usual, but comes with the room rate, which is already a great value. I highly recommend this Comfort Inn to anyone traveling in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We are residents of Sturbridge and stayed six nights at the Comfort Inn - Sturbridge due to an issue with our home. We were welcomed with a smile and the staff was extremely accomodating and very helpful. We have a pet and stayed in the building adjacent to the hotel. I was touched with the little doggie gift bag. The room was nice and large and very clean. A King size bed with crisp linen. The breakfast was fabulous. We felt very much at home. There is a nice bar in the hotel where you can have an evening drink and then walk over to the restaurant which is across the parking lot. There is a Wendy's, a gas station and everything is close to town. The hotel is very centrally located. A beautiful indoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: Sorry! I think they will be demolishing the building where we stayed in November 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosybobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CISC, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Due to popular demand, we will be keeping our pet friendly exterior corridor rooms following our renovation this winter.

Best regards, Tory Pucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
1.2 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.5 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Address: 215 Charlton Road, US 20, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Colonial Hotel Sturbridge
Comfort Inn Colonial
Comfort Inn Sturbridge
Sturbridge Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing