We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This hotel was everything we expected. I was traveling with my husband, brother and sister-in-law. We were on an extended vacation for our 40th wedding anniversary. This hotel was perfect for 2 couples because they offer the 2 bedroom, 2 baths suites. It was very nice, the complimentary breakfast and social in the evening were great. The gentlemen at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant. I would highly recomend this hotel and will stay there again should I go to that area.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grammy04Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    183
    82
    37
    22
See reviews for
267
52
21
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed in the Hyatt Summerfield Suites for two nights while visiting friends who had a child being treated in a local medical facility. We were a group of two moms and three children ages 10, 12 and 16. Our room had two bedrooms, each with a king bed, two bathrooms, a small living room area and a small kitchen. The room was very clean and comfortable with more than enough space. The living area was well situated with a large sectional sofa and oversized ottomans that were very comfy. The suite had three flat screen TVS (one in each bedroom and one in the living area) so the kids could split up and play video games or watch movies with no arguments and the moms could watch TV uninterruped as well! The full size appliances in the kitchen were wonderful for traveling with children. Eating a quick meal in was a breeze and saved time and money. We felt the rooms were well sound proofed as we never heard noises from adjoining rooms or from the parking lot. Also, the bedrooms have room darkening shades and drapes and the beds were amazingly comfortable. Having two bathrooms was perfect and the bathrooms were large enough and very clean.

The free breakfast was quite a bonus. Eggs, sausage, potatoes, breads, bagles, fruit, cereal, juices, milk -- enough variety to please everyone in our group. We stayed over the weekend, so we did not get to take advantage of the free manager's reception on week nights but the menu posted in our room looked good.

The pool was heated and the pool area was very nice. The kids swam even though the temperature outside was not ideal for swimming. There is a really nice hot tub in the pool area; however, the weekend we were there the heater malfunctioned so we were not able to take advantage of the hot tub. That was disappointing for the moms, but we understand these things can happen.

The grounds, rooms, pool area and reception area are immaculately clean and well kept. There is also a small laundry facility and a very nice exercise room with modern exercise equipment. Free Wi-FI was very useful and parking is free, which is a huge bonus in the Boston area.

We checked in around noon on Saturday and were greated with a smile and given keys immediately. We were also granted a late checkout on Monday as we had an evening flight home. Every person we encountered during our stay, from front desk personnel, to maintenance people, were friendly, pleasant and always had a smile and a kind word. We felt safe and comfortable at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites and would definitely recommend it and will definitely look for them in future travels.

The only negative we found with this hotel may be the location. It was ideal for us as it was situationed half way between the treatment facility and the home of a friend. It also offers easy access off and on I-95 so it is convenient to sightseeing in Boston without staying in Boston. However, the exit is more of an industrial area with several hotels, but no restaurants or shopping. Anything you need from food to entertainment is going to require a drive. This did not present a problem for us as we spent our days traveling back and forth to Boston and to the treatment facility so we picked up food and ate in restaurants along the way. There is a small convenience store in the lobby with drinks, snacks, and various travel items for sale. They also sell frozen pizzas and convenience foods you can cook in your room.

Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, the staff and especially the value we received for money spent. We were very happy with our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My first stay at a Summerfield Suites and now certainly not my last.

Check In/Front Desk: Friendly, efficient.
Rooms: Exceptional value -- my room had a fully equipped kitchen, livingroom, truly separate bedroom, two flat screens, complimentary wireless, excellent selection of channels, and was very clean. The finishes are not the highend of a boutique hotel, but were more than acceptable for my stay. The bed was very comfortable, as was the livingroom furniture. Provided amenities were fine and the towels were thick.
Food: Breakfast is included. It was a very nice spread, which I did not expect after reading reviews here. This is not an Embassy Suites with made to order items. However, there were scrambled eggs, cheese omlettes, a nice assortment of breads, lots of fresh fruit, good assortment of beverages, yogart, etc. It was all I needed. During the week, the hotel has a manager's reception, which essentially provides dinner.
I arrived late and really did not want to seek a restaurant. Another great surprise -- a super assortment of organic and healthy meals, beverages and snacks available for purchase that could be made in the kitchen. Prices were very reasonable. BTW, a large container of apples is set up on a side table and make great snacks as well.
Location: Excellent location in Waltham. Directions to hotel were good.

Given the excellent price paid -- $89 -- I would stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We travel to the Boston area with the family -- including kids under 6 -- a few times each year. The Summerfield Suites in Waltham is the perfect combination of value and functionality.

Having a suite with the family is great... getting that suite over the weekend for under $130 is heaven. A two bedroom suite with the living room and a kitchenette gives the perfect gift at the end of a long and fun day in town -- SPACE. Let the kids burn off steam. If one needs to sleep, let 'em. Need some milk from the fridge? No sweat. Want to watch the news while the kids are getting some Elmo time? There are three TVs (plus a DVD player).

Breakfast in the morning is convenient, free, and not that bad. It has everything the family really needs. And it beats dropping another $50 on a breakfast buffet like you will at most of the other hotels in the area that have full-service restaurants.

Will you miss a restaurant and room service? Not really. There are plenty of places around the corner. Many deliver. And you can bring in some food with that little kitchenette.

And for those of you who can't help but bring that work laptop along -- the wireless is free, fast, easy, and reliable.

Two words of caution about noise...
Try to avoid a room that faces the front of the hotel, especially if it is a windy day. The hotel is at the top of a hill and there are some flagpoles in the front. It's not a very tall building, so you can really hear those flags flapping in the wind against the pole on a windy night.
Also the HVAC can be noisy if you are trying to use the sleeper sofa in the living room. It's quiet in the bedrooms, but it blows a little loud out there. I had two kids sleeping out there overnight and they didn't wake up after a long day (but I probably would have).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quincycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

This is a pretty standard corporate "suites" hotel. I've stayed at this property several times on business and each time I was unimpressed. When you find a previous guest's hair behind the bathroom door (every time I stayed there), you start to wonder what else did the cleaning crew miss. My only other comment is that every time I dealt with the front desk staff, I found them to be grumpy (I'll refrain from using profanity). So, I have decided to stay at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Burlington (which is right down the road anyway) where I had a better experience.

  • Liked — Free internet access, decent free breakfast.
  • Disliked — The staff and lack of cleanliness in guest rooms.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank No_junkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I was in Boston for 4 days for a wedding and reunion. There were 4 to 5 of us on different days of the trip. It was a little difficult to find a vacation home which we could all hang out, had some privacy but still within a reasonable price range since our stay was short.

Found this suite/hotel on Kayak and booked it thru the hotel directly. The 2-bedroom suite only cost $250-260 a night. Since there were 4-5 of us sharing, it's a very cheap alternative than a vacation home. Their 2-bedroom suite has a living room with full size sofa bed. Kitchen appliances were all full size, not the tiny little table cook top and even come with dishwasher! Each bedroom has its own private full size bathroom and TV in each room!

The quality of amenities and the room weren't exceptional. I could feel the oldness from the amenities, e.g. none of the inside door could close perfectly without forcing it, the vanity did not drain at first but it’s fixed the same day. However, it is absolutely above average given the low cost per person. The hotel allows up to 8 people to stay in one 2-bedroom suite! Very low cost sharing. The hotel even provided free hot breakfast!

Even most guests came in family or group but it's very quiet overall. I highly recommend this if you're travelling to Boston area in a group.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vjgoobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Stayed for one night on graduation weekend...would have liked to stay the second night, but hotel was full, so we had to move to Courtyard (which was also very nice).

Suite was clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable.

Complimentary breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was certainly adequate and it was a nice touch that it was included.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing