We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The 1720 House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mansion House(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Harbor Motel(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nashua House Hotel(Oak Bluffs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Landing(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treehouse Lodge(Woods Hole)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
110
20
16
7
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
20
16
7
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomlincoln roombeech treeyellow roomb bmartha's vineyardbreakfast tableyogurtmain streetlovely bed and breakfastblack dog tavernair conditioningcommon areasferry terminalwalking distancehome away from homefantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We stayed in the Red Room which the booking websites say has a queen size bed and a TV. The bed was a full or a double (which is listed on the Inn's website). The TV was a portable with about a 4" screen. (I paid more for the queen and a TV, oh well). The website said I would get either the Red Room or the Garden Room (same price). We saw the Garden Room and can't figure out how they could be the same price. The Garden Room is more secluded, has a queen bed, a 12" or so TV, and an attached private bathroom (the Red Room's private bathroom is across the hall). We met the owner Abby the first day and she didn't seem to be a friendly person. We went out to dinner and a movie and returned about 11pm. When my headlights hit the window we saw Abby get up and turn off all the lights in the house and also the outside lights. Very strange, we felt like kids sneaking into the house. The room was clean and the manager Peter was a friendly nice guy......Another strange thing was a collage in the living room (partly concealed behingd the couch and not hanging on a wall). It seemed to be a Lorena Bobbitt (sp) collage, even with a bloody tissue. Why is this in eyesight?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonkamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Soon after arrival my friend and I had a nickname for the innkeeper Abby: Cruella. Why does somebody that extremely unfriendly, uncaring and rude open a B&B? And: don't count on the bikes - they are in a very very poor condition and both had flat tires for a couple of days. Only think of booking the blue room (which is sold as a double room) if your are single or have an affinity for closets with a bed. The shared bathroom of the blue and brown room is just terrible, extremely small and disgusting. Our room (we stayed there for a week) wasn't cleaned for three days in a row, but at least we were asked whether we need fresh towels. One night we woke up because we smelled smoke: Abby was sitting in the kitchen, smoking (she's smoking a lot, and yes, she's smoking INSIDE the house, we saw that quite often) and making toast - and the whole house just stunk! On arrival nobody was there, just a key was lying on a desk. And also in the evening nobody showed us around or gave us informations. In general you don't feel welcome - the innkeeper gives the impression that she's just interested in the money you leave. But Peter, the manager, is a really nice guy!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The 1720 House is a living example of a vanished past. Before there were cars, being close to the harbor really mattered, and the 1720 House is an easy walk from the ferry and the village of Vineyard Haven. Before people grew so big, doors and rooms were small and you will need to keep your elbows in as a direct consequence of all the protein and orange juice you've ingested. And before there was a USA, there was a copper beech tree growing in the yard of the 1720 House. It's still there!

All of these are part of the fun of staying at the 1720 House in Vineyard Haven. I liked lounging in the shade, walking to town, and then biking down the road to West Chop lighthouse.

Breakfast was simple, Abby (our host) was funny and knowledgeable, and Martha's Vineyard has plenty to offer a visitor. If you want to travel back in time (with free wireless internet) the 1720 House is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Timeless_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I've stayed at the 1720 House at least once every summer for the past five years and was appalled by some of the nasty reviews on this site. No, this is not the Four Seasons. This is indeed a very old house (built in, um, 1720; thus the name) with floors that bend and slope a bit, corners that are not truly square, plumbing that's sometimes cranky, but still. I find the place lovely, charming, and totally unique. If you want new, slick, predictable and soulless accommodations, you will probably be happier elsewhere.

The 1720 House is conveniently located on Main Street, within walking distance of downtown and the Vineyard Haven ferry, ideal if you don't wish to bring your car, or can't get a reservation on the car ferry. Normally, my husband and I stay in the lavish and beautiful Lincoln Room, with its big private bathroom, which I heartily recommend. But, this year, our plans failed to firm up promptly, we booked at the very last possible moment and could only get the smallest room in the house (the Blue Room, with a shared bath). I'm glad we came anyway. The Blue Room was small, but nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed. And we loved the white cotton bathrobes in the closet, nicer than the ones we're usually given in the swankest hotels. Plus, on the day we arrived, the wonderful manager, Peter, was installing a new air conditioner, which was mighty welcome on one of the hottest days of the year. Thank you, Peter. We slept like babies.

The garden of the 1720 house is gorgeous--crowned by an enormous copper beach, the oldest on the island--with plenty of inviting places to sit and read a book or share a glass of wine with a friend. (If you smoke, you are allowed to smoke here, outside, not inside the house as one of the other reviewers wrongly implied. Ashtrays are thoughtfully provided.) There's also a lovely screened porch where I enjoy reading the morning paper while drinking a cup of good coffee. The self-service, continental breakfast is not fancy, true. But if you want a hot breakfast, you can get one at one of the many nearby restaurants, conveniently located a few steps down the street.

Abby, the owner of the 1720 House, is one of the warmest people I've ever met--the complete opposite of a snob--with a keen-eyed appreciation of the history, personalities, and foibles of Martha's Vineyard. True, she's a bit acerbic--no phony smiles and false bonhomie here!--but if you enjoy innkeepers with wit, style, and a been-there, done-that eyebrow cocked above a warm but piercing eye, you will love Abby. Not welcoming?! While I was there, she invited a lonely single guy to join the tail-end of her dinner party (for fresh peaches and ice cream) and poured him a glass of champagne, to boot. It was excellent champagne, too. I know, because I bought it.

Speaking of champagne, please remember that Vineyard Haven is a dry--yes, dry!--town. So, if you would like to have a glass of wine with your dinner, a restorative cocktail, or a nightcap before you retire, you must BYOB. (Forewarned is forearmed.) There's a good liquor store in Falmouth (on the road to the Palmer parking lot). Or you can ride a bicycle, or take a taxi, to one of the many liquor stores in Edgartown. But, Martha's Vineyard being an island, your drink of choice will be far more expensive if you wait to buy it there. You should also be aware that some of your favorite products may not be available, and pack accordingly. Tinted moisturizer: yes. MD Skincare All-In-One Tinted Moisturizer Sunscreen SPF 15 (Medium): no way.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wwwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the 1720 house. Abby, the owner talked me into booking a room becasue she said not many other places would be open in early April. She also promised a room with a King sized bed- which was a proiority. When we arrived at the inn, she had put us in a room with a double bed which smelt like smoke (we are non-smokers). Bikes were also unavailable she said "they were not ready for the season" . When we were leaving, we wanted to walk arounda bit before boarding the ferry, she made a rude remark about how we should probably go and come back another time in the summer...

Overall, the stay was do-able becasue of the wonderful manager, Peter and the other guests in the house. However, the owner, Abby, should be in a different field of buisness that does not involve interaction with others!

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank ela361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews