We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sketchy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claddagh

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Claddagh
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Seating
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sketchy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

There are no other words for this place. I knew it was an awful idea the minute we drove in - but yet, we found ourselves sitting in what looked like someone's basement straight out of the 70's. It was extremely dark, no lights, except for the glow from the TV and some disco-ish lights. Tacky, gross looking furniture. The whole place seemed dirty and unsafe. We thought we were going for "live Irish music!" and great food... which turned out to actually be a "DJ" blasting reggae and other assorted islandy rap music and NO food. There was also a $5 cover charge... worst money ever spent, ha. We felt obligated to order a drink after paying the coverage charge, and because there was no one else in there except one guy at the bar and then a small group of friends that seemed to be running it. I ordered a long island ice tea and after the bartender gave it to me she asked me how it was, saying that it was the first one she ever made! Seriously? The drink was awful, I couldn't even finish it. The only good part was they were playing the Stanley Cup Finals game that my boyfriend wanted to watch, so we stayed until the end of the period and then got out of there so quick. It was awful... all I can say is, just don't!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KristaLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really Tacky”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stopped and had a beer at the outdoor tiki bar while we waited for our overnight reservation at the Claddagh Inn. However, even though we had a written confirmation of our 3-night stay, the manager turned us away, saying she had no reservation for us, so we didn't have a chance to stay and have a full meal. Frankly, it appeared to be a rather tough crowd around the bar, so I'm not sure we would have stayed for more than a beer anyway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Septic woe's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stopped in to hear some local musicians play. About an hour into the beer and music we were ushered out of the building as the septic over flowed. Had to leave your full drink with no refund even after I asked. I was informed this was common here.

NO THANK YOU

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wintermoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, MA USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a charming Tiki Bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Outside on a pleasant afternoon and evening - very comfortable bar stools, overlooking a pool - take a dip if you'd like. Emily, the bartender is very personable and makes you feel right at home. Nice pub food - Crab Cakes, Mozzarella Sticks and Cheeseburger were all good. The nicest part is how friendly everyone is. There's a mix of locals, regulars and tourists and everyone talks to each other. My kind of atmosphere!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Crawford, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great food and atmosphere! The fried fish sandwich was wonderful as was the reuben and the crab cakes. You could eat outside and then go inside to the bar and hear live music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mdvanpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claddagh also viewed

West Harwich, Harwich
 
West Harwich, Harwich
West Harwich, Harwich
 

Been to Claddagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing