We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Blue Heron Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Turners Falls, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Tonight was our second time at this restaurant and once again it was fabulous! We split 3 small plates, the scallops,the tuna and the calamari paired with a nice white wine all were delightful and refreshing especially on the patio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy040205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    38
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Consistently Scrumptious”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Blue Heron Restaurant is one of the best places to go if you are looking for a high quality meal. The ingredients are local and the food is unbeatable. An outstanding atmosphere and setting. They have always been very friendly when my family and I go. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the mood for some delicious comfort food. Its only downfall is the prices, but I'm sure that you will find that it is worth it. Definitely five stars!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Count-of-Tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just right”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been to the Blue Heron a number of times for drinks and I am never disappointed, Their house made Bloody Mary mix is spicy and delicious, and the waitstaff is extremely helpful in pairing their yummy appetizers with the libations. Ever changing menu is great, atmosphere is low key fancy, with low lights and elegant settings, but not so stuffy that you can't have a good laugh or joke with the workers or other guests. Our community organization holds small meetings here and we love it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olivialeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“creative cuisine”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We've had the pleasure of dining at the Heron several times and just about each event was delightful (only once we were disappointed). The restaurant is inventive with its offerings and we like their use of local grown and produced produce and cheeses. We also like that it is a bit off the beaten path and really, much better than the offerings in Northampton. No rushing around here - it is a relaxed, but sophisticated atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Blue Heron can always be counted on for a creative and seasonal menu, and a wonderfully relaxing evening. It is absolutely something special the likes of which can't be found in nearby busy Northampton. Their meals have never disappointed, and they have a large wine selection complemented by creative cocktails. I highly recommend the Blue Heron.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KayJay317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Restaurant also viewed

South Deerfield, MA
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Blue Heron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing