We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and helpful friendly staff!”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best hotel and helpful friendly staff!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

From the first step onto the island this hotel had it all. We were greeted by the most helpful friendly staff a hotel guest could even imagine! The room was incredibly clean and everything down to the personal dinner recommendations from the beautiful girls at the front desk was amazing. Erin was so attentive to our daily agenda filled with local tips of beautiful walks and views ( especially with a baby in tote) and Missy, who was able to provide the quickest directions and call the best cab driver ( All island Taxi). Bravo Mansion house and all of your staff for going above and beyond our expectations! The staff was always smiling and kept my large family very happy!

Room Tip: If you are traveling for a special occasion, mention this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    156
    38
    17
    26
See reviews for
193
381
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I agree with the positive reports listed previously. We had a room overlooking the water with small balcony. The room was nicely furnished, very comfortable, and not too noisy being near the elevator, with children down the hallway and dogs in tow. The staff was excellent. The location is convenient without a car. We would come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njp n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBRIDGE
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Mansion House is a charming hotel - it has the feel of a small bed and breakfast, but the amenities and facilities of a much larger property. I recently stayed here for a winter week-end. There is not much going on at the Vineyard in early March, but what is going on is almost all within walking distance of the Mansion House. Our room was lovely with a small balcony overlooking the main street (water views were available for additional cost). The free breakfast buffet was nice - lots of fruit and other healthy choices. They have a very nice spa and gym attached and free classes at the gym were included with the stay - I took a really good yoga class on Sunday morning. The staff was nice and helpful and there is a parking lot in the back (not all that important in the winter, but highly valuable as the island gets busier).

Room Tip: In the off season, a room on the street side was quite nice. These are the lowest priced rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I highly recommend Mansion House because the staff is extremely kind, great room, huge mirror in bathroom & awesome steam room! They let us extend our check out time free of charge. Convenient location, in walking distance to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverythingEVNGLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The rate for one day in the month of march was $149.00 we called and asked about the pet policy. They said that it was avaliable and gave us a price with tax of $173.00. It was asked if we had a dog and we told that it was a small dog. They "forgot" to mention a $75.00 pet "fee"... $75.00 ???? this is 50% of the price of the stay. When questioned, the attendent made me feel unconfortble for ask how it could be 50% of the hotel price. He was unreasonable and stated that the room costed $380.00 during the summer and the pet "fee" was the same.
But , the reality remains.... in March, this place charges 50% more for one nigth stay becouse you have a pet. It is not pet friendly if the customer feels penalized for having his dog with him.
Very desapoited!

Room Tip: if you have a dos.... dont go in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fabiobertuol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
With a bit of sleuthing, I confirmed that the reviewer above DID NOT stay at Mansion House. Fair enough. He called last night and spoke to two Mansion House Associates. There is a ONE time only fee, whether you and your pet stay in July or January, 1 day or 10 days, we still go into the room after the pet leaves and make sure that the following guest has no hint or evidence of someone's pet! While we love our furry friends, not every Mansion House guest appreciates pets or pet dander: therefore after the departure of any pet in our pet friendly rooms we do extra cleaning. We hope he still visits the Vineyard, by either leaving his pet at home or finding lodging that meets his needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stumbled upon Mansion House about 5 years ago and we have come back every winter since. We returned today from yet another relaxing stay! Just a short walk from the Ferry, Mansion House is surrounded by cute shops, eateries and ocean views. We love to shop and then return to the pool facilities. The steam room, pool and hot tub have always been in working order and it could not be any cleaner. The rooms are immaculate, large and beautifully decorated. Our room seemed brand new this time. We had a room with a little den with freanch doors that had its' own pull out sofa, tv and mini fridge, and our 11 year old was in heaven!The beds are comfortable and the linens are top notch. There is also a nice library room that has a tv and chess set. The staff is professional, warm and personal. Last year I left my Pandora bracelet on the nightstand and it arrived in the mail 2 days later. No need to look elsewhere-this place has it all! The restaurant was being renovated, but they still provided a decent continental selection in the library. If you find anything to complain about I would be very surprised! Thank you Mansion House... we have been house-bound from these storms this winter and looking forward to spending a night with you pulled us through! See you soon!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with the ocean view-very serene. The street rooms are for those who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke44Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My spouse and I stay here several times a year. Every season is the perfect season. It's a hotel with an inn-like intimacy. Understated elegance. Also has a small and clean gym and pool. Staff are consistently hospitable and welcoming. It is my most recent visit over Valentine's this year that prompted me to write a review. Before I realized I left my i-Pad behind, Jim Cleary, house manager not only called my home before I got there, but also tried the restaurant he knew we talked about going to prior to getting on the ferry. Though he didn't reach me, his efforts were another demonstration of how the staff operates. The inn has a wonderful cupola/roofdeck with tables/chair and panoramic view of harbor where you can bring up a bottle of your own Champagne and play Scrabble, etc. It's quiet yet in the center of town. Bunch of Grapes Bookstore (Bill Clinton and Obama family stop here each visit) is nextdoor. A sushi restaurant with a renowned chef is slated to open downstairs this spring. Ferry is 1 block down the hill. Rates are reasonable for what is offered. I could go on, but won't for selfish reasons. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
652 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing