We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOUTIQUE HOTEL LIVES UP TO ITS NAME”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at Mansion House last week, a three-night stay, and were enchanted. Our welcome was warm and genuine, our over sized room was spotless, well appointed and comfortable and the hospitality was just about perfect—not cloying—but sincere and endured throughout the four days and three nights. From the strong WiFi connection, incredibly comfortable bed, sumptuous linens and towels, superb amenities and impeccable housekeeping, we were charmed. Since we were up and out before 8am each morning, we had no opportunity to indulge in the complimentary breakfast buffet, but the strategic location on Main Street provided several spots for early morning coffee, a wide selection of dining options, including the wonderful on-site Zephrus restaurant (where breakfast is served). One of the absolute highlights was spending early mornings and evenings on the heavenly rooftop Cupola, overlooking all of Vineyard Haven harbor and the downtown area. This is an ideal spot for photography, plein air painting, sun bathing (as it is well accoutered with lounges, table and seating), reading, socializing or doing just about anything with an eye-popping backdrop of Vineyard Haven in all its glory.

In addition to being located at the head of Vineyard Haven's Main Street, which is chock full of great boutiques, stores and provisioning stops, the Mansion House is ideally located one block from the Steamship ferry dock and theMartha's Vineyard Chamber office, where maps, good advice, brochures and all sorts of great information are readily available.

At Mansion House, guests also have the opportunity to utilize the on-site health club, which is not tremendous, but very adequate and well-equipped. There is also an on-site Spa (leased out to an operator). While we were there, finishing touches on several new first-floor dog-friendly rooms and suites were being completed. In addition to everything foregoing, the Mansion House also provides nearby complimentary, off-street parking, unheard of these days.

The Mansion House is the perfect lodging option, whether for business or pleasure, for all seasons and we read about its quiet season specials, which seemed well priced enough to motivate an "other season" visit to the Vineyard. We felt pampered and well looked after by the front desk and housekeeping staff and also had the opportunity to visit with the owners, who were quite visible and engaged in the operations (but not so much so that they could not take the time to make an already warm welcome even warmer and more personal).

We loved our visit here and highly recommend Mansion House for every kind of Vineyard visit, whether business, wedding, leisure, romantic or otherwise. I cannot think of anything the staff or owners could possibly have done to improve upon our perfect Martha's Vineyard getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Harbor for that "extra special touch!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

If you plan a visit to Martha's Vinyard you must stay at the Mansion House
Five star service, excellent food, hot breakfast included , very charming the views from the fourth floor suits are breathtaking
We are in heaven.

Room Tip: Any room is great no worries the island is full of excitement do not waste time Indoors go out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mansion House this past weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Nothing on Martha's Vineyard comes cheap, and while this was pricey, it was not as high as many other options. Plus it is right on Main Street in Vineyard Haven, a good breakfast buffet is provided every morning, and complimentary access to the gym and pool are available to all guests of the hotel. Rooms were very nicely sized, and everything was clean, pristine, and as expected. If only the weather would have cooperated! I would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook Main Street or face out to the harbor, so be sure to specify if you care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We've stayed at this Hotel at least 20 times. It is clean, it has a good restaurant and free Wifi. There is also a Spa in the premises. What else could you ask for. It is conveniently located at walking distance to a supermarket, shopping and the Ferry. The best value for your dollars.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Mansion House previously. The hotel is very clean and the suite was very nice. We were on the Vineyard for a friend's birthday party and the mansion house served well as our home base.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in a suite and it was definitely the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taramcd38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We try to escape to the Vineyard a couple of times a year and have stayed at a wide variety of places. However, for the last three years, we've found that we only want to stay at the Mansion House. First, they are steps from the ferry, so super convenient. They are in the heart of adorable Vineyard Haven, the sweetest of the Vineyard's shopping districts. The hotel also includes free yoga classes for my enlightened spouse and an indoor pool for me so I can get in some laps during the chillier shoulder season.

The front desk is helpful, warm, professional, and unfailingly kind.

Don't neglect to take advantage of the roof deck. It has a spectacular view with comfortable lounging furniture and tables.

They also have a bike shed where you can lock up your bike if you bring one. You can also rent one half a block away.

Room Tip: We always stay in one of the king-sized ocean view rooms on the thirds floor. They have french door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZenoCalaveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just returned to the mainland after a 3 day getaway at the Mansion House. From my first encounter with the front desk staff when calling to make the reservation last month, through our visit, MH never disappointed!

Within moments of stepping off the ferry, we arrived on the lovely wrap-around porch of the inn. It is a four minute walk from the dock. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff, and allowed an early check in. Our room was on the fourth floor, with a beautiful view of the harbor. The bathroom was nice, with marble floor, granite counter top, and stall shower. The fridge and coffee maker in the room were a welcome and practical touch. The queen bed was very comfortable, and the linens were top notch. The hotel is very clean, and non-smoking.

The common areas of the inn are all lovely. We quickly found our favorite spot, atop the roof on the cupola deck. Well appointed with tables and chairs, and chaise lounges for napping in the sun, and a 360-degree view, it is absolutely lovely.

We visited the lower level where the spa and health club are located. The pool is 75' long, and there is a small hot tub along side it. Both were very clean and well maintained. The health club and spa are also used by non-guests and paying members, but this wasn't bothersome to us at all.

For those who are concerned with environmental sustainability (as we are), you will be pleased to learn that the Mansion House has a geothermal heating and cooling system, and other efficiency retrofits. I didn't learn this until after we returned home, however, so it wasn't a factor in choosing to stay there, nor did I notice any mention of it in the building. My recommendation to the Goldsteins is to brag about their green-ness a bit more! I recommend that prospective guests do some googling about the history of the old hotel, as it is quite fascinating!

A hot buffet breakfast at Zephyrus, the hotel restaurant, is included in the room rate, which is a real bonus, as dining out on the island is quite expensive. The eggs, bacon, and sausage we're all wonderful, but our favorite was the egg and focaccia strata that the chef made on Thursday. Delicious! The buffet also offered lots of breads, fruits, cereals, yogurt, etc.

The desk staff - especially Tomas - were so helpful and cheerful, they really made our stay extra pleasant. They provided us with maps, and lots of info on what to see and do.

I travel several days per month for my work, and I can assure you that the Mansion House is a wonderful property, and the owners and staff will do everything they can to make your stay a great one!

Room Tip: Fourth floor provides great views! In the cooler months, ask for a fireplace room at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your great advice that we should spread the word about our
geothermal heating, cooling and Energy Management Systems. We're very proud
of our efforts and agree with you that is should be part of a Vineyard
Visitor's lodging choice.

We love the Vineyard and see it as a place where our guests come to enjoy
its beauty. We know our guests are our partners in the success of the
Vineyard. Whether on our Cupola deck watching the sailboats, participating
in Sunrise Yoga or just strolling Main Street, the Vineyard remains a number
one destination because it is not Disney Land, but a wonderful seaside town
that offers a window into life in a small place where all of us are
responsible for its future.

Thank you again. Comments like yours put smiles on all our faces and
reinforce our determination to do our extra best for each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
8.4 mi away
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
#1 of 4 in Edgartown
699 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: £83 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing