We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Roof Deck!”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent a very enjoyable 5 days here for business and a little pleasure. The rooms were very nice, the staff very attentive and pleasant, and the location could not be beat. We were able to park the car and walk for 90 percent of what we did on the Vineyard. The pool and health club at the hotel were a surprise benefit that we really liked. But the best amenities was the rood deck where you can sit and view the harbor. All in all a very nice stay and we would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a balcony. Also, if you plan on doing work at a desk in your room, inquire ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had to cancel an anniversary trip due to wife needing major surgery. Despite cancelling a summertime reservation that was 99.9% likely to be filled 2 months in advance the hotel refused to give the 10% deposit back. They thought it was more important to keep $90 from the average guy than to bend their policy. Suggesting you consider a part of your deposit gone forever when booking here as they are relentless in protecting this policy and their profit center.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Supermagictasticguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so sorry that you had to cancel your late summer reservation. Mansion House has its cancellation policy posted and stated at every opportunity. The above guest could have declined to book a room. Similar to most of the policies of other Island accommodations, most folks seem to understand that the cost of processing plastic is greater than cash and most are willing to agree to the cancellation policy. A few potential guests object and do not reserve a room. As a small family owned Inn, our goal is to make our guests happy, while managing costs. Credit cards and their fees are part of that equation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've stayed here on family vacations to the Vineyard for the past 5 years and each time has been excellent. The rooms are great, each one we've had has had a great view and a balcony to relax on. They also have good gym and spa services and the front desk staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The location is central to Vineyard Haven and a short walk from car/bike rentals or the bus terminal to get to other parts of the island. On my most recent stay I did miss the more formal breakfast buffet, the cereal/pastries don't really cut it but it is a good excuse to try some of the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just recently stayed at the Mansion House. It was wonderful. The room was light and airy and spacious. Pleasantly decorated and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful- special thanks to Jay and Guy. Location is great, right in town, and walking distance to the ferry. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at Mansion House recently ....rooms are beautiful, luxurious, and spacious. Staff is outstanding, friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Pool and spa is a very nice addition to the experience. Gym is roomy, well-appointed, and hotel is an easy walk to all of Vineyard Haven's sights and experiences.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed at the Mansion House many times in winter and shoulder seasons. If we are not bringing a car with us the location is great. We don't stay there for an unobstructed view of the ocean. We stay for the friendly atmosphere and convenience of being in town and near the ferry and public transportation. The breakfast is filling with several protein options (not just sugary pastries). The coffee is good, and you also have many other close options for freshly brewed "designer" coffees if you are into that (which I am!). We have stayed on the second and third floors which usually affords a view of the harbor or Main Street. The roof top deck is great for sunrises, and parts of the sunsets. I recently had a pedicure and manicure at the spa. The ladies were delightful and I was very satisfied with the work done. The Mansion House is conveniently located, reasonably priced, clean, and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can, request a second or third floor room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Travelled to Cape Cod, I tried to book water view/ocean view room wherever I went. I got the full ocean view room in provincetown. So when I booked the hotel for Vineyard haven, Mansion house gave me the quotes are $300 with water view and $199 without water view.
View is very important to me. So I was willing to spend $100 more to enjoy the ocean water view.
But after I checked in the hotel, I found out the room window has 95% street view and 5% water view. The hotel is a little bit far away from ocean. 5% water view far away from the water is very disappointing. The hotel staff told us it's completely sold out, so can't change the room either.
I called back to ask for the price change. The hotel manager rejected it. He called that room water view room. That's ridiculous. If you stand in front of the window, you only can see street, you have to stick your head out of window, on the right upper corner, you can see a little bit water.
Seriously you don't want to pay $100 extra to see the street only. Save your money and do not stay in the false advertisement "water view" room.

Room Tip: no real water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank isabelle0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

According to MapQuest, Mansion House is 0.15 miles and less than 1 minute by car from the Ferry Boat dock. Located in a year round port town, on a classic Main Street, there are many different room types. The king bed guest room referenced in the review boasts a full Balcony, a fireplace, a soaking tub/4 piece bathroom and a wet bar with sink, refrigerator, coffee and tea. The less expensive room has a Queen bed, a Juliet balcony, no wet bar, no soaking tub, no fireplace and while still lovely, is a more modest room. While we disagree with the Water View percentages, we were unhappy that we were not able to move this guest to a different room, but have to admit we were happy to be sold out. We hope during her one night stay, she found time to go to the Cupola and enjoyed views of the harbor, tall ships, sail boats, lagoon, church steeples, Main Street, Town Park, ferry boat crossings and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
684 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: £90 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing