We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value on the Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Lisbon, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value on the Island”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the campground in a cabin for 4 nights this week. Very clean, staff was just o.k. We did not bring a vehicle, did not need one. We brought our bikes and easily made it through Vineyard Haven, Oak Bluffs, West Tisbury, down to South Beach and over to Edgartown. If you get tired, just hop on the bus. There is a stop at the campground! So convenient! For those looking for groceries, etc, the town is a "dry town" meaning there is no alcohol sold at the stores. Great family campground, make sure to go to Aquinnah and see the beach and cliffs.

Room Tip: If renting a cabin, G13 was at the end of the road and so quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenlabonte34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    21
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tavares
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Terrific campground. Clean, quiet, well spaced, level sites with all the amenities. Spotless bathhouse.

We loved our stay and would return. Owners are lovely people and enjoy a significant number of "permanent" seasonal renters. Close to everything: alpaca farm is 5 minutes away, Vineyard Haven is 5 minutes, & a bus stop is right at the entrance to the park.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is one of the cleanest and most well run campgrounds I have been to. The staff was helpful and eager to give a recommendation to just about anything you asked them about (Thanks for the tip about Back Door Donuts they were AMAZING) The owner runs a tight ship but as a military family we really appreciate this and respect that it is what is needed to keep a campground as nice as this one. If you are a courteous camper you will run into no issues with the staff. The resident skunks are very bold but if you take your trash nightly to the dumpster they were not an issue at your campsite. The campground is very conveniently located to get to either Oaks Bluff or Vineyard Haven in just a few minutes and the bus stops right at the front entrance to the campground. We loved our stay so much we put in a request for August 2014 to come back. I think we have found a new family summer tradition.

Room Tip: There is only one Bath house with toilets so keep that in mind if you go to the bathroom a lot you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I worked at the campground during the summer through a BUNAC work america programme.
The campground offers fair rates with a shop which sells basic food items like bread and milk for a lot cheaper than the rest of the island. Although one of the managers comments need to be taken with a pinch of salt (not only to staff, but also to guests), the Campground is an amazing place to work at and to stay and there are lots of things to do on the island (enough to keep me entertained for three months). It is generally a very happy place to stay where most campers are delighted with the facilities and their holiday experience. Many campers visit the island by bike, if this is the case, I would recommend visiting in june and september when it is good temperatures but there are less people and getting a cabin which is around $135 per night (as then you dont need to set up a tent or carry the tent when its hot). The best places to visit from the campground are long point beach, south beach, Edgartown, menemsha sunset, chappaquidick island. You can get to all of these on a bike and if you are too tired on the way back, there is always a bus which can take you back for a maximum of $3. To eat; great Pizza place in Vineyard haven, Lookout Tavern in Oak Bluffs and then Black Dog for a huge breakfast. The sandwiches from Humphrey's are also a must!

Its a great place if you love a bit of adventure, fresh air and want to explore.

I would also highly recommend the BUNAC experience of working at the campground for others who want a fun time, they provide accommodation and Sue is an absolute delight to work for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emilyj20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect for kids. Great playground. Friendly people and centrally located. You can bike almost anywhere. The campground store has almost anything you might have forgotten. We stayed in the two room cabin. I've posted pictures as I could not find it online before we visited. Bring shower shoes, an air mattress, clothes line, and bikes. Campground has washers and dryers. Minimal wifi good for checking e-mail only. This is our second time and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OellaMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had a gat experience. We rented a 6 person/2 room cabin for 3 nights and we loved it. The beds were much more comfy than I thought they were going to be (and I can be a bit of a princess). The staff we very friendly and the grounds were well kept. We were fairly close to the main building with washrooms and showers and never had to wait for a shower. Loads of families around so my son had a great time playing kickball and making new friends. The only thing this place needs is a swimming pool. The beaches on the island were not very conducive to swimming so it would have been really nice for my son to have had some place to swim.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDNTravelerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UPTON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We’ve only camped at Nickerson State Park in Brewster before so had little to compare this campground with. Overall, it was a good experience. The owners and other office workers were very helpful. Our site was a good size and we were able to fit our two small tents and a dining tent with plenty of space. The fire ring does not have a grill (I had emailed earlier to ask and received a prompt reply), so I brought an old oven grill and that fit just fine. We had a site with electricity and water. We shared the faucet and electricity hub with three other sites. I had brought a three-prong extension cord (again I had emailed and gotten a quick reply) and there were two outlets for 3-prong cords and two outlets for what I assume are RV plugs. These were first come first served. We had four close neighbors. There were cabins across from us and they were unoccupied during the week but filled on the weekend. Unlike my last stay at Nickerson where I had an unusually small site with little space for parking, the parking spot for the site was good.

There are some nice sized co-ed outdoor showers that our group used exclusively. There are also two inside showers. Although the toilet stalls were small, management provided disposable seat covers, which I thought was a very nice touch. The bathrooms were frequently messy and busy but not out of the ordinary as there was only one bathroom for each gender.

The camp store sold ice ($3 a bag) and wood ($5 a bundle). The bundle was more than enough to cook a meal on and to roast s’mores when dinner was over.

We didn’t bring any electronics so didn’t use the free wi-fi but there were plenty of other campers sitting in the chairs provided outside of the camp store mornings and evenings.

We unfortunately had an unusual heavy rainstorm while we were there. I was concerned that our tarps were going to fail so I asked at the office for a one-bedroom cabin for the night. I was able to rent one at a reduced rate for the night. The cabin was very nice and we appreciated getting out of the rain and using the good size refrigerator to refreeze our ice packs and keep our food cold for the night. The cabin looked and smelled like new. It was very cute and clean (as was our site). At $840 a week, the cabin is significantly less than any other lodging on the island, but significantly more that a week with a tent ($315).

I will definitely return to Martha’s Vineyard Family Campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Matiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
1.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
6.0 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Vineyard Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Family Campground

Property: Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Address: 569 Edgartown Vineyard Haven Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground is the only campground on Martha's Vineyard. Located just 1 1/2 half miles from the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal, we offer spacious wooded sites with picnic tables, fireplaces, and hookups to accommodate tents or RVs, as well as camping cabin rentals. Amenities include restrooms with hot showers, laundromat, store, recreation hall and playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Family Campground Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing