We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I traveled to Springfield for the MAAC Basketball tournament in March 2012 and booked Candlewood at the last minute because all the hotels in downtown Springfield were completely full. The hotel is on a busy route and the exterior and lobby were not impressive. Upon entering, I was sure we would not have a good stay. But that thought quickly vanished.

The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. I left my sunglasses on the front desk while checking in and no sooner did I close the door to my room than the front desk lady arrived at the room to return them to me.

Our room had two double beds with a kitchenette that included a full sized refrigerator (wish I had known!), two burners, coffeemaker, kettle, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, etc. I found the bed comfortable. The small table and chairs were nice and it would have been great if we needed to eat a meal there. The bathroom was standard; the shower head in our room could be replaced, as it was a little flimsy. Everything was clean.

Although the pool is a little smaller than the picture indicates, it was perfect for us. The jacuzzi is on one side and is attached to the pool. Water flows back and forth, making the hot tub cool enough for young kids to enjoy and keeps the pool a pleasant temperature. The control for the jets is on the wall, and we were able to turn them on and off.

The little store was convenient when we needed juice or ginger ale for a tummy ache ASAP! The prices for snacks were a little unreasonable; since there's a refrigerator, better to just bring your own, as we did.

The smell on the way to the pool and sometimes in the elevator was awful. We all had to hold our breath while passing the laundering facilities. Something I found disturbing was that the housekeeping service knocked on our door soon after we arrived asking if everything was fine in the room. Perhaps this is how they operate, but I would prefer not to be disturbed; I can contact someone if I need something. Finally, the elevator was incredibly slow.

Next year the MAAC Tournament will be in Springfield again, and although I'd love to stay downtown and not have to drive to the arena, I definitely wouldn't mind staying at Candlewood again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor room away from elevator was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xNYmomOf2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

A perfect location for my business. The staff (Dustin) could not have been more helpful. He was professional, friendly, curteous and knew his job very well. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

During my relocation process, I stayed at this hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly, especially Dustyn. I enjoyed my stay and would come back.

Room Tip: First floor room are convienent to the gym/laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I am not one to write reviews for hotels but while my granddaughter was a patient at Shriner's Hospital my family and I recently stayed at Candlewood Suites in Springfield Mass. I found the hotel to be clean and very reasonable. There was a convenient "cupboard" right next to our rooms, where our two 11 yr old grandsons could go for snax or where we could purchase toiletries, etc. Nice pool for them to occupy some of the down time too. Upon checkoout I ran into a huge problem with my bank and my debit card and already stressed enough with my granddaughter's situation what could have turned into a nightmare (and had me in tears at the front desk) was actually resolved by an angel working the desk that morning. She could not have been more caring and understanding. If not for her I may still be stuck in Springfield. I am not sureI I can mention names here but thanks again NIcole!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the excerise room as it is open 24 hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carletta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My spouse asked me why would I leave sunny Florida to go up north for Valentines, she discovered my secret getaway Candlewood..."Home away from Home". After redeploying from Military overseas missions, I was reccomended by a friend who stayed there 4 times, now on my 3rd trip..needs I say more. Staff, amenities...take my word..you never felt like you left home..Love it.

Room Tip: Away from elevators, less traffic by your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel was very nice, clean, and pleasant staff...definitely would come back, close to alot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

ive been here multiple time and every time i had excelent cervice and it was always clean. the rooms are amazing and it is overall a nice place to stay. i would recomend it to anybody looking for a hotell to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Springfield
1.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in West Springfield
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Springfield West Inn
Best Western Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089-4610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range: £95 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing