We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freddy, the kindest Inn Keeper we've ever met” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeysuckle Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honeysuckle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Vaud
1 review
“Freddy, the kindest Inn Keeper we've ever met”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stayed at the Honeysuckle Hill Inn from June 6 to June 8. As we arrived by bus to Barnstable, we found out that there was no possibility to take a taxi from the bus station. Fortunately, our bus driver called the Inn Keeper and asked him to pick us up. We were embarrassed, but Freddy kindly came and made us feel at ease right away.

The Inn is a very nice old house and the garden is just beautiful. You can drink as much as you want, ranging from wine & liquors to sodas. Everywhere you find little nuts, chocolates…to eat. There are plenty of books, guides you can borrow during your stay. Freddy lent us two bikes and we biked back and forth in this magnificent area.

Even in a five star hotel, you would never get such an incredible breakfast. Freddy is really a “cordon bleu”. You start with freshly baked cakes or muffins (still hot when Freddy serves them) on the porch – just delicious. You move then to the dining room, where the “Festival” goes on for another three course breakfast, where everything is just perfect. Even if Freddy is occupied with cooking, he always finds time to make little jokes and comments in between courses.

Freddy, Ruth and Roberta made us feel at home and their kindness and hospitality went far beyond what we have ever experienced.

Thank you for taking care of us so well.

Claudine and Serge
Switzerland

  • Liked — The kindness and hospitality of the Inn Keeper
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cloclo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
123
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

For the past 35 years I have been coming to Cape Cod and have stayed at a number of Inns from Sandwich to Provincetown and The Honeysuckle Hill Inn is by far the nicest. There are a number of reasons why The Honeysuckle is my favorite, but to me the most important reason is the owners and the atmosphere they create. Freddie and Ruth are the kindest, most generous and gracious Inn keepers I have ever met. And because of that, we have been coming 3 times per year for the past 4 years.

The Inn itself is impecable with its beautiful gardens, bright sunny rooms and screened in porch where the guests often gather for a cocktail in the evening and hot homemade muffins in the morning. The beds are incredibley comfortable and the 3 course breakfast keeps us going throughout the day until dinner.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable,
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jakewhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

My husband and I are in our 60's. We have never been to a B&B before. When we traveled we always stayed at a hotel or motel. We loved our stay at Honeysuckle Hill B&B. Freddy, the Innkeeper was most gracious and accomodating. The morning breakfast was wonderful and you never knew what to expect each morning. Having breakfast with other guests was also interesing. Everyone was different and from a different part of the country. One couple was from California and another couple from Florida. The B&B's spring gardens were beautiful. Freddy loves to take care of them. We will definitely be going back to Honeysuckle Hill.

  • Liked — The room and atmosphere.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboop67NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

Freddy is more than a gracioius host, he is a green thumb. We were married in one of the colorful gardens at the Inn arranged just for us. His attention to detail and English wit made each day a pleasure and the scones are other worldly. Five stars!
Spencer and Lisa
Raleigh, NC

  • Liked — Gracious host, attention to detail, wonderful gardens and the scones
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NCGardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed at Honeysuckle Hill last Thursday and it was the most wonderful experience. From the minute we arrived Freddy made us feel incredibly welcome, offering us chocolate truffles and pointing out all the lovely nibbles which are constantly on offer in his beautiful home. In the porch are wonderfully comfortable sofas, plus blankets if you want to sit and read on a chilly evening.

There are fridges offering wine and soft drinks and a variety of spirits and liqueurs for guests to enjoy any time and at no extra charge. The bed was sublimely comfortable and we spent a very pleasant hour in the hot tub in the garden after dinner at a lovely local restaurant, where we were treated like VIPs thanks to the mention of Freddy's name!

In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast - Freddy, your eggs benedict are stunning! - and then enjoyed a pleasant half hour with the two dogs and beautiful Tonkinese cat. Despite slightly inclement weather our stay in Cape Cod was highly enhanced by our night at Honeysuckle Hill (if only we could have stayed longer) and we are looking forward to coming again soon.

All in all, couldn't be bettered and as Freddy says he aims at perfect, I can say that Honeysuckle Hill is pretty high much there for me.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

We stayed at Honeysuckle Hill 3 years ago and couldn't wait to return. The house and grounds are charming, our room most comfortable and the breakfasts fabulous. Freddy and Roberta are excellent hosts who make you feel comfortable and welcome. We won't stay anywhere else when visiting Cape Cod!
The Michaels, Portland, OR

  • Liked — Being made to feel comfortable, yet treated like royalty.
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonburg, va
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2008

What a delight when upon arrival on a rainy and damp afternoon, Roberta had built a cozy fire to welcome us! Although Freddy, the owner, was in England during our stay, Roberta made sure we were more than comfortable.
Prior to our leaving for dinner, there were various snacks along with wine and/or liquor available to take the edge off of our hunger. There were menus from local restaurants available to peruse and to assist in our selection.
Our room was located immediately off of the living room. It is a very bright and cheerful room.The bedding was plush and comfortable. Terry cloth robes are available as well as toiletries. Roberta had the hot tub heated outside for our use, but the rainy evening did not allow us to partake.
Breakfast was exceptional with homemade cranberry scones followed by fresh fruit and a yogurt-granola parfait followed by the main course of eggs benedict garnished with broccoli. Exceptional!
This is definitely a bed and breakfast I would return to in the future!

  • Liked — Personal touch by owners, breakfast, wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Barnstable
6.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
High Pointe Inn
High Pointe Inn
#2 of 3 in West Barnstable
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.7 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
7.6 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Hill

Property: Honeysuckle Hill
Address: 591 Old King's Hwy, Historic 6A, West Barnstable, MA 02668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Barnstable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Honeysuckle Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Cape Cod seaside Inn, circa 1810. Beautiful gardens, romantic setting where you will enjoy comfort and relaxation, unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, delightful guestrooms and gracious New England hospitality near beach, island ferries, fine restaurants, whale watches, antique shops, museums and all Cape Cod attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Honeysuckle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeysuckle Hill Hotel West Barnstable
Honeysuckle Hill West Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing