We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tokeh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tokeh Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tokeh
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The beach here is just stunning....it is like being in the Caribbean! Long white sandy beaches and clean, warm water. We were there in rainy season and everywhere is damp. This is not exclusive to this property...with 90% humidity it is impossible to keep things dry.
The rooms were lovely and fresh with functioning AC, hot water and multi-channel TV. Very western standard and western price at $140 a night. You must remember this is a very underdeveloped country and so the cost to get supplies and maintain a relatively high standard is very high.
The food was delicious though the menu is limited to whatever is caught on the day. We found it best not to look at the menu and simply ask the friendly waiter what he recommended for dinner! It takes a while to cook it up so it might be best to order before starvation sets in! What we did eat was lovely and so so fresh.
As we were there off season, the resort was quiet. The manager (English guy) sent over a complimentary bottle of wine and dessert to my friend and I which was a lovely touch.
The staff were very attentive and helpful and you really get the impression the whole of Tokeh is just one big family trying to get back on their feet after years of war. Don't give out about the prices...you'd pay a lot more for a room and fresh fish in the Caribbean. Tokeh is trying to re-establish itself as a top class tourist destination and really is a little piece of paradise just an hour from the bustle of Freetown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

After the Sierra Leone Marathon and a torrential downpour, we were in need of a bit of luxury to rest our legs. We were not disappointed at Tokeh sands. The accommodation was the best we had in Sierra Leone, with air conditioning and nicely kept rooms. We had the house to ourselves with a balcony and lounge area. The food at the restaurant was good and we discovered the trick of ordering the food for a certain time to prevent the famished members of our group from eating their towels. The beach was pristine and incredibly beautiful. On the whole it was a wonderful experience and I would return in a heartbeat if I were back in Sierra Leone.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kristel958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just one hour drive from Freetown and you can enjoy the peacefulness of Tokeh... The resort fits in perfectly well with the natural environment, almost hidden by the vegetation. The staff is friendly, smiling and very attentive which is absolutely pleasant and worthy of a high-class hotel. The food is just amazing (and I am French!): fresh lobsters, jumbo prawns, calamari, crab... Bring your own recipes to the cook, he is willing to learn more :)
What I really love about this place? The spirit of this project. It's not just a resort indeed, it's a community-based project to promote tourism through building capacities of locals and make them part of it. It's creating local economic opportunities, improving social conditions and supporting the development of the village by respecting its natural environment.
Reviews about high prices do not consider the difficulty (and thus the cost) of bringing water, electricity, food... This place is remarkably managed and the ratio quality/price is more than satisfactory. I just love it and really encourage you to go there.

Room Tip: My favorite is definitely Potono ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurianne-FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We loved our time at Tokeh Sands!! The resort is set on a lovely stretch of beach and a short walk from both the local village and the stunning River Number 2 beach. We stayed in the beach huts, which are basic but functional and steps away from the water. There are some comments about the resort being overprice - it is true but then this is also true for most other hotels and restaurants in Sierra Leone which cater to expats and tourists so the price is really no surprise. The staff is friendly, the vibe really chilled out and the hammocks and the loungers on the beach are a really nice touch!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank London321a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is by far the prettiest and most consistant beach gettaway.
The food is very good and the prices are very fair.
It is a secure, safe and friendly guest house which is fully ran by the local community. There is a variety of different types of accomodation from tents to huts to suites. All very nice and clean.
The staff go out of there way to make you feel happy.
I think anyone who has complained about this piece of paradise is just being nasty and tight. It is very strange that people complain about the prices where there are many cheaper options all over the SierraLeone coastline which are clearly not the same standard

Room Tip: Beach huts are fantastic but the standard rooms are lovely if you can pay a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tracy_a673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My family has stayed here on a number of occasions. While the hotel is expensive, the beautiful setting, coupled with tranquility, make Tokeh Sands our favorite family get away in Sierra Leone! Unlike a lot of other beaches, the number of people on the beach--even on weekend days--is extremely limited (we've never see more than 20 people on the beach at any point in time). And despite what I've read in other reviews we have always had "good to excellent" food AND service at Tokeh Sands. Highly recommended for those wanting a weekend get away from Freetown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went for a yoga retreat this weekend, and loved the location and beach. But the hotel services were poor -- long waits to get served in the restaurant, and in the end got served something other than what we ordered, though we took it because we were hungry and cranky. Plus there was a music blaring from a local bar joint all night long -- until 6:30 or 7:00 am. The prices were high for the quality of the hotel -- and they add on the 15% GST, which jacks it up further. Not great, but not atypical for Sierra Leone, either.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanoiKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokeh
0.3 mi away
The Place at Tokeh Beach
14 mi away
Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel
0 mi away
Daltons Banana Guest House
Daltons Banana Guest House
#1 of 1 in Dublin Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Swiss Spirit Hotel & Suites Freetown
11.7 mi away
The Hub Hotel
The Hub Hotel
#4 of 15 in Freetown
106 reviews
14.1 mi away
Family Kingdom Resort
Family Kingdom Resort
#7 of 15 in Freetown
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokeh Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokeh Sands Beach Resort

Address: Main Beach Road | Tokeh Beach, Tokeh, Sierra Leone
Region: Sierra Leone > Western Area > Tokeh
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tokeh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing