We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming original with much comfort”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“charming original with much comfort”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A charming original with the all comfort you would expect. Immacculate appearance of the rooms and very comfortable. Very friendly staff at the front desk. The hotel, nevertheless did not meet 100% of our expecations. While smoking is not allowed in the rooms, other visitors were at liberty to smoke on the balcony which prevented us from opening the balcony door. Also, and in particular because of the immaculate appearance, we were surprized to find that the bathroom sink was not in proper working order. The complimentary breakfast is actually a detraction and does the hotel little justice. And finally, small vase of flowers or a complimentary refreshment in the room would have given the stay that personal touch and made the otherwise fabulous stay perfect!

Room Tip: try to get a south facing room to the harbor. North side rooms have a view onto the charming shoppin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muralto60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    155
    37
    16
    25
See reviews for
188
368
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My daughter
and her husband live on the island. Everyone time we visit them we have stayed at The Mansion House. It is an outstanding hotel in every way, but especially beginning with the front desk staff.
The rooms are immaculate and spacious. I would recommend this facility to anyone. We are in our eighties, but there are many families enjoying it. They even feature a few pet-friendly rooms.

Room Tip: We always try to reserve a bedroom plus on the first floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I think it is great to see the environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice to stay on the Vineyard. Beautiful interior on all floors, well maintained rooms, great location, friendly and courteous staff. The view off the roof and the opportunity to sit, sip and enjoy is very special. Great restaurants are just a few steps from the front door and the bus route service that covers the entire island eliminates the need for an automobile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our third time staying with the fine folks at the Mansion House and for the third time, we have been blown away by their friendliness, attention to detail, and professionalism. The hotel itself is a few steps away once you get off the ferry. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate with views from every window. Our children loved the heated pool in the lower level fitness area... and I loved the hot tub, sauna and steam room. Jim Cleary, the general manager, is genuine, gracious and sincerely helpful. We can't imagine staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one.
See more room tips
Green Features: Gentle reminders to shut off A/C and re-use towels. Overall very "green."
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marycopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My 82 year old mother, sister and I spent a few days at the Mansion house. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. We felt at home! Loved our suite and location. We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Beautiful suite! Great views of the water.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recyle bins but didn't spend much more time focused on this. Just loved the charm of the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first trip to The Vineyard and the Hotel and its Staff made this such a great vacation. As it was off season (late April) we put the car on the Ferry and hoped there would be parking. We were(un) fortunate in that as my wife has accessibility issues we had a badge that enabled us to park. However even so we could not always get close to the hotel. For anyone else I would suggest leaving your car in the facility on the Mainland and then using public transport which was widely available.
We had an accessible room and it was so clean and fresh with lots of space and a decent terrace over the street. There was no noise at all even when ferries were unloading. I used the on site facilities such as the Gym which was well equipped and even though the hotel was busy I had no problem finding equipment to use.
The staff at reception were really helpful in terms of giving advice for trips to make and where to go to eat. It was very difficult to fault this place if you have the chance, Stay.
I did in the Copper Wok which is joined onto the Hotel and it was excellent and I'll review it under its name. My only problem with the area was the impossibility of finding somewhere to drink alcohol other than with a meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We planned a two day island getaway for friends visiting from England. It was just a perfect retreat.
Left our car in Woods Hole at the transient parking lot, then took the ferry to Vineyard Haven. We ate our lunch from "The Pie in the Sky " sandwich shop while on the ferry. Arriving on Martha's vineyard it was a short walk to the Mansion House, which is located in downtown Vineyard Haven with views of the harbor on one side. It was convent to local transportation and some good resturants. The hotel was just lovely, our room was on the downtown side however there was very little noise from the street and our English friends had a harbor view room. The rooms looked as if they had been freely painted, very clean, great towels and bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. In the morning a continental breakfast was available with hard boiled eggs, fresh coffee, fruit and sweets. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Tuesday evening, we had dinner in the Asian restaurant located in the hotel. We stayed for two days and it felt as if it were longer, so relaxing we didn't use the spa, however it was available to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharleen172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing