We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Clean, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Inn Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackstone, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, Clean, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

You almost don't want to write a raving review because you want to keep the Commodore a secret. It's not often you find that perfect place, with perfect hosts, serving a perfect breakfast. I've never written a review before but had to this time as I wanted our hosts to know that the service and their home were a welcome respite. I only wish I had booked two nights and had stayed away from the unknowing nightmare of a Hyannis Hotel I would face the following night. The Commodore Inn will not spoil you with things like a Jacuzzi tub or fireplace in every room, plush 800 thread count sheets, spa services on-site. They will however spoil you with a comfortable, clean, friendly, warm and "home like" feeling that no luxury anything can replace. This was the first time my mother traveled without her husband of 57 years, and I can't thank the Commodore enough for making her first solo trip night pleasant and comforting. She'll never feel the same without her husband of course, but feeling like your among friends and family while traveling away from home... priceless.

Room Tip: Awesome breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    22
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garden City NY
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Commodore Inn is a family-run business which is patronized by families. Some have young children, some are older couples. Loud college students, this is Not the place for you. (Our stay was very quiet until the last night when a loud college couple arrived next door at 11 pm.) The Inn is "U" shaped, with motel-style rooms (two beds) arranged around a heated swimming pool. The maids keep the rooms very clean. There is a refrigerator and microwave. Two chairs inside and two chairs outside, under a portico. TV and video. A sandy beach on Nantucket Sound is a 5 minute walk down the street. If you have small children then the beach and the pool may be all you need. But most will use the Commodore as simply a place to sleep (firm mattress) and a jumping off point for exploring Cape Cod. The Commodore is a homey place, not a posh place ("resort" in the name is perhaps a stretch). The breakfast buffet consists of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon (corned beef hash once), hash browns, pancakes, breads, English muffins, cereals, rotating fruit. Yogurt once. We stayed five nights. There are a lot of places to go wrong on the Cape, but the Commodore is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Agree with previous posters that the Commodore was extremely clean and worth the price. Breakfast, included in the price was a bonus, pool was clean and the hosts were friendly. Location was great with a minute walk to Earle Road Beach.
Yes, the scones were out of this world. Overall a very quiet and relaxing vacation, would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Don't let the 50's outside scare you away. The room was one of the cleanest I have ever been in, sparse but comfortable and big. Also, none of that cape musty, mildew ordor that so many inns get. The breakfast was huge ... pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast and more! A real nice kid friendly, family hotel with pool and beach about 100 years away.

Room Tip: Room number was our room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jziemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As the family members who live closest to the Cape, my husband and I were in charge of finding a location for our Summer 2013 family reunion. We visited hotels all over the Cape, all of which sounded terrific on paper/the internet but turned out to be awful. When we found The Commodore Inn and met Flora and Dick, we knew we had found the perfect place!

Our group of 17 spanned ages 2 months to 79, and all were very comfortable here last week. The little touches, like having beach chairs and towels available for use, were so appreciated.
As others have said, The Commodore Inn is very clean and convenient and close to the beach, and the innkeepers are just wonderful. They recommended restaurants, allowed us to use the breakfast room in the evening for eating together and for a game night, and said good-bye to us with hugs.

Thank you Dick and Flora!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close together (good for family groups), all are on level ground, close to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We've been vacationing at the Commodore Inn for years and we absolutely love the place. Steps away from the beach, a great breakfast every morning, friendly staff and a short drive away from Cape attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotherBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This Inn was actually recommended to me by another resort that was sold out for the night...and what a great recommendation it was. Quaint spot, amazing staff (lead by the Innkeeper Flora) and a tremendous location, tucked away right next to the Sound. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenifer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
6.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
5.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seadar Inn By the Sea
Seadar Inn By the Sea
#4 of 8 in Harwich Port
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Inn On The Beach
Inn On The Beach
#3 of 8 in Harwich Port
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Inn Resort

Property: Commodore Inn Resort
Address: 30 Earle Rd, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1910
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Commodore Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel West Harwich
Commodore Inn Resort West Harwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing