We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Intimate, and Delicious (and not for kids)”
Review of Villa Roma

Villa Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small, Intimate, and Delicious (and not for kids)”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are twelve tables in Villa Roma plus three or four taller bar tables, so don't be surprised if you have to wait. Hint: get there early. While I usually like to see restaurants that accommodate children (since I have twin grandchildren who frequently dine with us), it was nice to have a private, quiet meal with my wife that was also delicious--about as good as Italian food can be. (There is a sign on the outside that politely warns about Villa Roma not having children's seating or a menu.) The few tables are so close that you may have other diners much closer than usual, but, hey, you might make some new friends. The restaurant has a nice wine list and a full bar. Deserts are good--I had a Captain Morgan chocolate cake which I would get again. The restaurant is in an old small Cape house--not so lovely on the outside but nicely done in the interior. Our older server was wonderful. I hope to return next time we are out on the Cape.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher-DRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    14
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A worthwhile return”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Last year four of us had dinner at the Villa Roma restaurant for the first time and the experience was so positive that we returned again this year. This year the result was similar. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. The meals were excellent: pasta with meatballs, sausage and peppers, and two had Bolognese over Capellini. It really was eight meals because each of us had enough leftovers to take home for another meal. This year our stay on the Cape was before the busy summer season and, arriving a little after 6:30PM, there were still a couple of available tables. Last year, near the end of the summer, we arrived about the same time and had to wait almost an hour before a table became available.
If you’re looking for delicious Italian food, you won’t go wrong with Villa Roma.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rufus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We try to get to the Villa Roma at least once a month. It is very good Italian food and the portions are quite large. My wife usually gets the Chicken Piccata and says it one of the best she has had. She likes it because it is not thick and heavy with the sauce, but light and quite flavorful.

I either have the Lasagna or the Chicken parm, but usually end up getting the Lasagna, only because it is one of the best I have had. It is so good I usually end up eating the whole thing and should be taking some home. It is a huge portion, trust me.

The service is terrific and friendly every time we go and the atmosphere is well, quaint considering it is an old, converted home. We go early to avoid the "rush" and having to wait. They must be doing something right because they are always busy.

If you go between Sunday and Thursday (no holidays), be sure to print out the $5 off coupon for each entree. You can find it on their website.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Noisy Throw Back Italian Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were here last fall and thought we had found a gem.. It is always busy so this time we went early during the week but still had a wait. This visit we were not as enthusiastic. We started with Fried Calamari which was not as crisp as it should have been. We had each had a glass of the wine special, Toscano, which was good. Our main courses, pasta with white clam sauce,veal l parm with angel hair pasta, both over cooked. The prices are not particularly cheap either. I think it will be a while before we go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“always great!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we try to dine at Villa Roma as often as possible - it is always consistent, the staff is familiar and the meal is always great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Roma also viewed

 
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing