We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Nearby Hotels
The Clark House(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanover House(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charles & Charles(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion House(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crocker House Inn(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$441
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$418
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pequot Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treehouse Lodge(Woods Hole)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House(Woods Hole)(Great Value!)
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
26
23
9
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
23
9
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storethe main lodgebike trailertoilet stallsmartha's vineyardbasketball hoopcamp groundfamilies with childrenoak bluffspublic transportationnew englandcabinessentialsmv
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Pros:
- Affordable way to see the Vineyard
- Clean raked site
- Playground on site
- Camp store had items you might forget to bring at a very reasonable price
- Friendly staff
- Electricity and water at our site
- Vineyard Haven is walkable, but the other towns and the beach are not

Cons:
- long walk to the restroom
- skunks where everywhere, but very friendly and I was told no one ever gets sprayed
- sand mites or something bit our kids, don't play on the ground

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We always stay here when we bike over and around the island. Nice sites and good quiet time at 10:00pm. The showers are fine and the place is clean. We like that it's on the bike trails so the location is good for us to bike to the beaches and dinners out at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookreadermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Two of us stayed here for two weeks at the end of September. It was perfect for what we needed and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived after a very long flight from the UK and then drive from NY to see how fantastic the cabins were and how well organised the site was. Dan and Sue (the owners) could not have been more accomodating, and would go out of their way to help us out with anything we needed. We were there to fish the Bass Derby and through staying at the site have met several groups of people that we now call friends and will hopefully meet up with again in the future.

Another lovely touch was getting home from work a few days before Christmas and finding a Christmas card from Dan and Sue. I have never had that from any other place I have stayed!

If you prefer the more rustic approach to having a holiday on an amazing island then this place should deffinately be on your bucket list!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sancreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The campground is... well, a campground. We stayed in a cabin which was nice -- they are small but clean and a whole lot more comfortable than a tent. Unfortunately no en-suite bathroom -- you have to walk 2-3 minutes to the main building for that. Each cabin has a fire ring, picnic table, 2 plastic lawn chairs, 1 matching plastic lawn end-table, a small refrigerator with workable freezer, a bare-bulb light, and several power outlets. The bunks had a 4-inch vinyl covered foam mattress, which is less comfortable than a hotel bed, but better than a leaky air mattress. The door has no lock, which seemed odd until we realized that tents don't either.

There is no inside table or seating, so a stay during a rainy time would be less than ideal. The porch is pretty big (plenty of room for several people to sit).

The campground is convenient to the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal (less than 2 miles, easy to bike).

The bathrooms are extremely clean, although I found the toilet cubicles very cramped and there's no handicapped stall either.

So far so good. The owner/manager keeps bird feeders in the tree outside his room, which happens to be above the bathroom doors. Every night there were 4-5 skunks munching away at whatever fell out of the birdfeeders. In addition there was always a skunk wandering around the cabins after dark and I even saw one during the day. We were assured that they won't spray us "unless we provoke them" and various campers were told no one has been sprayed in 2, 4, 5, years (the number varied). Once you worked up the courage to calmly walk past the skunks it was no big deal, but it would be a lot nicer if they got rid of them.

I got the impression that the owner/manager doesn't particularly like campers, and maybe likes having the skunks around. There is a definite "Fawlty Towers" feel to the guy. He's also big on rules, which is probably why the place is neat and clean.

The BBQ grill is a low-end gas grill that has a side burner. It worked but wasn't in great shape. They provided BBQ tools (tongs, scraper, spatula, lighter).

Don't forget to bring your own lantern if you want to use the picnic table or grill after dark, and you'll want a flashlight for walking to the bathroom.

Despite the picture on the front of their website, it's not on (or near) the ocean. The campground is in the woods a couple of miles inland.

Overall it's pretty nice for a campground, and easy to recommend. Just watch out for the skunks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MNOPQRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having read all the reviews I was anxious about coming to the campground but we love camping and this one is the only one on martha's vineyard so we decided to give it a go.
Although we are all in our twenties we did appreciate it was a family campground so we tried to stay within the 10pm-8am 'quiet hours' that were indicated to us when we checked in. Staff were very helpful and explained the 'rules' in a nice manner. They also were not hesitant to assist us when we were looking for things to do around martha's vineyard. The campground was very clean, as were all the facilities. If you want a cheap vacation on martha's vineyard - this is the way to do it - helpful staff, clean bathrooms, nice campgrounf - not too shabby

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews