We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tern Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at The Tern Inn. Dave and Joan run an impeccable inn. Very clean, air conditioned rooms, very friendly atmosphere, good breakfasts, knowledgeable about the area. The Inn is just a 10 minute walk to the beach, so you can leave your car at the Inn. Location is perfect to drive to the other towns, such as Chatham, Dennisport, and Chatham. The only negative were the dated linens on the bed. These should be updated. Having said that, we still highly, highly recommend staying at The Tern Inn, and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 3: Air conditioner is aimed at the bed, so it blows directly on you.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ECKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Gracious, helpful hosts made this short business stay a real treat. Dave and Joan were our personal GPS - great, clear directions for harried travelers. Clean, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast made this a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Tern Inn and the newly renovated Duplex Cottage. It was awesome and we will definitely go back.......this summer! David worked so hard to overhaul the whole thing. It is so comfortable. Joan and David are the nicest people; they had so many ideas of things we could do on the Cape, places to eat, and things to see. The food is delicious! Joan and David have a beautiful array of fresh breakfast foods and a beautiful dining room to eat in. They have a pool on the property and a beach within walking distance. Hospitality was awesome, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Cottages are beautiful and very cozy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here on Christmas Eve. The only night where you don't get breakfast the next morning, but the room was quiet and very clean. I liked that we were in a separate building, away from the main house so it was very quiet. Nice flat screen TV in the room and big clean bathroom with a skylight. Bed was pretty comfortable. Would definitely reccommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phototraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Tern Inn is a gem of the area. David and Joan are knowledgeable of the area and there to help. It is great that they allow kids which offered us a new way to travel without having to stay at a hotel. Close to a beach and other areas on the Cape. Breakfasts were nice with a different hot choice each morning. Would stay here again for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbigjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Tern Inn for 2 nights in September 2011. As this was our first family vacation with 2 young children we researched over 70 accommodations on the lower Cape to fit our needs. The Tern Inn provided rooms with both a refrigerator and a microwave for very reasonable rates. As our vacation approached we needed to adjust the dates of our stay. David and Joan were very accommodating and helpful.
The Inn is located in a quiet, residential neighborhood and just minutes from multiple public beaches. We stayed in the Duplex which had 2 double beds and an efficiency. The room, kitchen and bath were all very clean. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with all of the plates, cookware and utensils you might need. The bathroom had excellent hot water and pressure. We greatly enjoyed our stay.
I highly recommend the Tern Inn and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CVettte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Tern Inn earlier in the summer and found the accomodation and facilities so suitable we returned again for another long weekend at the end of the summer. Dave and Joan are very welcoming hosts and are willing to do anything to help your stay be perfect. Rooms are clean and well looked after and wifi in the two different rooms we stayed in was reliable. There is a pool that is well looked after and breakfast included in the room price with a different hot dish each day. The inn is in a great location in the middle of Cape Cod and there is a fine beach 10 minutes walk away or just a couple of minutes in the car. We hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Check if it is a good room for wifi or not - Dave will be honest with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Harwich
8.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Platinum Pebble Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Allen Harbor Breeze Inn & Gardens
0.1 mi away
A Beach Breeze Inn
A Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 1 in West Harwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Property: The Tern Inn
Address: 91 Chase St, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big thank you to our awesome guests for the great reviews they've posted on Trip Advisor! The Tern Inn is in the ideal central location on Cape Cod just a short drive to Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet or Hyannis. We have clean, updated rooms with new whisper quiet Mini Split Air Conditioning. We offer a great breakfast (included with a guest room stay) and are a short 1/2 mile walk to the beach. We are in a residential setting. On our 2 private acre property, there is our Main Inn which offers 2 guest rooms (each with private entrance and bath), our Carriage House building has 6 guest rooms (all with private baths). In the summer season we offer 6 terrific guest cottages which are each different from one another. The cottages are booked for a minimum of one week. They are fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements. Come to us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing