We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most elegant & friendly establishment”
Review of Honeysuckle Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Honeysuckle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
1 review
“A most elegant & friendly establishment”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at this elegant and friendly establishment on personal recommendation of friends, supported by the outstanding reviews it has received over the years. Those reviews were fully justified. Honeysuckle Hill is a really welcoming and confortable house, and the owner, Freddy, and his assistant, Roberta, are friendly, charming and helpful in every way. Our room ('Wisteria') was large with a superb bathroom. The breakfasts were almost overwhelming in presentation, quality and variety. The dining room reminds us of a British Army Officers' Mess, with its elegance, polish and high quality. Freddy is a generous and outgoing 'character', helpful but unobtrusive. We can thoroughly recommend Honeysuckle Hill and would definitely stay there again - certainly the best accommodation we encountered in our tour of New England

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank polruan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
128
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2008

My seven friends and I booked the Honeysuckle Hill Bed and Breakfast for a "mother's retreat" last month and every moment of the experience far exceeded even our high expectations. Freddy, the owner, was extremely flexible and accommodating as we made our plans and special requests for the weekend (a luncheon, hot tub available even in the winter, snacks around the clock--everything we thought we'd need to make it a luxurious weekend away). He treated us like royalty!

The B&B itself is lovely with a warm fire constantly going and beautifully decorated rooms that made you feel right at home. A few of the rooms were large enough to share and the suite allowed for some privacy and quiet time for those who needed it.

I couldn't say enough, though, about the quality of the meals--can you say FIVE STARS? Freddy should open up his own restaurant. The food was definitely gormet--right down to the lobster bisque for lunch, followed by a delicious chicken and salad, and chocolate dessert. The scones came later, warm from the oven. The brunch the next morning topped it all.

We couldn't have hoped for a better experience and highly recommend the Honeysuckle Hill!

  • Liked — The environment combined with the hospitality!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

As soon as my wife and I arrived at Honeysuckle Hill, we knew we were in for something special. Our greeting by the English owner was effusive and friendly and we were shown to a most comfortable room with all that we needed. We had recently stayed in a very poor hotel in Boston so what a change to be treated as an honoured guest. We stayed for a week and one day we intend to return and stay for longer.
It was novel for us to be invited to sit in the porch before going in to breakfast. There we met the other guests and were served with piping hot fresh muffins and coffee. then the breakfast --
Seated at an elegant table we were served the most sumptious breakfast by the ever willing Roberta. The breakfast was cooked by our ubiquitous Freddy who made everyone feel special. A mine of information and a great wit with old English charm had a relaxing effect on all the guests.
If you want to experience English hospitality and grace as it used to be, this is the place to go

D.R. Portsmouth United Kingdom

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spadPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

I have struggled to write this review as it will contradict most others already submitted. We had great expectations for this Inn. Spoke with Freddy on the phone to book it and he seemed like an entertaining person. Our troubles began upon arrival. When we started to check in, there was another guest there who clearly had full run of the place. It was all downhill from there.....has anyone ever been to a B&B where another guest was able to break all the rules, talk endlessly and loudly on their cell phone in every corner of the place, spread their paperwork all over the dining room table, allow their dog to be at breakfast and to go into the owner's private space where cats have their space? We were shocked by all this, to say the least. Freddy was away, and Roberta was there for a short time in the morning, then we were left alone with this sinking feeling that this was not going to be a fun time. Most B&B's offer relaxation...quiet areas to sit and read, rules to be followed by the guests. All the time we were there, we were tense because of this one person who was not being monitored at all and would pop up every time you made a move. I did not have breakfast the next morning as I cannot eat with someone constantly talking, with a dog barking right in the room. I must say we sighed a big sigh of relief upon leaving...to the peace and quiet of our car! The innkeepper is aware that this situation exists, but apparently does not address it. The intrusive other guest even let us know she has been to other Inns and left when she was told her behavior was unacceptable....places that do not let her have full reign of the place! What can I say....it was not relaxing, and were very disappointed. I'm glad others have had a better experience....we should have been allowed to do so.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Lack of supervision of other guest
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVEOOldSaybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeCodHoney, Owner at Honeysuckle Hill, responded to this review, 11 June 2008
We are always concerned when any guest does not enjoy their stay with us and have refunded in full the cost of this guests stay.
The troublesome guest in question would have been asked to leave if this had been brought to our attention. During our absence from the Inn fora family emergency the guest was left with a number to call in the case of the slightest problem.
This number was not called..
My sympathy is with the guest in question as a couple of weeks later she encountered the same troublesome guest at a B&B in New Hampshire.!
Out of some 3,000 B&B Inns in New England
that is really bad luck!
As a review of the bad guest the review is t.rue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MA
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2008

I just spent the night at the Honeysuckle Hill B&B with a group of mothers as a 24 hour getaway and retreat. We were able to fill the Inn with our group and it was wonderful. The Inn was beautiful and very accommodating to our every need. I would highly recommend this inn to everybody, especially for groups.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank AmyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We've stayed three separate times in the off-season. Each time the Inn seems cozier and more 'well-appointed' than the last time. You can tell the owners truly love their historic inn which is on the National Registry of Historic Sites. The sheets are crisp and cottony, the hot tub and cocktails are relaxing, and the setting is the Cape at it's best. We'll return, to be sure. Freddy is a real character, go see for yourself!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

What a truly wonderful welcome! Freddy greeted us so warmly we felt instantly "at home" in his beautiful , clean and very comfortable home on The Cape. Crackling log fire, complimentary drinks (including gorgeous wine!), savoury snacks, chocolates, hot tea and coffee, DVDs, CDs, an excellent collection of books... Freddy ensured we had the perfect stay. His four course breakfasts are fabulous and he is a mine of information - we took him up on all his suggestions - and we were glad we did... he helped make our visit to The Cape so very memorable. We stayed in the Wisteria room - so spacious; a really comfortable bed; flat screen TV (with DVD player); great bathroom - and it was immaculate!

Keep up the good work Freddy - you are, in our opinion, the perfect host and innkeeper. Thank you for looking after us so well, we will never forget your incredible hospitality.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CabotUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Barnstable
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
5.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lamb and Lion Inn
Lamb and Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Barnstable
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
843 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ashley Manor
Ashley Manor
#1 of 6 in Barnstable
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Hill

Property: Honeysuckle Hill
Address: 591 Old King's Hwy, Historic 6A, West Barnstable, MA 02668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Barnstable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Honeysuckle Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Cape Cod seaside Inn, circa 1810. Beautiful gardens, romantic setting where you will enjoy comfort and relaxation, unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, delightful guestrooms and gracious New England hospitality near beach, island ferries, fine restaurants, whale watches, antique shops, museums and all Cape Cod attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Honeysuckle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeysuckle Hill Hotel West Barnstable
Honeysuckle Hill West Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing