We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs new AC”
Review of Super 8 Sturbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Sturbridge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs new AC”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Other than that, not too bad. Pretty clean, with hardwood-looking floors instead of carpeting which is great. Had a nice view of the water off a balcony we were afraid to step on - old plywood - but it ended up being sturdy. Not sure what they used to clean the room but it absolutely reeked & took a while of having both doors open & a good breeze to get rid of it. Location is great, desk staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lyobov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    297
    122
    43
    30
See reviews for
241
233
55
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We're traveling cross country, staying at Days Inn. We decided to try this Super 8 since it is also part of Wyndham. We looked up the AARP rate and saw a 20% savings. However, when we got to the motel and asked for the AARP rate they mischarged us and gave us only 10% off which I didn't notice until I got into the room and checked it. An hour later when I called the desk and pointed this out they told me that the 20% was only an on-line rate. I offered to go on-line and make a reservation (lots of rooms available) but was told that I couldn't since I had already checked in. I was told to speak to the manager in the morning. When I spoke to the manager, Anthony, he told me that it was clearly only an on-line rate, implying that I should know better. I gave up, but re-checked on-line. I could not find anywhere that the AARP rate is only an on-line rate...it says "member benefits" rate for AARP. In fact the internet rate for "best available" is the same on-line as what I was quoted at the motel, so one would assume that it holds true for all rates..

So, your manager, Anthony, has cost you another customer. And it's not the money, it's the attitude and telling me that it's clear on the internet. It's not, and I even offered to go on-line and rebook.

I suggest you clarify this policy and let travelers know that they won't get the AARP on-line rate, if they just ask for the AARP rate at the motel; if that is indeed the case. If not you may want to have a talk with Anthony.

I will avoid Super 8 from now on. Anthony knows, but may not care.

Just another footnote: I told Anthony that before we had checked out a cleaning person barged into our room. He quickly apologized, but there is a communication problem with the staff. They should not be cleaning our room before we leave.

I hope this is helpful. All was nice except for the management.

Barrett Short


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Barrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozlo, Manager at Super 8 Sturbridge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for visiting us. I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. However, as it has been explained to you earlier, three times, you were not mischarged. Our walk-in AARP rate has always been and will always be 10%. To receive the 20%, you need to make your reservation through the internet or at AARP offices. You have informed Anthony that a cleaning person broke into your room while you outside your room with the door open. That was immediately looked into and our head housekeeper said no one was cleaning any rooms on that side of the building at the time of the incident. We did have maintenance personnel remodeling in a room a few doors down and walked by to gather materials but did not enter your room. You are entitled to how you perceive our employee's attitude, however, assessing this seems more as a strong inherent inclination toward the outcome of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
351 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent one night here after visiting Old Sturbridge Village. I am giving it 4 stars based on what it is ( a chain motel) and the renovations that are in progress. If you want luxury this is not for you. If you want a clean, reasonably priced, good sized room, with comfortable queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, and a bathroom that was recently done over, give this place a try. The condition of the room we were in wasn't bad, and yet they are getting ready to re-wallpaper and paint. Hopefully they will provide more comfortable chairs, new lamps,and full-sized pillows.

The extended continental breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages, and delicious make your own waffles. it has a great location with restaurants and stores within easy walking distance. It is about a ten minute walk (or a two minute ride) to Old Sturbridge Village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozlo, Manager at Super 8 Sturbridge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and for staying us while you were in Sturbridge. Yes, we definitely will be getting new lamps and all new furniture as well. I'm positive that you will appreciate our new look once we are done with our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.2 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
414 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#11 of 14 in Sturbridge
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sturbridge

Property: Super 8 Sturbridge
Address: 358 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cedar Lake in the heart of historic Sturbridge. Approx. 300 yards from the entrance to Old Sturbridge Village. Many rooms have a lake view. Every morning we offer a complimentary SuperStart continental breakfast for all guests. Free Wi-Fi/hi-speed internet in all rooms. We do have Whirlpool Suites and deluxe rooms to stretch out and relax in. We take great pride in our friendly and helpful staff. Sturbridge Host Conference Center is directly behind us. Restaurants next door and quick eats in walking distance. Antique, local gift shops and many other restaurants are very close as well as a repertory theater. We are pet friendly and offer early check in when possible, both with a fee, please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Super 8 Hotel Sturbridge
Super Eight Sturbridge
Sturbridge Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing