We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good But Tiny Improvements Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Good But Tiny Improvements Needed”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our first time staying here. And we did enjoy it, however, we found that it just needed some tweaking in certain areas.

Pros:

We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very clean and I thoroughly enjoyed the kitchen amenities in the room. Everything was up to date including stainless steel appliances and quality cookware.

The fitness room had new equipment, complimentary earplugs, towels and water available.

The quality of the food at this hotel was quite good too.

Cons:

Our room, in suite B, had a window that wouldn't lock. Not very reassuring when we have small children. Not to mention valuables such as our passports. I would also like too see, if possible, a high chair in our room as opposed to only the dining area.

Although the quality of the food was good, they could offer more of a breakfast array because the serving area is quite large. They could also provide basic supplies such as straws. Along with making it easier to locate a high chair.

While I was working out in the fitness room, I had the experience of two young girls come in. They didn't have any shoes on, began jumping from machine to machine, almost breaking one, and were very loud. Couldn't hear the music through my earplugs. They were unsupervised and basically were using the room as an indoor playground. After I finished my workout, I went to the front desk to complain and the front desk clerk told me that the children shouldn't be in there.
A sign needs to be placed outside the room indicating age restriction.

Room Tip: Our room was great despite having a window that didn't lock. Double check the locks on your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I appreciate all the items that you suggested for us to improve one. I hope that if you are in th Waltham area again, that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    185
    84
    38
    23
See reviews for
272
53
21
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed for a week for business. The shuttle was great for taking us out to get something to eat. The breakfast and evening snacks were a great way to start and finish the day.

Clean rooms, nice beds and the coffee is good!

No Bar, but walking distance to many!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor facing out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLMbaconman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the many amenities that we offer with your room. Hopefully when you are back in the Waltham area that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Very spacious living and kitchen. Full size appliance and large table for both work and dining. Excellent lighting and comfortable chairs. Very clean and comfortable dining area with fair selection for breakfast and after work snacks.

Comfortable bed and quite surroundings. Lmited (but nice) selection of nearby places to eat but nothing within walking distance.

Will stay there again next time.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review on the HYATT house Boston/Waltham. We appreciate all feedback given to us. We look foward in seeing you on your next visit to the Waltham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel far exceeds my expectation. It is close to the businesses yet remains a quiet hotel. The staff is excellent. The shuttle service is convenient and flexible, especially when I need a ride outside the reg hrs. The evening reception came with a nice soup and a baked potato bar during my visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AChung94536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We try to make sure every guests stay is as pleasant as possible. We look foward in having you stay at the HYATT house Boston/Waltham on your next trip to the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

To start off, they send you a personalized e-mail that wasn't computer-generated. Nice touch.

The e-mail told me that Kim would be checking me in, and there she was when I got there. She was great and when I got back from picking up dinner and had forgotten ketchup, she went and got me a whole bottle since she couldn't get to the packets. Problem solving 101.

The room was huge, being a one-bedroom suite with a living room and kitchen. The heat wasn't working, but one call to Kim and the friendly handyman came in and took care of that quickly.

I love the Hyatt bed. Period. I got a great night's sleep. WiFi is included and parking is free - as it should be.

I didn't use the gym, but took a look and it's got a few cardio machines and some free weights which looked to be in good shape.

The only issue I had was the breakfast. The selections are extensive, but I had noticed that they weren't keeping the milk chilled. I mentioned it to the kitchen staff, who didn't seem to understand the issue with what happens when milk gets warm sitting around. On my way out, I mentioned this to the GM who addressed it right away, and when I brought this up in my Hyatt survey afterwards, she quickly reached out to me to thank me for bringing it up and letting me know what they've fixed this problem.

Overall, a great property, a great night's sleep and great service by people who care about doing a good job. The next time I'm in the area I'll return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you so much for the great reveiw and appreciate all your feedback. We look foward in seeing you on your next visit and please drop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great River, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Check in by pleasant front desk personnel. This was the two-bedroom suite and didn't disappoint. The larger room was handicapped-accessable and the smaller was more than adequate. Both rooms stocked with amenities, large-screen TV's in both bedrooms and common area and a fully equipped kitchen.
Next morning, a full and complete hot complimentary breakfast at 0630. check-out uneventful. Free parking.
Located just off I-95/128. DD close by (if you must). Also Costco, Home Depot (likewise, if you must). Stones throw from Lexington (just up I-95). Going back this week and probably again thereafter. A Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have its own restaurant but nearby hotels do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpencertheSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are always striving to be the best that we can be. If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach to me. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed at the Hyatt House before (when it was called Summerfield Suites). The staff is excellent and the maintenance has corrected a few items that were lacking previously. It's a very comfortable hotel and the complimentary breakfast is very good. Fresh scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, etc. The only thing that I'm not crazy about is having the sink outside the bathroom. This is a problem for my husband and me when one goes to bed late and the other gets up early.

Clean, comfortable, nice flatscreen TVs, well-equipped kitchen. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cornell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look foward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
465 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing