We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some high points, so mid points”

Biagio Ristorante & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Biagio Ristorante & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 190 Restaurants in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some high points, so mid points”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was excited to try this restaurant. The staff were very friendly when we came in and explained the menu and the specials (except the pricing on the specials). My husband and I both ordered the mixed seafood special. He got his with fra diavlo sauce and mine was with the white wine sauce. He was much happier with his than I was with mine. Mine was a bit bland, and at $32, I was a bit surprised at the price. Lesson learned, ask how much the specials are.
The wait staff was attentive, but seemed to miss on key items, like offering fresh ground pepper on the salad. I saw some do this, and others not. Offering fresh grated cheese for the pasta- had to ask.
At the end of the evening, my husband enjoyed his meal, I felt non-plused. The ambiance was nice and based on his experience, would give it another try, but would order something different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank groupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    64
    32
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falconer, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful dinner, and our waitress was excellent. We were se
ated within minutes, and it didn't take very long to be served. Fast service and a great dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyVacationer458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and wonderful food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We received a warm welcome from Joey and most attentive service from our server. We enjoyed the atmosphere and our window seat table! The calamari was excellent. The off street parking was a bonus!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoRoDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I ate here a few days ago. We both had seafood dishes that were fresh, tasty, and flavorful. The waiter was most helpful and attentive. The dishes were a bit pricey, but were more than generous. The upstairs area where we ate was quiet and pleasant, we chose to eat there rather than the much noisier downstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had read the reviews and was expecting to be a bit underwhelmed but our party said they wanted to try it post- movie. It was a delightful evening-Sunday at about 7:30. We did not have reservations but it was no problem being seated promptly. Our server was excellent from start to finish. We did ask about specials and their prices, so the other couple decided to split one of them and enjoyed it very much. I had the chicken saltimbocca-delicious and enouGh for another meal the following night. We also had the chocolate dessert which was more than enough for two to split. The dining room is very comfortable which added to the experience. Any restaurant can have an off night. I'd say give this place a chance to shine because they certainly can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaOneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biagio Ristorante & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Biagio Ristorante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing