We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Fernmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernmark Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brogo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is an excellent B&B off the beaten track. But only 20 minutes from Bega.

Great for a couples retreat - no TV, no distractions, just the country side and pure silence.

Great kitchen facility for cooking and preparing meals. Only 4 rooms in this B&B so its very quiet and relaxing.

Best night's sleep!

Room Tip: 4 rooms to pick from - we stayed in the Middle Eastern themed room which had a glorious rain shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Art, culture, environmental awareness, comfort, peacefulness, access to 90 acres of glorious bush, a garden full of herbs and other delights (chookies!) ... plus lots more ... the wattle was blossoming and wild bushflowers just beginning for our mid August stay - this is the place for bushwalkers and birdwatchers who like creature comforts - anyone who loves the peace and quiet of a rural setting - or for a break away from city / work stress - Hallee and Corinne have created a wonderful environment - breakfast was lovely - eggs fresh from the girls in the permaculture garden. Much much nicer than a cloned box in a strata hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Each room is themed - all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were specifically looking for a dog friendly B&B and went through a dog friendly site. Yes you can take your dog to the Inn BUT it must be on a leash at all times once it leaves the small enclosed terrace area while you walk the accessible parts of the 90 acres.

The second thing we desired was someone to cook an evening meal for us. This was not on offer in emails leading up to our stay even though marketed.

I was keen on the Yoga which was marketed as a free activity in their brochures. I was told they were between teachers and they were going to offer Pilates soon instead.

What else was marketed was an orchard and a vegetable garden from which we could pick seasonal ingredients for our Spring dinner. In the extensive garden we found many weeds and 3 spinach leaves to steam. We started the Barbeque and within a couple of minutes it ran out of gas so had to go to the kitchen to finish off cooking our dinner.

There was only one towel in our room so we needed to ask for another one.

Other guests received a cheese platter and a bottle of wine on arrival even though they paid a lower rate per night.

We ordered the hamper as it was marketed as covering two breakfasts. What we received was a very small homemade loaf of bread, butter, and small amounts of cream cheese, orange juice, 4 eggs,yoghurt and stewed fruit for $30. If we relied on the "Breakfast" component of the "B&B" we could help ourselves to 4 varieties of cereal only. Yes there was homemade jams in the fridge but no bread supplied to have with it!
The grand finale was the toilet wouldn't flush in our room on the last night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernmark, Owner at Fernmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

We are sorry that there have been misunderstandings in our communications and are sorry this guest felt let down.

Our Mid East Room, a large room - the dog friendly room, has plenty of room for your pooch in the room or on the closed in veranda. Prior to arrival, or booking even, we inform all guests that dogs are not allowed in other public sections of the guesthouse (lounge, kitchen, and library). We request that they walk them on a lead when not in the room as there is wildlife (wombats, wallabies, kangaroos, possums, echidnas, snakes) and domesticated animals (horses, goats, alpacas, cows, & chooks!) in the surrounding area. And we have 2 large dogs that we prefer to keep separate from guest’s dogs. We also ask guests to bring their dog bedding, food bowls, food and treats. We can supply doggie bags to “scoop their poop” if done in the gardens (ok if in the paddocks). There is also an enclosure that the dog is able to stay in during the day. We are also able to tell you about plenty of dog friendly walks, beaches and cafes. Dogs would also be able to stay on the veranda which is enclosed. Often dogs are happier there then in the enclosure as it is adjacent to the guest room.

RE: Cooked Dinner - We are sorry you wanted a dinner cooked. We use to provide this service but have not for a number of years. We provide hampers with the supplies & you make the meal. There is a full kitchen for exclusive guest use. We are not sure where you saw this marketed as this is a direct quote from our website.
" Dinners If you have arrived and don't feel like going out for dinner, if possible, we may be able to help out with some supplies. However, we recommend that you stop at a grocery store before you get here - as once you are here, you won't want to leave!! "

RE: Yoga - We don’t know what brochure was seen as our Fernmark brochure only has a yoga class picture, nothing written about classes. Classes, when offered, are not free. The teacher needs to be paid.

RE: the vegetable garden - We inform guests that they are welcome to help themselves to whatever fruit, veggies and herbs that are in season in the garden at the time as a supplement. We also tell them prior to arrival " You may want to stop at a supermarket to pick up some food for your evening meal, as most guests, once arriving don't want to leave!! So depending on which direction you are coming from, we recommend either Narooma, Bega or Cooma for the store along the way!!"

We do not deny that our garden has weeds in it and even stated that to these particular guests as I saw them enter the garden. I said “it has weeds but through the weeds there are some things you can find – onions, silver beet, peas, potatoes, lettuce.” We have been having problems with wombats going under the fences, creating areas where our chooks enter the garden and mess everything up. WE had been away the month prior on holiday ourselves, so hadn't fully gotten through weeding it back to organization. So it had been a less than successful growing season. At various seasons, there is more than at others. When the guests were here it was October – in between seasons so many things were just growing.

RE: Barbeque - It is a shame the guests didn’t come to our door (10 metres away) to inform us. We were home having our dinner. The next morning when the guest informed me, I apologized, said he should have come as we have a spare. And I promptly replaced the empty one with the new one. We don’t change tanks until one runs out otherwise it is a waste of natural resources.

RE; towel - When I was informed by the guest that there was only 1 large bath towel, I promptly gave them another. The cleaner only put one in by mistake. There was another room she was setting up as a single.

RE: wine & cheese platter - the other guests reserved a special promotion that included the cheese platter and wine. Everyone comes on different packages at different costs. We cannot be responsible for how these guests reserved, or provide them with items not included in their reservation. However, we actually did – we gave a basket of oranges in the kitchen for them to eat if wanted.

RE: Breakfast hamper - Our rate includes breakfast cereals and milk, coffee, tea. We let guests know in our letter of confirmation that if they "would like a breakfast hamper, which includes eggs, a loaf of homemade bread, fresh fruit & yoghurt, juice, butter and homemade jam, to let us know. (cost is $30 – normally enough for more than one day)". We do not state it will cover 2 breakfasts. Certain components of it normally are there for the next day as there was for these guests. I saw in the refrigerator that there still was yoghurt, fruit, juice, and butter & cream cheese. We cannot be responsible for what guests eat & how much they consume. Some have bread left, some don’t. We make small loaves for the freshness sake.

We provide our homemade jams complimentarily for all guests to try and enjoy.

RE: Toilet - We live on a bush block, and depend on water from our dams for the toilet water. A tap had been left on in the gardens and the tank ran dry. That is why there wasn’t water. When the guest informed me as he was packing his bag, I apologized, said I have to figure out where the leak was and told them they could use, if need be, another guest room that uses water from the rain water tank for the toilet. He said there wasn’t a need but thank you. Occasionally in the past, this has occurred and guests have come to tell me early morning so I could rectify or do something about it. These guests choose not to so it was difficult to rectify at the time of the incident.

We are truly sorry that these guests felt their expectations were not met. We always try to strive to improve on our service and provide guests with a feedback form to complete and give to us directly. A form was not filled out by these guests so only months later did we find out about their review on Trip Advisor. We hope other future guests will give us a chance and come and experience and share with us Fernmark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I would like to start by saying that my partner and I were very pleasantly surprised by this little corner of paradise that we found. When I say suprised... I mean, we knew that we would find a good place. But we did not know we would find so much attention to details in the room or around the B&B!!

Hallie and Corinne (the hosts) created a very inviting place, that you can truly call home. The room (India) was simply stunning, comfortable, so clean, cool (great on a hot day!!!), opening up to a terrace and further away to a beautiful landscape made of fields, trees, hills, etc.
Hallie baked a beautiful plumb tart the day we arrived, and an apricot cake 2 days later, to enjoy as afternoon tea. The idea of a common kitchen is great. You can meet in a relaxing way your fellow travellers or simply cook a meal that you can enjoy on your terrace! We enjoyed the fresh herbs from the garden, the tasty spinach and salad, real dark yellow eggs brought by their son every day.
We were very well received, as well as 4 other guests and we certainly finished 2010 on a relaxing and warm note. We liked it so much we managed to extend our stay with 2 more days!

The things to improve on are really minor and we certaintly shared it with Hallie on our departure.

We had a peak at the other rooms and they all have this same attention to details. We'll probably try Africa next time!

I can only recommend you to visit this place and to succomb, like us, to the charm of this little paradise. Disconnect from the busy city life, and just enjoy a break at Brogo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Remy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We stayed in the India room, which, as has already been said, is decorated according to the round-the-world theme. The hosts have paid wonderful attention to detail in decorating their rooms, though we didn't get to peek at any of the others. The room had a one-person bath in it, which I enjoyed but was too small to share.

Though I originally found Fernmark's website directly through Google, Wotif were offering a better deal than Fernmark directly, without the 3-night long-weekend minimum stay, and promising champagne and chocolates on arrival and the additional daily breakfast hamper. We really enjoyed the goodies in the hamper each morning, and in the evenings enjoyed wine and cheese under the covered verangah outside our room. They provided an alright bottle of bubbly, though I'm not sure I'd advertise a small bowl of left-over Easter Eggs in the communal lounge as "...chocolates on arrival", but it's a minor point. Everything else was lovely,. and we very much enjoyed ourselves.

The only advice I'd give other guests is to take your dinner provisions with you, at least for the first night - once we'd arrived, around 4pm, we were quite keen to enjoy our bubbly and some cheese and crackers, which ended up being our dinner (blush!) as we couldn't face the 50km return drive to the nearest shops (in Bega - which has no decent restaurants, either!)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Australian_Argonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed here some time ago and I have been meaning to say how much we both enjoyed our stay. Different rooms have been designed according to themes and the two women who run this place are very artistic. It's like visiting the world in this little corner of the South Coast of NSW. We slept in the Indian Room and were very happy there, though we peeped in the Thai Room one day when it was vacant and it looked perhaps even nicer. Breakfasts were always different and we were soon looking forward to the surprises that each morning would bring, but also in the afternoon guests are served a delectable afternoon tea. Late one afternoon we thought they might have forgotten and were a little disappointed but then surprise, surprise, in came the coffee pot and individual pavlovas for everyone, topped with season fruit. They were almost too nice to eat - but what the heck, we gulped them down!

Most of the time we were pretty much left to our own devices which is what we like. This is ideal for people who like some quiet solitude, who appreciate good art, enjoy the comfort of the area and are willing to go lightly on water use. (Mind, the last is true of anybody visiting Australia. Please use water sparingly! It's scarce and precious!) Anyone who wanted to be entertained or wanted to be near "where the action is" will find this too quiet and too remote. If that is your style, you will love Fenmark B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderlustWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

I recently booked an special weekend away for my partner and I at Fernmark Inn, Brogo. This experience was so special, so original, so darn peaceful - I had to make a new listing on trip advisor just to be able to review it!

Fernmark Inn is an eco-friendly organic bed and breakfast with a wonderfully Tuscan exterior and gorgeous multi-themed world guest rooms. We stayed in the Thailand room and though a little small, it was was conducive to a very romantic atmosphere. The room opened out onto a lovely private balcony which over looked the nearby range of majestic mountains and shimmering Brogo Dam.

Asides from the wonderful rooms, the gorgeous atmosphere of the place is a welcome relief from the stresses of city life. The only sounds are the odd wild birds twittering and at night, the occasional roadside wombat shuffling along the road. It was truly a break away to remember and inspire.

The hosts were two lovely ladies with a very non-instrusive manner, allowing my partner and I to enjoy ourselves without some of the pressures of other innkeepers and hoteliers who tend to thrive of inane conversation and useless suggestions about local tourist attractions. However, they were equally accessible to any requests we had and tailored our stay to meet our every wish.

Finally, a note has to be made of the incrediable breakfast hampers assembled at Fernmark Inn. The food is grown on the property and everything from apple and rhubarb stew and yoghurt to amazing homemade jams and the best home baked bread I have every tasted, were all here in abundance.

Do yourself a favour and take a trip down the south coast of Australia just for the experience. In the end, we didn't want to even leave the property to explore the nearby historic towns and arty villages, all we needed and were looking for, were found here at Fernmark Inn. Wonderful, we'll be back god willing!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thewhitephantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fernmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernmark Inn

Address: 610 Warrigal Range Rd, Brogo, New South Wales 2550, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Brogo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brogo
Price Range: £81 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernmark Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fernmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing