We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions and very fresh food, great for take-out”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Palace Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Restaurants in West Dennis
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Large portions and very fresh food, great for take-out”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This restaurant has been in West Dennis for as long as I can remember, maybe 30 years plus....A great take out restaurant with wonderful fresh large portions... The Chicken fingers are wonderful and their lo mein is the best. I have never eaten in the restaurant, but we order take out twice monthly and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ptomaine”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

this place is filthy. there can only be a couple of things that allow this place to stay open, and neither of them is legal. where in the hell is the board of health?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJoan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Many choices for good Chinese food on Cape Cod..avoid this one!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Royal Palace (RP) USED to be pretty good, back when there were only a few Chinese restaurants. I have been there a few times this past summer only to feel sick and upset at the money spent! (my own fault--i kept hoping against all odds it would get back to being good)!!
Twice I have felt sick to my stomach the whole next day, and my partner was so sick this last time, he had to go to the hospital. He was diagnosed with what the doctor said was lo-level food poisoning--not enough to report them, but enough to go on antibiotics after 2 bags of saline!!

On top of that, they ALWAYS screw up the to-go orders, and in the past, twice refused to give credit back to my credit card for items they didn't include. They owe me an order of boneless spareribs now--but I won't be going back to get them!

The decor is typical Chinese restaurant horror show--hideous masks on the wall (that scared the kids), a best up lacquered tree, and a dusty glass showcase with darts trophies.

Which brings me to the end--obviously the bar (a dark dark side room) is very popular--full of scary town drinkers-- every day you see the same vehicles at @4 when RP opens up...


  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidCapeAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you have to have Chinese food, I suppose it's the closest in the area but we found the food to be very average at best (even though a friend of ours works there and treated us royally).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mickeyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst food I have eaten.”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The worst food I have ever eaten. Since when is sweet and sour chicken made with fried chicken fingers?? Lo mein resembles over boiled spaghetti. Should have gone elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishCCDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Palace Restaurant also viewed

South Dennis, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
West Dennis, Cape Cod
South Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Royal Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing