We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Shippenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were traveling with our 3 young adult children. I reserved a two bedroom suite. Lots of room, two bathrooms, clean, close to Waltham and Boston, great breakfast, and....above all, reasonably priced. A great find!!! Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear etm85,

Thank you so much for the kind words of your stay with us here at the HYATT house Boston/Waltham. We strive to make everyone as comfortable as just like they are at home. I hope that if you come back to the Waltham or Boston area again, that you will choose us again for you stay. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    175
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
246
51
21
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and although my room was nice, the hallways and outside were not maintained. I arrived on a Monday afternoon and someone had spilled dirt from a plant in the hallway of a stairwell and it stayed there until I checked out on Friday morning. The building had some work done on their fire sprinklers in the halls and drywall pieces and dirt were all over the halls for 2 days. If you're planning to just stay in your room, all will be fine. The housekeepers cleaned my room very well when I left a tip. The building is noisy - lots of kids running the halls and the walls are thin. I might stay here again because I really do like the convenience of making my own meals when I'm business traveling and Waltham is away from Boston, but close enough to get there easily. The free breakfasts and dinners are a nice feature too and the food is OK. My bed was very comfortable and the room is nicely laid out. The staff are nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyNurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
ArmyNurse2,

Thank you for your reveiw and I appreciate your feedback about the hotel. I apologize for the expereince that you had with us and please know that we are working on bettering the hotel. We did have our mixing valves replaced during your stay and I apologize that we did not clean up after they were installed. I will be speaking with my Chief Engineer and let them know that this happened as well as speak with my Executive Housekeeper about your comments. Again I appreciate all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here recently on vacation in Boston with my family of four (two teens). We booked a 2 bedroom suite through an advance sale at a great price. Arrived to find that there were "mechanical problems" with the two bedroom suites. The manager had emailed me while I was en route, and did his best to find a good alternative for us. We were given two adjacent one bedroom suites for the same price, which worked out fine. The property is about 20-30 min from downtown Boston in a business park area. It is surrounded by suite hotels and office buildings. Not much in the immediate area - certainly nothing you can walk to. But there are some pluses - it is easy to get downtown, there is easy access to I-95, and the town of Waltham has a nice little main street and is just a few minutes away (recommend Taqueria Mexico if you want to eat nearby). Nice pool and patio area. The suites were nice - kitchens are well equipped, living room is ok (couches are hard and there is not enough lighting). Beds were very comfortable. Separate sink and bathroom area. WiFi is free, but signal seems to be weak. There is a hot breakfast buffet included, which is a bonus, particularly for families. Big downside on this property is the housekeeping and maintenance - the rooms are in relatively good shape, but the maintenance of the common areas is atrocious. The rug in the hall outside our room was not vacuumed for our entire three day stay. There are huge cobwebs on the windows in the dining area, and there are chunks of upholstery missing from the banquettes. There was a towel on the floor outside a door near the lobby for three days because something was leaking in that room. They also forgot to clean one of our rooms one day. It's too bad - with a little work it could be a great property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAskMe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear JustAskMe27,

Thank you for your kind words about our property. We do love to hear all of the great comments regarding our guest stay. I am so glad that Gary was able to assist you with the 2 rooms. I will be working with our housekeeping and maintenance department on the concerns/issues that you have spoken off. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel was poorly maintained and unkept. Dirty floors throughout the hotel for my entire weekend stay. Old large dirty carpet stains as you get off elevator on third floor and second floor. Door in bathroom would not close. Trash left on hall benches. The list goes on and on. No snacks or other items on shelfs in the store the entire weekend. Older lady at the front desk unhelpful and appeared to brush you off when asked a question. Poor service for a Hyatt property...Always book with Hyatt. Would not recommend this property...it was a terrible stay will be contacting Hyatt customer service directly to report this train wreck...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browniect107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Brownject107,

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate our guest comments and always listen to what you are saying. We are in the process of working with a third party vendor to come in and take care of our common area carpets and furniture. I apologize for the guest market not having much of a selection for you during your stay. I truly understand your frustration and I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my teenage daughter who was attending a seminar. The seminar was scheduled in the hotel from 9 AM to 2 PM on Saturday. We checked in at 5 PM on Friday afternoon. We were assigned a room on the 2nd floor adjacent to the elevator. I asked if we could be moved away from the elevator and the nice young lady at the check-in desk re-assigned us to a room on the first floor in the back of the building overlooking the pool cleaning room and adjacent to the back elevator. (I will post a pic from our room). Oh well, I guess it was all they had to offer. Upon arrival I requested an extended checkout from 12 noon to 2 PM. She told me that I would have to wait until the morning to put in the request. At 9 AM I asked Janice at the front desk if I could extend my check out and she said the best she could give me was 1 hour. (Gary, the manager, was standing right next to her at the desk) At 1 PM, I checked again to see if I could stay in my room until 2 PM and Janice said NO. She told me that If I was a Hyatt Diamond member, I could stay until 2 PM, but since I am only a Hyatt Gold member the best she could offer was 1 PM So I sat in the lobby from 1 till 2 pm waiting for my daughter. Just for curiosity sake, at 2 PM, I walked by my room and noticed that housekeeping had just arrived to start cleaning the room, so it stayed untouched for the whole hour! I don't understand why Janice (and her manager Gary) wouldn't let me stay in the room.
I understand that rooms need to be cleaned and turned-over, but I was only asking for 2 hours, not all day. And the room location was clearly not their most popular room.
Although Janice said they were "very busy", quite honestly, it was a ghost town while I was waiting in the lobby. I think some retraining in customer service would be helpful!
The room was neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Susan M:

Thank you for writing a review about our property. We know how frustrating it can be not to receive a late check out. Please let me apologize for the later check out not being available for you. We were completely sold out that weekend and needed to get every room ready for the guests due to arrive that afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed in Hyatt Place but never tried Hyatt House. Will stick to this chain from now on because of the good services and the suites layout just fit my family's need. We've booked 1BR with separate living room and kitchen for my husband and 2 teenagers. The manager Gary was so nice to upgraded us to a 2 BR suites. The rooms are very clean and kitchen well equipped. Different hot food like ham and bacon were provided in different mornings. Perfect for family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Juliana,

Thank you for your kind words about our property. We do love to hear all of the great comments regarding our guest stays. I am so glad that Gary was able to assist you with all you needed. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We've stayed at this Hyatt House three times now and it never disappoints. This time we took a two bedroom suite which was spacious, clean and well-appointed. The hotel is impeccably clean and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast and a manager's reception (essentially dinner) are included in the price (the latter only on weekdays) so it is an excellent deal. As we always stay when our son is attending football camp we really appreciate the laundry facilities, pool and gym.

Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Laughinglady,

We are so happy that you enjoy your stays at the Hyatt House in Waltham. We truly appreciate your business and loyalty to our property! We are looking forward to your next visit from Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing