We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop on our vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stop on our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location, wonderful staff, great views form (water view) rooms. We made Martha's Vineyard one of our destinations for our 30th Anniversary trip. Room was beautiful, really appreciated the personal touches and the Champagne' awaiting us in our room check in. Very nice surprise!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars for a Water View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    149
    36
    16
    25
See reviews for
179
358
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful clean spa hotel located in Vineyard Haven. Very quiet updated quaint hotel with a comfortable room. I would stay again. Only drawback I could not get a later checkout than the 11. A nice complimentary cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and tea for breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
264 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We chose this hotel for our three day stay in Martha’s Vineyard as it showed up as the most popular in our search. It also looked so charming, quaint and historic and that we loved. It turned out to be a great place to stay. We loved our room and all the rest of the hotel. A great deck on the 4th floor with exquisite views of the sound. Would have spent more time on the deck (where lemonade on the tap is available for free!) The gym is one of the best that we have ever used. Lots of great equipment well maintained. Wonderful fitness programs to choose from and all included in the daily rate. We did the Zumba class and found it invigorating. So what did we not like about our stay? Frankly the breakfast left us wanting for more. On our holidays we look forward to a good hot breakfast with eggs made to order and hot toast and bacon or ham and hash browns as a side. Unfortunately breakfast here meant boiled eggs, biscuits, cheese and fruit. Since the place is touted as a Bed and Breakfast place we had expected a better breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pilloo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here. In fact, it is the only place I stay. The staff is excellent, the rooms are clean and bright and beautiful. The beds are super comfortable!! You can walk to everything....the ferry...stores...restaurants. I plan to return next year!!

Room Tip: I enjoy having a balcony to sit out on and have my morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelinggirlxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff was fantastic, and you can't beat the location. Everyone was very kind to our sheltie too! The rooms were adorable and I liked having access to the fitness center. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mem03m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't say enough about this perfect hotel. We've stayed at the Mansion House 2 Aprils in a row. (It's important to note that we've never stayed in Vineyard Haven during the season; the hotel is right on the corner of a busy area, so I'd guess that noise would be a different factor in the height of the season.) It's a gorgeous old building, completely renovated and modern inside, and is centrally located: restaurants, shops, a market, coffee joints, and the ferry/bus terminal all within walking distance. It's full of charm and has a rooftop deck with chairs and table with a beautiful view of the town. There is a small but good gym, and the pool/hot tub is clean and nice. The rooms are gorgeous and well designed. The whole hotel has hard wood floors, a pleasant aesthetic, and is extremely clean. The service is outstanding--personal and detail oriented but not overbearing. It was my birthday, so they left champagne in the room. It's dog friendly and they were very welcoming. It was an excellent experience without a single drawback. You must eat at the Art Cliff Diner nearby!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found this place on line and after reading everyone else's reviews booked it. And found they were all telling the truth. From the in room fireplace to the view both out the window of our room as well as the rooftop patio/balcony. It was also perfectly centered in town and within walking distance from just about everything. The staff was ever so helpful and polite and just couldn't have been any nicer. We shall return again one day to take advantage of this jewel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs overlooking the water with the gas fireplace. My wife fell in love with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing