We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and patient staff. Very enjoyable for a large group.”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 West Dennis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a group of 53 for dinner- a motor coach tour. Of course, we had reservations for this dinner. They put us in a generously sized room. They had many servers appointed to our room, so beverages and courses were promptly served. They offered a choice of steak, lobster, or a vegetarian plate. Everyone seemed satisfied with their selections. They were very happy to help those not familiar with lobster get into those lobsters. The lobster plate, which I got, came with PEI mussels which were also very good.

The Inn/Restaurant is right on the Atlantic and is a prime spot for wedding and birthday parties. They have several large dining rooms and a sizable outdoor dining deck. Highly recommend reservations.

The women's room has 4 stalls, which could cause a line, especially with only one sink. Still, it was a very unique place and I would go back there any time.

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't stay here. Just ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank retiredJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed a week in the guest house. The rooms are plain, clean, very comfortable. Excellent value for money. The service was excellent. Lovely little beach. The wifi access is spotty at best in the guest house. If you really need wifi best to go to the main building. Altogether a wonderful holiday. We are hoping to be back here again at the end of August.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My family has been coming to Cape Cod for summer vacations for nearly 50 years. We've always enjoyed these vacations whether we were in rustic cottages, motels, inns or top-level resorts. We've never enjoyed a trip more than our stay at the LIghthouse Inn. The location is perfect, right on the Nantucket sound. The accommodations are not fancy, but they are well appointed, clean and up-to-date. The campus is very large and spread-out, so it feels more quiet and restful than most of the Cape shore resorts. Start the day with an over-the-top breakfast (included!!!), then end the day watching a sunset from a rooftop deck or, surfside around a fire. The staff is more than helpful. Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House which is motel-style and enjoyed the rooftop deck. They have cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN-and-ANN-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a surprise, finding Lighthouse Inn on Cape Cod. This is the real deal, old, warm, historic, great location, beautiful place, quiet and comfortable. Good food, nice room, everything worked, you really feel like you're in a place you dream about when you think about Cape Cod. The only thing I had unpleasant was, when going to the lobby early for a cup of coffee, wanting to read a book on the deck, the night clerk was spread out on the couch watching some mindless teenage movie. So, my quiet coffee time in this quaint inn was ruined by having to listen to TV, something I would have liked to get away from. In fact, I would suggest to the management to remove the TV from the lobby. It takes away from the ambience. Let this be the one hotel lobby that is the real deal. Or at least tell your employees when someone comes inthe lobby, turn off the TV and let visitors enjoy the ocean breezes and sounds of lapping water and seagulls, not a blaring TV. We can get that at McDonald's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a great 4 night stay here. The location is fantastic and full of charm. Yes, it is not a brand new glass and chrome style hotel, but I think to call it "tired" or "faded" is a little unfair as everything was freshly painted and in good condition. The staff were all very friendly.

Breakfast was a great buffet and also included made to order items such as lobster omelette at no extra charge. We ate their on every evening and enjoyed the food. The only slight negative was that when served by male staff they seemed to try and rush us through our meal whereas on the two nights when we were served by female waitresses the pace was far more relaxed. Male staff members take note - service can be too brisk and efficient! No issues with the genuine helpfulness of all the staff we encountered though.

Would certainly return if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I've been coming to the Lighthouse Inn since I was a child and rediscovered it a few years ago with my own child. This is an old-fashioned family-run inn smack on the ocean ocean. The inn itself has a long porch where you practically hang over the water. There are a few waterfront cottages as well but most are nicely spaced out on a hill that slopes towards the ocean. This is an old-fashioned inn with fireplaces, braided rugs, Adirondack chairs. It's a little worn, but that's part of the charm. There is nothing corporate, nothing Cape Cod tacky here. The staff are mostly college students so service and food varies. But when you mellow into the moment there is no place more relaxing to hang out, read a book or stare at the water while the kids play at the beach. The beach out front is eroded so better at low time but the wider West Dennis beach is next door. Water is surprisingly warm because of the Gulf Stream. Nice playground, shuffleboard, vintage board games. Every year I'm (happily) surprised this place still exisit.

Room Tip: There are a couple of great cottages right on the water. But the places scattered on the hill are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDX_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We went here looking for the lighthouse rather than an Inn!! It was quite a surprise when we realised that the Bass River lighthouse is actually an hotel/restaurant. Its history - originally intended to be a lighthouse, which by a series of circumstances grew into a hotel does indeed have a functioning light at the top of the building. Apparently recomissioned by the US Coastguard back in the 1980s it is one of a few private lights still serving its purpose today. There is a beach at the rear of the hotel & a number of cottages etc. on the land. The Inn is huge & we liked the verandah overlooking the beach & promenade very much... It is a faded glory, back in the day when vacationing at Cape Cod was reserved for well paid professionals & people of private means we could imagine what a wonderful place it must have been. We decided to have lunch, which was acceptable but very expensive for what it was. The wait staff were lovely. Having been once, we probably would not go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dennis
1.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
622 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
401 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 1 Lighthouse Rd, P.O. Box 128, West Dennis, Dennis, MA 02670-3046
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > West Dennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dennis
Price Range: £153 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Inn-A True Oceanfront Cape Cod Classic.. The historic oceanfront Lighthouse Inn is home to the only privately owned and privately operated US Coast Guard-sanctioned lighthouse. Variety of accommodations, Cape Cod-style houses with private guestrooms and bathrooms, quaint cottages or traditional hotel style guestrooms. We offer bed and breakfast rates or American plan rates, which includes breakfast and dinner. Open mid-May through Columbus Day. Special packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel West Dennis
Lighthouse Inn West Dennis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing