We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Shallot Thai Cuisine
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Thai food is not just a favorite of my wife and I; we are also chefs! The location is small and peculiar. The decor is generic and the music was 80's American classics. These nuances aside, the food was delicious and authentic. The curry sauces were homemade, the vegetables were cooked al dente, and the Siam duck skin was crispy. Service was extraordinarily fast and the portion size was a good value for the price too. If you are looking for an intimate, exotic setting, this restaurant is not for you. However, if you are looking for authentic, reasonably priced Thai delights, do not miss this restaurant!

Helpful?
1 Thank carohart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I have been here several times and never had a bad meal! I've had the Pad Thai... Green chicken curry, the Basil Fried Rice is to die for and many more things !The staff are all friendly and amazing ! The desserts are all great too ! Beer and wine are available !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmart1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great food/service; atmosphere not stellar”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to this restaurant before a movie, and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and friendliness of the waitstaff. While the surroundings are somewhat sparse, the flavor of our chicken and tofu dishes were outstanding. Give this restaurant a chance, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastro413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai Food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

You can't judge a book by it's cover or a restaurant by it's exterior. This is an out of the way restaurant that serves delicious thai food. The wait staff is helpful and you can ask for the meals to be as hot or not as you like. Always stop here where we're in W. Springfield.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Try the soft shell crab, it was excellent! Everything we ordered was delicious and came out fast. We will defiantly return again and try more of their tasty food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shallot Thai Cuisine also viewed

West Springfield, MA
West Springfield, MA
 
West Springfield, MA
 

Been to Shallot Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing