We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent pan asian fare”
Review of Ginjo

Ginjo
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in Walpole
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
358 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Decent pan asian fare”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Solid pan asian food, though nothing special. Went there with a groupon deal, and it was fine. Good soup, dumpling and lo mein.
Sushi was fresh, medium sized, with your typical assortment of rolls.
Would go back if in the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Consider the Source”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Saying Ginjo has the "best Sushi in the area" is like saying an oasis has the best water in the desert. The next best sushi in the area is at Stop and Shop, so go figure. The best asian cuisine in our area used to be at Golden Abacus, but since they've changed hands...the moniker is up for grabs. I would say Siam Lotus, a Thai restaurant, is the way to go. All that being said, Ginjo is by no means a bad asian offering. The service is friendly and efficient. The prices are on par with the area. But that's about it. Maybe it's the best asian food in Walpole, caveat emptor; Supreme's help has been eyeing the sushimi knives at local kitchen supply stores.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Ginjo is a very pleasant, modern oriental restaurant that specializes in Japanese cuisine, but offers more traditional Chinese as well. The hibachi grill is a really fun evening. Do it with a group and dress casual. The grill master dispenses saki "squirts" but it probably will splash a bit. Food is good, atmosphere fun. They have a sushi chef in house and everything is custom made for you. Very fresh and a great variety. Well priced and pleasant. Good lunches as well Try a Bento Box.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

The service was slow and the food was average cheap greasy Chinese food. The sushi that we ordered was nothing to write home about... Had a Groupon coupon to use but would not return.

Helpful?
Thank LBird33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
223 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I had dinner here tonight and we were pleasantly surprised. Ginjo is located inside the CVS Plaza in the center of Walpole. We both enjoy Asian restaurants, especially Japanese, and we have never been here. Well, we will be back.
We were expecting a typical small strip mall restaurant because of the small sign facing the parking lot. Despite the deceiving appearance from the parking area, the restaurant is large inside, claen and nicely decorated including a Sushi Bar, a Lounge, and plenty of seating. They serve a varied menu including both Chinese and Japanese food. We focused on the Japanese dinners.
The Japanese menu was one of the largest that we have seen in the area. These dinners range from full sushi and sashimi, to Hibachi Dinners, Tempura, Teriaki, and Agemono meals and Bento Boxes. They even had Udon Noodle soups which we both love.
My wife chose the Teriaki Shrimp Bento Box and I had the Combo Deluxe Sushi and Sashimi with twenty pieces including the tuna maki. Both came with miso soup and a house salad. The only complaint that we had was that the ginger dressing on the house salad could be improved. It wasn't spicy enough and the salad was watery. Despite that small problem the dinner was wonderful. The sashimi was a larger than a normal cut and the sushi was longer than normal. My wife's Bento box included a large portion of shrimp, rice, california maki, and two spring rolls. We enjoyed both.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginjo also viewed

 

Been to Ginjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing