We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I've now been to this campground three times; twice in the middle of the summer with 12 students and now in early june with 20 students and I can't say better things about the campground. It is the perfect place to take a family/kids where after a day at the beach or exploring town there is plenty to do there from the large soccer field, basketball hoops, play ground etc. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful and the facilities have always been some of the cleanest of any camp site I have stayed at. This is the perfect place for people and families to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
27
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Not sure why some complained so much but maybe it was their timing. After Labor Day the place was fine. The bathroom was clean but I could see how on a busy summer day it could be an issue if someone made a mess and they just hadn't gotten there yet. ALso the staff were fine, perfectly nice and informative. There are some skunks around but they are harmless. For $50 bucks a night you can sleep on MV. You can't expect the moon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is a clean, well run campground in a lovely forest ... but don't go for an undisturbed reconnection with nature. The grounds crew zips quickly around in motorized carts. Yellow earth-moving machinery is visible. One morning, I was awakened at 8 a.m. by a neighbor's lawn mower that was -- seriously -- as loud as a jet engine, with the leaf-capture system. That was soon to be followed by the sounds of an enormous weed-whacker and a high-powered leaf blower. The campground should have long since established relationships with neighbors around the quiet time it expects of its high-paying guests. Seriously, $50 for a tent site? But it's Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nissua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Our goal was to explore Martha's Vineyard so accomodations were not our priority so we chose this campground.
Upon arrival the staff was very courteous and professional. They described the campground facilities and rules. We had reserved a 2 room cabin for our family of 5 (8yo, 11yo & 13 yo children). The cabins were very nice with electricity & a small fridge. We cooked on the gas grill and used the 2 chairs and the picnic table to eat. I must note that skunks are overwhelming and would come immediately after we had dinner outside and pick on the scraps under the table! Not pleasant at all, but the following nights we would clean up immediately after dinner and the skunks would no longer visit us.
The bathrooms were fine.
The location of the compground was ideal for us. The camp ground is easily accessable by car & bike.
The camp rules are very fair regarding the quiet time of 11PM. Honestly, we were tired most evenings because we started our days at sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvmvmvNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My family and I stayed for 5 nights at the MVFC. I had camped there years ago with friends. Our experience was really positive. Our son is 6 and loved the fact that he could run and ride his bike around the camp and meet other children. More freedom than in our Boston suburb neighborhood. The car traffic is minimal and drivers are cautious. The camp is extremely quiet and night. You can stay up and hang out near the fire, or read while your kids gently slumber. The showers are clean and hot. The camp makes it easy to keep your area clean with ample recycling and dumpsters in convenient, but slightly out of the way places. There is free WI-FI and a beautiful playground. We stayed in a cabin, which was comfortable yet we still had the camping vibe. Some meals were at the site, others out in restaurants. It was easy to get to various parts of the island and towns. Bike baths are near by as well as buses. This family run place is great and the staff extremely nice. If you forget anything there is a convenient store with supplies and morning coffee. Thumbs up MVFC! See you next year. Heather Hurd- Medford , MA.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherHMedford_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed for 1 night at a campsite, and 4 nights in a one room cabin. I haven't been camping in a very long time, and didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews. I found the staff very helpful and kind. I didn't experience any over zealous enforcement of rules. It has a very family centered feel. The bathrooms were clean. The cabin was perfect - electricity makes camping much better! I would come here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We have been camping for over 25 years throughout New England.
We have seen every type of campground from filthy to resort like.
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground is by far our favorite.
The bathrooms are always clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Everything you could want is right at the store, and location is perfect.
This place is great for families!
That is why we have been coming here for the last 15 years and recommend MVFC to everyone who camps!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
1.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
788 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
934 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
3.0 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Vineyard Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Family Campground

Property: Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Address: 569 Edgartown Vineyard Haven Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground is the only campground on Martha's Vineyard. Located just 1 1/2 half miles from the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal, we offer spacious wooded sites with picnic tables, fireplaces, and hookups to accommodate tents or RVs, as well as camping cabin rentals. Amenities include restrooms with hot showers, laundromat, store, recreation hall and playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Family Campground Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing