We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Birthday Party”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special Birthday Party”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I gave my wife a special Birthday party at the wayside in. It was in the separate room all the way to the right of the building.It was astounding! There were about 35 guests dining on filet mignon, salmon and chicken.We had a host bar and wine on the table, cake and champagne for the finale..Everyone commented on the size and quality of the meal, especially the filet.There was a fire in the fireplace with a sitting area in front of it where many people seemed to enjoy it immensely.
The wait staff was extraordinary lead by a woman with the name of Marina.Marina was the most professional, attentive caring wait staff person that I can ever remember

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvItaliaPesaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    42
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
41
59
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is an historic inn, very few rooms and the place is better known for dining and historic buildings/grounds. Rooms are relatively small and Spartan, but there was a window air conditioner as a concession to modern standards. Iffy WiFi. Staff were attentive and friendly. And breakfast included all standard menu in the meal voucher, with passably good coffee.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ones over the kitchen as the range vent is right underneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband I celebrated our wedding here. We simply loved it. They helped us a lot in organizing all the details of our special day. The prices are also good and they had a lot of ammenities for guests. We loved it!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabyhm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A favorite spot for traditional New England fare. You can absolutely immerse youself in the history here. The grounds are lovely anytime of the year. Must have drinks in the tap room. We have spent the night multiple times, in both the historic rooms and the regular rooms; all are very quaint. If you are looking for a fancy updated hotel, go somewhere else. This place is for those who want to feel some history and be part of a tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Whenever my in-laws or out of town guests come to visit we take them here. It's only a few miles from my Mom's house and it's definitely one of the highlights of the North Framingham/Sudbury area. If its a nice day I recommend taking a stroll around the grist mill and then walking along the paths towards the Martha Mary Chapel and ending up at the Wayside Inn. You can have a full meal or stop in at the tavern - both are great. My in-laws are from Spain and Puerto Rico and they have loved it - real New England charm at its finest. I've never stayed at the Inn, but we've eaten there many many times and it's good for family groups. It's not my personal favorite in terms of cuisine but it is my Mom's favorite and everyone else always seems to like it. I don't know if I'd travel from far away just for the Inn, but if you're going to be in the area its a good place to go.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I've never stayed at the Inn, but I've eaten here a few times. The food is not what you'd call adventurous, but it's not boring either. It's their take on traditional American favorites. It's well prepared, neither overly simple in the bland meat-and-potatoes style nor overly elaborate the way some places aim at foodies. Service is good too. Prices aren't bad for such a nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having been coming to the Inn for over 50 years since I was a child. Have stayed many,many times over the years. Have had breakfast, lunch, and dinner many times over. Was very disappointed during our weekend in Boston over the 11th. The inn (I know is over 300 years old), looked very run down. The lawn, gardens, flower beds looked especially disappointing. There was a long electrical wire hanging next to the front door. The guest rooms had towels that looked like George Washington could have used them, they were so threadbare. None of the typical fall decorations over the front door. Gift shop bare with few appropriate New England quaint items for purchase. The "innkeeper " was not the most hospitable manager.

Food was still very good. Had both breakfast & dinner, not disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 9 & 10 are the oldest in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongfellowWaysideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Longfellow's Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Elizabeth, thank you for the feedback. It's unfortunate that we didn't meet your expectations. After visiting us for so many years, we hope to keep providing the excellent atmosphere our guests have come to expect. As the Inn continues to age, we do our best to maintain the property and buildings, and we're sorry that they appeared unsatisfactory during your visit. We're taking steps to revitalize the grounds, including the addition of new plants and trees. Furthermore, we will be looking at each guest room and the amenities included, to make sure they always exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Sudbury
9.5 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Framingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
8.6 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellow's Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellow's Wayside Inn

Property: Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Address: 72 Wayside Inn Rd, Sudbury, MA 01776-3206
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longfellow's Wayside Inn is a historic non-profit Massachusetts Landmark. The Inn, built in the early 1700s, has served travelers of the Boston Post Road from the colonial era to today.The Inn offers historically appointed guest rooms, a full restaurant and bar, picturesque function and dining rooms, an outdoor canopy tent, museum exhibits, and several acres of gardens, historical buildings, and walking trails. The Wayside Inn is the perfect place to hold parties and celebrations, weddings, family reunions, or quiet getaways. The Inn also hosts several special events each season, including concerts and food and drink festivals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longfellow`s Wayside Hotel Sudbury
Longfellows Wayside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing