We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay again...wonderful gem in Vineyard Haven!!”
Review of Charles & Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charles & Charles
Ranked #2 of 11 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely would stay again...wonderful gem in Vineyard Haven!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I spent five nights this past week at Charles & Charles. It was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard, so we were very open to suggestions for dinner and things to do. Our host, Charles, was AMAZING!! He was a wealth of knowledge about good restaurants and was an overall wonderful host in every way. From his friendliness to the great breakfasts served by the pool everyday, we couldn't be happier. The B&B/Inn was immaculately kept inside and out. Bikes are available for your pleasure, as are beach chairs and beach towels.

I would HIGHLY recommend Charles & Charles to anyone looking to make a trip to MV. We plan to definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cg567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had a girls weekend with a friend, and our stay here was perfect. Everyone was so kind but not overbearing, and so personable. Jefferson was a perfect host who went above and beyond. When we ran into the pool maintenance gentleman while in Vineyard Haven center, he stopped and talked to us giving us tips for what to do that day. Breakfast was delicious each morning; the choices you might expect for a nice continental breakfast, but always with a gourmet flare, homemade, delicious and very well presented. Jefferson catered to us by serving us early one morning at 7am without any complaint. I don't typically like "hanging out at the hotel" but loved the idea of relaxing at the pool here. Our room was very tastefully decorated; a perfect mix between MV island style and modern style. The room was also very clean and comfortable; there were fresh flowers even. Free bikes to use were a bonus and made getting to/from the city center a breeze. The B&B is close enough to the city that you can walk but far enough that you can almost feel like a local when going back to the B&B for the night. There's not anything that could have been better. I would recommend Charles & Charles MV wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Chilmark Room has a large, beautiful bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalia285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights during a trip to the Vineyard. The location is a little remote in the sense that you are in the middle of a residential neighborhood in Vineyard Haven. It is a moderate walk to get to the main part of town, the shuttle stop, etc (uphill on the way back). However, you are also hopefully paying a lower price here, so it's all about priorities. You can always use the bikes (in good condition) that are provided to get around, but I wouldn't necessarily advise biking to Oak Bluffs unless you're a pretty confident bike rider (you are sharing a very busy road with many cars--instead take the bus and attach your bikes to the front).

The room we had was tastefully decorated and clean. It is nice that it appears all the rooms are physically separated from the owner's house (more privacy). The bathroom was very large, modern, and had an upscale feel. Only minor negatives were that there is *a lot* of light in the morning, so bring your sleep mask if that bothers you. Also, the A/C situation was not completely clear. When we were there, it was cool enough at night to rely on the window fan that simply brings in air from outdoors. However, it is a fairly noisy fan and there is no window screen, so keep your lights off at night unless you want a lot of insects to join you in the room.

Breakfast was by the pool and was a nice combination of various items including fruit and a pastry.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again, although we might bring a car next time since it would be easier to get around with one given the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vvv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My sister, husband, and I booked the Charles & Charles Inn and felt blessed and thankful for making this choice. The continental breakfast was unique and exquisite each AM served by the refreshing pool....The rooms were quiet, immaculately clean, and beautifully decorated. I loved the bathroom tile with warm towels. The hosts were so accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Lucy was an extra special touch as we missed our dogs. The bicycles were well suited for the terrain. We look forward to a repeat stay. The location was conveniently located near the ferry terminal and strongly suggest visiting the restored playhouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJane23112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spend 4 days at the Charles & Charles and had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful. Completely redone with wood floors and marble bathrooms even had a kitchen with all new appliances. Their idea of a continental breakfast was amazing. It was different everyday and included amazing scones, quiche, lattes etc. The owners were so kind and helpful and everything from the pool to the garden were clean and beautiful. You can not go wrong staying here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked a four-day stay at C&C and could not have been happier with our choice. When we arrived, Jefferson (the owner) welcomed us with a smile and showed us our room (a very private one-bedroom suite). Right then and there, we know we were in the right place. The linens were those of a fine hotel (soft cotton with embroidered edges), fresh flowers in the room, nicely appointed kitchen/dining area, and French doors opening onto a private deck where we could choose to have our breakfast delivered to us in the morning. The other option was to join other guests around the pool where there is a very elegant seating area and tables. We did both - as we found the other guests were very interesting and convivial...and Jefferson is a trove of island information!. The breakfast he cooked up each day was homemade and delicious... with a Southern flair. I have been going to the Vineyard for 20+ years, and for the price, this is certainly a great secret find (shhh... only tell your best friends, as I fear getting a room may get more difficult as word gets out).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 4 days in MV with my wife in our 25th aniversary, we chose Charles and Charles even though it was a new hotel and had no reviews at that moment, We made a good choice!
The owner actually lives in the house and is on top of every detail. Breakfast is very good and it was served at the poolside.The rooms are really small apartments, with living room, bedroom and a kitchen. They are nicely furnished, the bed and linen were perfect and everything brand new. The hotel is walking distance from the town center, but not very close. It´s really not a problem, as there are free bikes and helmets for the guests.
The experience was great and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
7.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
959 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.8 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles & Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles & Charles

Property: Charles & Charles
Address: 85 Summer St, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-6365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles & Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting a new standard for comfort and sophistication on Martha's Vineyard – Charles & Charles is an escape for the soul! A charming blend of New England style and contemporary accents, Charles & Charles offers six of the most spacious rooms on the island, each featuring exquisitely renovated tile bathrooms and luxurious beds with crisp Egyptian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Charles & Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing